Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 45

Thread: Do you use VirtualBox as your VM?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Austin - Texas
    Posts
    10,140
    Blog Entries
    48

    Smile Do you use VirtualBox as your VM?

    If you use VirtualBox, check out this great script utility that allows you to AUTOMATICALLY recompile the VBOX drivers when you update your kernel.

    http://forums.opensuse.org/english/o...el-update.html

    If you would like to use the VirtualBox VM to load LiveCD's, you have got to read about this bash script as well:

    http://forums.opensuse.org/english/o...-less-vms.html

    And what are your suggestions for using a VM? If you have any good ones, let us know what they are.

    Thank You,
    My Blog: https://forums.opensuse.org/blogs/jdmcdaniel3/

    Software efficiency halves every 18 months, thus compensating for Moore's Law

    Its James again from Austin, Texas

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Kansas City Area, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    7,235

    Default Re: Do you use VirtualBox as your VM?

    On 12/15/2011 07:56 PM, jdmcdaniel3 wrote:
    > And what are your suggestions for using a VM? If you have any good
    > ones, let us know what they are.


    I have two reasons for using a VM.

    The first is that I have a few Windows applications that do not run under Wine.
    For them, I have a VM with Windows XP on it. When I need one of those apps, I do
    not need to reboot the machine, and I do not have to fool around with any
    Windows nonsense in the boot blocks.

    The second reason is for early testing of a new openSUSE release. It is easy to
    install on a VM, and nothing is hurt if it fails.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Austin - Texas
    Posts
    10,140
    Blog Entries
    48

    Smile Re: Do you use VirtualBox as your VM?

    Quote Originally Posted by lwfinger View Post
    On 12/15/2011 07:56 PM, jdmcdaniel3 wrote:
    > And what are your suggestions for using a VM? If you have any good
    > ones, let us know what they are.


    I have two reasons for using a VM.

    The first is that I have a few Windows applications that do not run under Wine.
    For them, I have a VM with Windows XP on it. When I need one of those apps, I do
    not need to reboot the machine, and I do not have to fool around with any
    Windows nonsense in the boot blocks.

    The second reason is for early testing of a new openSUSE release. It is easy to
    install on a VM, and nothing is hurt if it fails.
    Thanks so much Larry for your comments. Can you tell us which VM you prefer or which ones you have used before?

    Thank You,
    My Blog: https://forums.opensuse.org/blogs/jdmcdaniel3/

    Software efficiency halves every 18 months, thus compensating for Moore's Law

    Its James again from Austin, Texas

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Kansas City Area, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    7,235

    Default Re: Do you use VirtualBox as your VM?

    On 12/15/2011 11:16 PM, jdmcdaniel3 wrote:

    > Thanks so much Larry for your comments. Can you tell us which VM you
    > prefer or which ones you have used before?


    I tried VMware briefly, but found it difficult to use. Now, I use VirtualBox
    exclusively. Most of the time, I download the latest version from the RPM on the
    Oracle web site. I started using the pre-built version because I needed USB
    passthru, which was not a feature of the VB OSE release. As I usually run
    kernels from the wireless-testing git tree, I do build my own VB kernel modules.
    When the kernel API changes with a new kernel release, I submit the necessary
    patches to Oracle.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Austin - Texas
    Posts
    10,140
    Blog Entries
    48

    Smile Re: Do you use VirtualBox as your VM?

    Quote Originally Posted by lwfinger View Post
    On 12/15/2011 11:16 PM, jdmcdaniel3 wrote:

    > Thanks so much Larry for your comments. Can you tell us which VM you
    > prefer or which ones you have used before?


    I tried VMware briefly, but found it difficult to use. Now, I use VirtualBox
    exclusively. Most of the time, I download the latest version from the RPM on the
    Oracle web site. I started using the pre-built version because I needed USB
    passthru, which was not a feature of the VB OSE release. As I usually run
    kernels from the wireless-testing git tree, I do build my own VB kernel modules.
    When the kernel API changes with a new kernel release, I submit the necessary
    patches to Oracle.
    Wow that is great information Larry. I also use VirtualBox so far. I have loaded Window XP in a VM in order to get a DVD HTML based manual to work for my wheel chair van, written to work only with an older version of Internet Explorer. It does work just fine in XP, but nothing else seems to work. AND VirtualBox has been a great help in running different versions of openSUSE, most recently 12.1 with both the GNOME and KDE desktops loaded. I must also admit to loading a few other Linux distributions, just to see how some of the others seem to work, but nothing that beats openSUSE for me so far.

    Again, thanks for the information on your usage of VirtualBox.

    Thank You,
    My Blog: https://forums.opensuse.org/blogs/jdmcdaniel3/

    Software efficiency halves every 18 months, thus compensating for Moore's Law

    Its James again from Austin, Texas

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,719
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Do you use VirtualBox as your VM?

    I can echo some comments here by Larry.

    Though I use VM software less now, preferring to use actual HD partitions for installations. I no longer use windows for anything even in Virtual Box.

    The real advantage of VM's (And I use Virtual Box) (It's less troublesome to install), is when making tutorials/install guides. You can easily grab good quality snapshots of the install process.
    Leap 15_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Pitesti, Arges County, Romania
    Posts
    595

    Default Re: Do you use VirtualBox as your VM?

    Personally i use Vbox, its a great tool to have. Under it i have Windows XP (for certain sites that require I.E.), openSUSE Factory and Debian Testing
    jdmcdaniel3 nice scripts
    openSUSE Community Member: -> en.opensuse.org/User:Creatura85
    Connect Profile:
    -> connect.opensuse.org/pg/profile/creatura85
    openSUSE Romania Member: -> suseromania.ro

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Do you use VirtualBox as your VM?

    On 2011-12-16 06:16, jdmcdaniel3 wrote:
    > Can you tell us which VM you
    > prefer or which ones you have used before?


    I use vmware player. Previously I used the server version, and was forced
    to change because they dropped support for it.

    Why vmware and not virtualbox? Because VB does not support officially
    oldies like Windows Me.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.4 x86_64 "Celadon" at Telcontar)

  9. #9
    Will Honea NNTP User

    Default Re: Do you use VirtualBox as your VM?

    jdmcdaniel3 wrote:

    >
    > If you use VirtualBox, check out this great script utility that allows
    > you to AUTOMATICALLY recompile the VBOX drivers when you update your
    > kernel.
    >
    > http://tinyurl.com/272tku5
    >
    > If you would like to use the VirtualBox VM to load LiveCD's, you have
    > got to read about this bash script as well:
    >
    > http://tinyurl.com/66vjnu8
    >
    > And what are your suggestions for using a VM? If you have any good
    > ones, let us know what they are.


    I use VirtualBox with XP for those "can't there from here" Win apps I
    sometimes need. I also have VMs running Win2K, DOS, OS/2, and eCS. The
    last is mainly for some testing and curiosity but both DOS and OS/2 are
    frequently needed for recreating apps/data from old projects (and disks we
    had forgotten about).

    --
    Will Honea

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    26,490
    Blog Entries
    37

    Default Re: Do you use VirtualBox as your VM?

    I have Virtual Box installed on two PCs which I use to run WinXP, and on occasion LXDE desktop (in openSUSE).

    I have Virtual Box on my Dell Studio 1537 laptop PC (Intel Core 2duo P8400 cpu with 4GB RAM) with WinXP for MS-Office (in support of work, with Word, Excel, Power Point and MS-Access) and also a proprietary product that runs only on MS-Windows which streams our satellites' telemetry, so I can monitor this from home. Since I take this laptop to meetings, I really need 100% compatibility with documents produced by users who attend various meetings (who are from different organizations) and that means I must pay/own MS-Office. Unfortunately the 99% compatibility of Office Libre and Open Office does not 'cut it here' for my use. And the proprietary software that I need to run (for satellite telemetry) pretty much forces me to keep winXP even if it were not for those meetings.

    I also have Virtual Box on my Main desktop PC, which is an custom built Asus P6T Deluxe2 motherboard with an Intel Core i7 920 processor and 6GB of RAM. On this PC I do NOT have a really barebones winXP in Virtual Box (where I do NOT have MS-Office) but here again I run the proprietary product that runs only on MS-Windows which streams our satellites' telemetry, so I can monitor this from home.

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •