Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: 12.1 / Taskbar / Desktop Icon / Windows: How to get the Windows Showing?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    154

    Default 12.1 / Taskbar / Desktop Icon / Windows: How to get the Windows Showing?

    Hello,
    I have the following problem:

    The taskbar shows 6 Desktop Icons. Mouse over Desktop Icon #1 shows 6 Windows (i.e. Tasks).
    Can somebody please suggest how I can grab one of those task? My system is x86_64 with all
    the latest updates, so I am the one who needs to be updated, please!

    And: If it is possible having all tasks accessible with the taskbar, I would be very happy!

    Thanks and best regards,
    J C Anker

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    20,056
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: 12.1 / Taskbar / Desktop Icon / Windows: How to get the Windows Showing?

    My guess is you're on KDE, and you're talking about the pager (with 4 virtual desktops). Again, my guess is that you switched to another virtual desktop, making the open windows out of reach. If this is the case, you can right click the pager (the four blocks), and change it's properties, so that clicking on one of the blocks triggers switching to that virual desktop. Next you should be able to switch to that desktop and see the windows.
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    https://en.opensuse.org/openSUSE:Board#Members
    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    154

    Default Re: 12.1 / Taskbar / Desktop Icon / Windows: How to get the Windows Showing?

    Knurpht, thanks for a prompt reply! I can grab the tasks now; <ctrl><F8>,click on desired task at appropriate desktop.
    Is there any way I can avoid the <ctrl><F8>, i.e. click on desktop icon and get all tasks up simultaneously?

    Thanks,
    J C Anker

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    154

    Default Re: 12.1 / Taskbar / Desktop Icon / Windows: How to get the Windows Showing?

    Interesting discovery:
    <ctrl><F8>, open Dolphin in Desktop #1, click on presentation with LibreOffice Impress does not open LibreOffice (presentation)
    <ctrl><F8>, open Dolphin in Desktop #1, click on presentation, click on "open with", choose LibreOffice, does not open LibreOffice either

    J C Anker

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    154

    Default Re: 12.1 / Taskbar / Desktop Icon / Windows: How to get the Windows Showing?

    Ref my previous post:
    The reason that LibreOffice was not executing, was that the Root Shell was awaiting password (one of the windows I
    knew existed, but could not open). Sorry for the confusion!

    J C Anker

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    154

    Default Re: 12.1 / Taskbar / Desktop Icon / Windows: How to get the Windows Showing?

    Problem solved: There are some problems with my 12.1 x86_64 installation since the last upgrade (source of trouble not identified so far). When there is a software crash, it appears that a root shell is being generated, the shell will be waiting for the password, this puts a block on the pager desktops.

    J C Anker

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •