Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Window too large - cannot resize

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Jersey, Channel Islands (UK)
    Posts
    20

    Default Window too large - cannot resize

    I'm running OpenSuse 11.4 in a Virtual Box and when I open up the update box it also opens an additional window called "Additional Confirmation Required". However, this window is too large (vertically) for me to get to the bottom of - where I suspect there is some kind of OK button!? The Alt+F8 function is greyed out. I've also tried the largest resolution, both on OpenSuse and on the host; still can't see the bottom of the window. The first update window has its Alt+F8 function fully working.
    What to do? I don't seem to get any further updates until I've 'cleared' this window.

    Cheers Ollie

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    17,043

    Default Re: Window too large - cannot resize

    On Tue, 08 Nov 2011 22:56:03 +0000, OllieGab wrote:

    > However, this window is too large (vertically) for me to get to the
    > bottom of - where I suspect there is some kind of OK button!?


    Try Alt+Space, M, and then use the cursor keys to move the window.

    That should work on GNOME and KDE both.

    Jim



    --
    Jim Henderson
    openSUSE Forums Administrator
    Forum Use Terms & Conditions at http://tinyurl.com/openSUSE-T-C

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Window too large - cannot resize

    On 2011-11-08 23:56, OllieGab wrote:
    >
    > I'm running OpenSuse 11.4 in a Virtual Box and when I open up the update
    > box it also opens an additional window called "Additional Confirmation
    > Required". However, this window is too large (vertically) for me to get
    > to the bottom of - where I suspect there is some kind of OK button!? The
    > Alt+F8 function is greyed out. I've also tried the largest resolution,
    > both on OpenSuse and on the host; still can't see the bottom of the
    > window. The first update window has its Alt+F8 function fully working.
    > What to do? I don't seem to get any further updates until I've
    > 'cleared' this window.


    I read about this problem recently here. It is a bug solved by updating...
    which you can't do. But there is a key/mouse combination that allows to
    move windows. In my gnome is the left windows key and click left anywhere
    on the window. Drag it up and click the button.

    Or, you can do the updates in text mode (yast).

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.4 x86_64 "Celadon" at Telcontar)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    12,345
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: Window too large - cannot resize

    If possible, just close those windows. Then go to Yast and do an online update. The online update should fix that bug.
    openSUSE Leap 15.1; KDE Plasma 5;

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Window too large - cannot resize

    On 2011-11-09 00:06, Jim Henderson wrote:

    > That should work on GNOME and KDE both.


    In gnome that combo can move down all the way, but not up: only to the border.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.4 x86_64 "Celadon" at Telcontar)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,654

    Default Re: Window too large - cannot resize

    Carlos E. R. wrote:

    > On 2011-11-09 00:06, Jim Henderson wrote:
    >
    >> That should work on GNOME and KDE both.

    >
    > In gnome that combo can move down all the way, but not up: only to the
    > border.
    >

    Pressing ALT and keep it pressed while clicking (left mouse button) into the
    window and drag it should not have this limitation. I used that in gnome
    exactly in that situation on my wifes notebook.

    --
    PC: oS 11.4 (dual boot 12.1 RC2) 64 bit | Intel Core i7-2600@3.40GHz | KDE
    4.6.0 | GeForce GT 420 | 16GB Ram
    Eee PC 1201n: oS 11.4 64 bit | Intel Atom 330@1.60GHz | KDE 4.6.0 | nVidia
    ION | 3GB Ram

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Window too large - cannot resize

    On 2011-11-09 00:21, martin_helm wrote:
    > Pressing ALT and keep it pressed while clicking (left mouse button) into the
    > window and drag it should not have this limitation. I used that in gnome
    > exactly in that situation on my wifes notebook.


    No, in my gnome is the other combination I mentioned.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.4 x86_64 "Celadon" at Telcontar)

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    17,043

    Default Re: Window too large - cannot resize

    On Tue, 08 Nov 2011 23:18:06 +0000, Carlos E. R. wrote:

    > On 2011-11-09 00:06, Jim Henderson wrote:
    >
    >> That should work on GNOME and KDE both.

    >
    > In gnome that combo can move down all the way, but not up: only to the
    > border.


    I hadn't noticed that before - it used to let you do that.

    In GNOME, you can hold ALT and then click anywhere on the window to move
    the window up.

    Jim



    --
    Jim Henderson
    openSUSE Forums Administrator
    Forum Use Terms & Conditions at http://tinyurl.com/openSUSE-T-C

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Window too large - cannot resize

    On 2011-11-09 02:02, Jim Henderson wrote:
    > In GNOME, you can hold ALT and then click anywhere on the window to move
    > the window up.


    Not here. It works with the window key instead.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.4 x86_64 "Celadon" at Telcontar)

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    17,043

    Default Re: Window too large - cannot resize

    On Wed, 09 Nov 2011 01:28:06 +0000, Carlos E. R. wrote:

    > On 2011-11-09 02:02, Jim Henderson wrote:
    >> In GNOME, you can hold ALT and then click anywhere on the window to
    >> move the window up.

    >
    > Not here. It works with the window key instead.


    Must've changed the mapping on your setup - AFAIK the ALT key is the
    default.

    Jim

    --
    Jim Henderson
    openSUSE Forums Administrator
    Forum Use Terms & Conditions at http://tinyurl.com/openSUSE-T-C

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •