DVD Edition

Hello everyone, I am new to OpenSUSE and I wanted to know that what is the differene between CD and DVD editions of OpenSUSE. If there are extra softwares on DVD edition can anyone list them. Thanks in advance.

The DVD version has more software. I am unable to list them all. The DVD version comes with KDE, Gnome and other desktops. That’s all I know off the top of my head.

The DVD will let you install. KDE, Gnome XFCE, LXDE and text based sever
The CD will only install the version you are using, Eg: Gnome live CD, will install Gnome

If you choose to install Gnome from the DVD you get a more complete install.

But, if you use a CD. Post install the updater will bring all the extras in and of course you will have access to the full blown OS via the repos.

Thank you asarge and caf4926 but can anyone give me link where i can compare softwares on both cd and dvd versions because I plan to test DVD also. Thanks.

There is no comprehensive list that I know of
This may help
Portal:11.4 - openSUSE

Also the DVD is not live.

Let me see if I can explain.

There’s the DVD edition, the live CD edition, and the network CD edition.

I’m guessing that you are asking about the live CD edition. But let me first comment on the network CD.

If you use the network CD, you will get pretty much the same software as if you use the DVD. The differences are:
1: The network CD is small, so a smaller and quicker download).
2: The network CD works through the Internet, so you will need an active Internet connection during install.
3: With the network CD, the software is all loaded over the network, directly from the repos.