Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Am I trying to use rsync wrong?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Taft, Republic of California. UTC -8
    Posts
    1,474

    Default Am I trying to use rsync wrong?

    I am trying to copy a folder over to a new drive and am using rsync. Is there something I am missing here causing this error? No matter where I try this from even from "/" I get this kind of error. Even from /data/adata/ I get the "No such file or directory" error The directory and files exist.

    Code:
    flamebait@fuuyuu:/data> ls
    ⁄adata  lost+found
    flamebait@fuuyuu:/data> rsync -av /data/adata/"Spring 2011" /Four/NewPlace
    sending incremental file list
    rsync: change_dir "/data/adata" failed: No such file or directory (2)
    
    sent 12 bytes  received 12 bytes  48.00 bytes/sec
    total size is 0  speedup is 0.00
    rsync error: some files/attrs were not transferred (see previous errors) (code 23) at main.c(1042) [sender=3.0.7]
    flamebait@fuuyuu:/data> cd /data/adata/
    bash: cd: /data/adata/: No such file or directory
    flamebait@fuuyuu:/data> cd /data/adata
    bash: cd: /data/adata: No such file or directory
    Tumbleweed

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    UTC+10
    Posts
    9,686
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default Re: Am I trying to use rsync wrong?

    That ⁄ in front of adata is not a slash but a Unicode solidus (I think that's the name of the symbol). Somehow you managed to type this in when creating the directory. Normally a slash would not appear in front of a directory name in a ls listing anyway. You have to rename ⁄adata to just adata. Try this:

    Code:
    mv ⁄adata data

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    26,525
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Am I trying to use rsync wrong?

    Hi
    Your directory name is /adata not adata
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Taft, Republic of California. UTC -8
    Posts
    1,474

    Default Re: Am I trying to use rsync wrong?

    Quote Originally Posted by ken_yap View Post
    That ⁄ in front of adata is not a slash but a Unicode solidus (I think that's the name of the symbol). Somehow you managed to type this in when creating the directory. Normally a slash would not appear in front of a directory name in a ls listing anyway. You have to rename ⁄adata to just adata. Try this:

    Code:
    mv ⁄adata data
    Wouldn't that be mv ⁄adata adata not mv ⁄adata data?

    Yea Malcolm I am now seeing a "how the heck did I do that?" kind of thing.
    Tumbleweed

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    UTC+10
    Posts
    9,686
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default Re: Am I trying to use rsync wrong?

    Yes, of course. I make typos too.

    Unless you know how to type in a solidus again, you should cut and paste the name from your code block or my code block to get the solidus. Again, it's not a slash, so don't type that, it won't work.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Taft, Republic of California. UTC -8
    Posts
    1,474

    Default Re: Am I trying to use rsync wrong?

    I'll use konqueror and SU and do it graphically the same way I created it I think . I have a bunch of links on my desktop and NFS shares I have to fix too.

    Thanks all for helping cure my blindness.
    Tumbleweed

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Earth - Denmark
    Posts
    10,730

    Default Re: Am I trying to use rsync wrong?

    On 10/17/2011 04:46 AM, FlameBait wrote:
    >
    > I'll use konqueror and SU and do it graphically the same way I created
    > it I think .


    ok, if you open the directory at /data in konqueror, and wish to add a
    sub directory named adata, then right click in the directory and select
    "create new" > "folder" and in the blank type *the name* of the
    sub-directory (which is) adata (not) /adata (and also not "[Unicode
    solidus]adata")

    however, i think since you named it "[Unicode solidus]adata" your
    initial problem *might* go away if you tried the rsync this way

    Code:
    rsync -av /data/[Unicode solidus]adata/"Spring 2011" /Four/NewPlace
    WAIT!! i can't duplicate what i thought you did...i just launched
    konqueror from kdesu, navigated to a user's home (say) /home/test, right
    clicked and tried to add "/sub-test" and the new directory did NOT land
    as /home/test/sub-test, instead it landed as /sub-test (in the root
    partition) so, maybe the same happened to you?? and you stopped trying
    to name it /adata and instead named it "[Unicode solidus]adata"??

    strange how it happened...

    and, i have a question: is "Four" a root directory on the same partition?

    --
    DD
    openSUSE®, the "German Automobiles" of operating systems

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Taft, Republic of California. UTC -8
    Posts
    1,474

    Default Re: Am I trying to use rsync wrong?

    Quote Originally Posted by DenverD View Post
    On 10/17/2011 04:46 AM, FlameBait wrote:
    >
    > I'll use konqueror and SU and do it graphically the same way I created
    > it I think .


    ok, if you open the directory at /data in konqueror, and wish to add a
    sub directory named adata, then right click in the directory and select
    "create new" > "folder" and in the blank type *the name* of the
    sub-directory (which is) adata (not) /adata (and also not "[Unicode
    solidus]adata")

    however, i think since you named it "[Unicode solidus]adata" your
    initial problem *might* go away if you tried the rsync this way

    Code:
    rsync -av /data/[Unicode solidus]adata/"Spring 2011" /Four/NewPlace
    WAIT!! i can't duplicate what i thought you did...i just launched
    konqueror from kdesu, navigated to a user's home (say) /home/test, right
    clicked and tried to add "/sub-test" and the new directory did NOT land
    as /home/test/sub-test, instead it landed as /sub-test (in the root
    partition) so, maybe the same happened to you?? and you stopped trying
    to name it /adata and instead named it "[Unicode solidus]adata"??

    strange how it happened...

    and, i have a question: is "Four" a root directory on the same partition?

    --
    DD
    openSUSE®, the "German Automobiles" of operating systems
    I have no idea how I created that sub-directory It's been around a long time. /data is the root partiton and /adata was a a directory under it. I kdesued konqueror and I renamed it adata . I changed all the hooks to it and all is fine. I still don't know how I created that directory. I must have been suffering from a major case of blind.

    No /Four is actually the root partition on a separate drive. I was moving some 80 gig directories over to that drive when I stumbled on this self created issue.
    Tumbleweed

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Am I trying to use rsync wrong?

    On 2011-10-17 03:56, FlameBait wrote:
    >
    > I am trying to copy a folder over to a new drive and am using rsync. Is
    > there something I am missing here causing this error? No matter where I
    > try this from even from "/" I get this kind of error. Even from
    > /data/adata/ I get the "No such file or directory" error The directory
    > and files exist.


    Maybe not. Or not with the name you think it has. Like an space at the end.
    You can not even cd to that directory, so it does not exist.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.4 x86_64 "Celadon" at Telcontar)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •