Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Gnome 3 fails me – general problem solving

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Budapest, Hungary
    Posts
    61

    Angry Gnome 3 fails me – general problem solving

    Gnome 3 raises so many questions, but leaves no answers, and this makes it frustrating: I've just managed to fix Gnome 3 on openSUSE 11.4 so it just works. However, the WiFi network still does not work, as it cannot generally enable the WiFi. But I cannot resume to fix it—which also makes it impossible to find the cause—because a full-screen game crashed, leaving it in a small screen resolution. When I wanted to change the display resolution back, Gnome just crashed, and crashes every time when I log in.

    I know that I can see error messages in ~/.xsession-error file, but I don't know how to read it (How to interpret the messages that I read). Where can I learn about the flow of the application Gnome 3 starts from log in till it crashes?

    Luckily I can connect through Ethernet, and the network works in the terminals (ctrl-alt-1, …) but I'm working with applications that need graphical environment.

    Also when does Gnome 3 becomes stable? (Fool-proof stable!)
    Where is Gnome 3.2 available?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    26,487
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Gnome 3 fails me – general problem solving

    Quote Originally Posted by jadaml
    Gnome 3 raises so many questions, but leaves no answers, and it is so
    frustrating: I've just managed to fix Gnome 3 on openSUSE 11.4 so it's
    just work. However, WiFi network still not work, as it cannot generally
    enable the WiFi. But I cannot resume to fix it—which also makes it
    impossible to find the cause—because a full-screen game crashed,
    leaving in a small screen resolution. When I wanted to change the
    display resolution back, Gnome just crashed, and crashes every time when
    I log in.

    I know, that I can see error messages in ~/.xsession-error file, but I
    don't know how to read it (How to interpret the messages that I read).
    Where can I learn the flow of Gnome 3 from log in til it's crashes.

    Luckily I can connect through Ethernet, and network works in the
    terminals (ctrl-alt-1, …) but I'm working with applications that are
    needs graphical environment.

    Also when Gnome 3 becomes stable? (Fool-proof stable!)
    Where is Gnome 3.2 available?

    Hi
    How did you install GNOME 3.0? I've been running Gnome 3.0 for a while
    now without issues as in stable. I installed Gnome 3.2 on the ASUS
    1000HE netbook as well (see screenshots in the screenshot forum) some
    funnies with power management, but aside from that useable.

    Sounds like it's an issue with the X11 driver, not the DE, have you
    tried switching to ice-wm or twm to see how that goes, what about
    starting in fallback mode for G3?


    --
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° (Linux Counter #276890)
    openSUSE 11.4 (x86_64) Kernel 2.6.37.6-0.7-desktop
    up 6 days 1:06, 3 users, load average: 0.11, 0.20, 0.22
    GPU GeForce 8600 GTS Silent - Driver Version: 280.13


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Budapest, Hungary
    Posts
    61

    Default Re: Gnome 3 fails me – general problem solving

    Quote Originally Posted by malcolmlewis View Post
    How did you install GNOME 3.0?
    I've installed it with one-click install. I've also tried to install several packages (can't recall them) but those worked since then.

    Quote Originally Posted by malcolmlewis View Post
    Sounds like it's an issue with the X11 driver, not the DE, have you
    tried switching to ice-wm or twm to see how that goes, what about
    starting in fallback mode for G3?
    I can use other window managers, though currently it is suspended, but I would use WindowManager, as I did for such case before. But there is a fallback mode? How can I achive it?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    26,487
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Gnome 3 fails me – general problem solving

    Hi
    Open a console session or login from a VT and run;
    Code:
    gsettings set org.gnome.desktop.session session-name gnome-fallback
    Also check;
    Code:
    zypper in gnome-shell metatheme-adwaita-common
    Last edited by malcolmlewis; 02-Oct-2011 at 09:03.
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Pitesti, Arges County, Romania
    Posts
    595

    Default Re: Gnome 3 fails me – general problem solving

    Quote Originally Posted by jadaml View Post
    ...
    1. Check if you installed the extension called "gnome-shell-extension-xrandr-indicator" and delete it; i causes problems with X
    2. Check if you have libgnomekbd installed
    3. Check if you have mutter and gnome-menus-branding-openSUSE

    Why the checks? Well, because when i did installed Gnome 3 using the tutorial from the wiki libgnomekbd was not upgraded to 3.0.2 and the extension got installed. So check and double check; re-read openSUSE:GNOME 3.0 - openSUSE
    openSUSE Community Member: -> en.opensuse.org/User:Creatura85
    Connect Profile:
    -> connect.opensuse.org/pg/profile/creatura85
    openSUSE Romania Member: -> suseromania.ro

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Budapest, Hungary
    Posts
    61

    Default Re: Gnome 3 fails me – general problem solving

    The gnome-fallback works. Whew!
    gnome-shell, metatheme-adwatia-common, mutter and gnome-menus-branding-openSUSE is installed.
    the xrandr indicator was installed previously, but I figured out, that it is causing trouble (Actually the “Oh no!” screen.)
    However, I did not find the libgnomekdb, but not even as an option. But I doubt that it is caused by this, as it were working before, and did not install or uninstall packages before this happened.

    But now what, now that I have Gnome up and running?
    This means, I cannot use the new style?

    Ps.: Now I remember, that I've connected an external monitor to this laptop, and played with the display settings a little, but since then, I've reinstalled openSUSE (more than twice) as a short solution.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    26,487
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Gnome 3 fails me – general problem solving

    Hi
    So what graphics do you have?
    Code:
    /usr/sbin/hwinfo --gfxcard
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Budapest, Hungary
    Posts
    61

    Default Re: Gnome 3 fails me – general problem solving

    It's an Intel graphics card, I presume one with Intel Core i3.

    Here is the output:
    Code:
    09: PCI 02.0: 0300 VGA compatible controller (VGA)              
      [Created at pci.318]
      Unique ID: _Znp.J5+t5CwGL99
      SysFS ID: /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:02.0
      SysFS BusID: 0000:00:02.0
      Hardware Class: graphics card
      Model: "Intel Arrandale Integrated Graphics Controller"
      Vendor: pci 0x8086 "Intel Corporation"
      Device: pci 0x0046 "Arrandale Integrated Graphics Controller"
      SubVendor: pci 0x104d "Sony Corporation"
      SubDevice: pci 0x9071 
      Revision: 0x02
      Driver: "i915"
      Driver Modules: "drm"
      Memory Range: 0xf0000000-0xf03fffff (rw,non-prefetchable)
      Memory Range: 0xe0000000-0xefffffff (ro,non-prefetchable)
      I/O Ports: 0xe080-0xe087 (rw)
      IRQ: 41 (3098 events)
      I/O Ports: 0x3c0-0x3df (rw)
      Module Alias: "pci:v00008086d00000046sv0000104Dsd00009071bc03sc00i00"
      Driver Info #0:
        Driver Status: i915 is active
        Driver Activation Cmd: "modprobe i915"
      Config Status: cfg=no, avail=yes, need=no, active=unknown
    Btw.: This is a Sony Vaio VPCEB1J8E

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    26,487
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Gnome 3 fails me – general problem solving

    Hi
    You haven't got nomodeset set?
    Code:
    cat /proc/cmdline
    Is the xorg conf file in /etc/X11/xorg.d using the intel driver?
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Budapest, Hungary
    Posts
    61

    Default Re: Gnome 3 fails me – general problem solving

    Quote Originally Posted by malcolmlewis View Post
    You haven't got nomodeset set?
    No.
    Quote Originally Posted by malcolmlewis View Post
    Is the xorg conf file in /etc/X11/xorg.d using the intel driver?
    In my /etx/X11/xorg.conf.d directory, (I don't have /etc/X11/xorg.d) I found no trace or sign of an Intel driver configured, or referenced. The 50-monitor.conf and the 50-device.conf files are practically empty (regards to drivers), 50-screen.conf refers to the monitor defined in the monitor conf file.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •