Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Amarok doesnt play mpeg-4 aac

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Antananarivo, Madagascar
    Posts
    103

    Default Amarok doesnt play mpeg-4 aac

    I am in the dark as to which codec to install to fix this
    11.4 kde
    Thanks a lot
    J

  2. #2

    Default Re: Amarok doesnt play mpeg-4 aac


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Antananarivo, Madagascar
    Posts
    103

    Default Re: Amarok doesnt play mpeg-4 aac

    Quote Originally Posted by lenwolf View Post
    You refer to this solution


    Solution

    There are conflict in packages versions. If you have added VLC and Packman repositories, they contains different versions of some gstreamer plugins. Zypper/YaST installs by default the newest one, but in this case it installs different version of gstreamer and it's plugins.

    I recommend you to do this:

    - disable all VLC repositories using YAST

    - add a Packman repository (ftp://packman.inode.at/suse/11.3/)

    - go to Software manager, click on left-top menu and select Repositaries. Then Click PackMan repository and finally on "Switch installed packages to the version in this repository"

    - Click on apply and wait few minutes. It should work now (after restarting Totem/Banshee player).
    "Switch installed packages to the version in this repository"

    I can find this option nowhere! What to do?
    Thanks, I appreciate your help!

  4. #4

    Default Re: Amarok doesnt play mpeg-4 aac

    Hi,

    Quote Originally Posted by ClrScr View Post
    You refer to this solution



    "Switch installed packages to the version in this repository"

    I can find this option nowhere! What to do?
    Thanks, I appreciate your help!
    Yast -> install/remove software

    Use the repositories tab and select the one for packman..
    The, above the list of all files in that repository, you can find this switch.

    (I'm presuming you use the KDE version of Yast).

    HTH

    Lenwolf

  5. #5

    Default Re: Amarok doesnt play mpeg-4 aac

    I re-worked that wiki page since it looks like it was written in a hurry, and contained an incorrect instruction (adding the Packman repo using a URL which only works for 11.3).

    The instructions should make more sense now: SDBroblem with MPEG-4 AAC plugin for gstreamer - openSUSE

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Antananarivo, Madagascar
    Posts
    103

    Default Re: Amarok doesnt play mpeg-4 aac

    Quote Originally Posted by tk83 View Post
    I re-worked that wiki page since it looks like it was written in a hurry, and contained an incorrect instruction (adding the Packman repo using a URL which only works for 11.3).

    The instructions should make more sense now: SDBroblem with MPEG-4 AAC plugin for gstreamer - openSUSE
    Thanks but inder the Community Repositories there is NOT a Packman repo!

    What now?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Posts
    1,145

    Default Re: Amarok doesnt play mpeg-4 aac

    Quote Originally Posted by ClrScr View Post
    Thanks but inder the Community Repositories there is NOT a Packman repo!
    YaST > Software > Reositories > Add
    select "Community Repositories
    > Next
    select "Packman Repository"
    > OK > OK

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,733
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Amarok doesnt play mpeg-4 aac

    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Posts
    1,145

    Default Re: Amarok doesnt play mpeg-4 aac

    Quote Originally Posted by caf4926 View Post
    Both links under:
    Additional Repositories You will need:
    are for the 11.3 repositories.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,733
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Amarok doesnt play mpeg-4 aac

    Thanks
    Fixed
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •