Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Why is 'users' is the default group for new users in openSUSE?

Default Why is 'users' is the default group for new users in openSUSE?

I am new to openSUSE. In other Linux distros I've used, new users are assigned to their own group (i.e. user 'joe', group 'joe') by default. To my surprise, when I create new users with my openSUSE 11.4, they are all assigned to the 'users' shared group by default.

To test this, I created a new user called 'friends'. From my terminal, I can see how the new user files look like:

joe@linux:~> ls -l /home/friends/
    total 40
    drwxr-xr-x 2 friends users 4096 Sep 3 11:37 bin
    drwxr-xr-x 2 friends users 4096 Sep 3 11:38 Desktop
    drwxr-xr-x 2 friends users 4096 Sep 3 11:38 Documents
    drwxr-xr-x 2 friends users 4096 Sep 3 11:38 Downloads
    drwxr-xr-x 2 friends users 4096 Sep 3 11:38 Music
    drwxr-xr-x 2 friends users 4096 Sep 3 11:38 Pictures
    drwxr-xr-x 2 friends users 4096 Sep 3 11:38 Public
    drwxr-xr-x 2 friends users 4096 Sep 3 11:37 public_html
    drwxr-xr-x 2 friends users 4096 Sep 3 11:38 Templates
    drwxr-xr-x 2 friends users 4096 Sep 3 11:38 Videos

Does this mean that by default, while I am logged is as user 'joe', I will be able to see and open other users' home files? The scary thing is that I went ahead and logged in as user 'friends' and I was able to access all my personal files in /home/joe. Does this mean that the default openSUSE security allows for all users to share and have access to each others home files?

Default Re: Why is 'users' is the default group for new users in openSUSE?

Why not?

Distros differ. When they did it all the same, there would be but one distro.
    The whole idea of groups would be futile when every user would have his own group.