Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: No Power/Energy Profiles in System Settings

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    living in the u.s.
    Posts
    116

    Default No Power/Energy Profiles in System Settings

    hello all,
    can someone help me fix my power management issue. It appears my profiles are gone, and thus i have got no way in changing settings in the 'Desktop Configuration' (Systems Settings)

    so, when I go to

    app starter --> Configure Desktop --> Power Mgmt

    there are NO profiles under 'global settings' or 'power profiles'

    anyone has got an idea what's cooking here ...

    thanks, theo
    gateway nv53 laptop -- amd athlon II x2 m300 processor -- ati radeon hd4200 graphics -- ar928x wireless network adapter / netlink bcm5784m gigabit ethernet pci
    openSUSE 13.2 Harlequin (x86_64) -- Linux 3.16.7-7-xen -- KDE 4.14.3

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Austin - Texas
    Posts
    10,140
    Blog Entries
    48

    Smile Re: No Power/Energy Profiles in System Settings

    So I use a desktop and the only one there for me is called Performance, but you can create a new one if you like (A little DOC file with a + sign on it). Here are some other things to look at for CPU power and speed:

    For YaST CPU Speed:

    YaST Power Management - Control Your CPU Energy Usage How To & FAQ - Blogs - openSUSE Forums

    For setting CPU speed at the terminal prompt:

    C.F.U. - CPU Frequency Utilitiy - Version 1.10 - For use with the cpufrequtils package - Blogs - openSUSE Forums

    KDE does not set or change the CPU speed anymore from these profiles so you need to look at these other utils.

    Thank You,
    My Blog: https://forums.opensuse.org/blogs/jdmcdaniel3/

    Software efficiency halves every 18 months, thus compensating for Moore's Law

    Its James again from Austin, Texas

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    living in the u.s.
    Posts
    116

    Default Re: No Power/Energy Profiles in System Settings

    i did set the power management in yast to a profile i believe works for me, the problem, though, is that default of the desktop configuration overrides yast ... i can uncheck the options, but next time i go back in the checks are back ... theo
    gateway nv53 laptop -- amd athlon II x2 m300 processor -- ati radeon hd4200 graphics -- ar928x wireless network adapter / netlink bcm5784m gigabit ethernet pci
    openSUSE 13.2 Harlequin (x86_64) -- Linux 3.16.7-7-xen -- KDE 4.14.3

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Austin - Texas
    Posts
    10,140
    Blog Entries
    48

    Smile Re: No Power/Energy Profiles in System Settings

    i did set the power management in yast to a profile i believe works for me, the problem, though, is that default of the desktop configuration overrides yast ... i can uncheck the options, but next time i go back in the checks are back ... theo

    So you say that in the Profile window there is no default name and you can not create a new one?

    KDE 4.6 menu / Personnel Settings / Hardware Group / Power Management / Power Profile (on left) / Select or add new profile. Once created or modified , make your selections and hit the apply button on the bottom right.

    Thank You,
    My Blog: https://forums.opensuse.org/blogs/jdmcdaniel3/

    Software efficiency halves every 18 months, thus compensating for Moore's Law

    Its James again from Austin, Texas

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    living in the u.s.
    Posts
    116

    Default Re: No Power/Energy Profiles in System Settings

    Quote Originally Posted by jdmcdaniel3 View Post
    So you say that in the Profile window there is no default name and you can not create a new one?

    KDE 4.6 menu / Personnel Settings / Hardware Group / Power Management / Power Profile (on left) / Select or add new profile. Once created or modified , make your selections and hit the apply button on the bottom right.

    Thank You,
    exactly there are absolutely no power profiles in personal settings ... i wished i could post a screen shot, but the forum tells me, i don't have permission ... theo
    gateway nv53 laptop -- amd athlon II x2 m300 processor -- ati radeon hd4200 graphics -- ar928x wireless network adapter / netlink bcm5784m gigabit ethernet pci
    openSUSE 13.2 Harlequin (x86_64) -- Linux 3.16.7-7-xen -- KDE 4.14.3

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Earth - Denmark
    Posts
    10,730

    Default Re: No Power/Energy Profiles in System Settings

    > exactly there are absolutely no power profiles in personal settings ...

    what did you do with them?

    that is, they didn't sneak out one night while you were asleep! (or did
    they?)

    have you been deleting stuff? uninstalling stuff? what???

    i know your 11.4 with KDE didn't start out that way, did it?
    if so then you had a bad install, if not see line one above..

    use yast to create a new test users; log out and back in as that test
    user....do you, as the new test user now have power profiles in personal
    settings?

    --
    DD
    openSUSE®, the "German Engineered Automobile" of operating systems!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Austin - Texas
    Posts
    10,140
    Blog Entries
    48

    Smile Re: No Power/Energy Profiles in System Settings

    I use the following site for images:

    Fast, Free Image Hosting - ImageBam

    Sign up for a free account. Once you upload an image, there are a couple of links provided and I use the bbcode for that looks like this:



    Thank You,
    My Blog: https://forums.opensuse.org/blogs/jdmcdaniel3/

    Software efficiency halves every 18 months, thus compensating for Moore's Law

    Its James again from Austin, Texas

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    living in the u.s.
    Posts
    116

    Default Re: No Power/Energy Profiles in System Settings

    Quote Originally Posted by DenverD View Post
    > exactly there are absolutely no power profiles in personal settings ...

    what did you do with them?

    that is, they didn't sneak out one night while you were asleep! (or did
    they?)

    have you been deleting stuff? uninstalling stuff? what???

    i know your 11.4 with KDE didn't start out that way, did it?
    if so then you had a bad install, if not see line one above..

    use yast to create a new test users; log out and back in as that test
    user....do you, as the new test user now have power profiles in personal
    settings?

    --
    DD
    openSUSE®, the "German Engineered Automobile" of operating systems!
    besides the weekly 'zypper patch' and 'zypper up' i have not made any changes that could affect the power management, i think ... and i seem to remember that i had this issues ever since install ... otherwize it seems to be a clean distro ... theo
    gateway nv53 laptop -- amd athlon II x2 m300 processor -- ati radeon hd4200 graphics -- ar928x wireless network adapter / netlink bcm5784m gigabit ethernet pci
    openSUSE 13.2 Harlequin (x86_64) -- Linux 3.16.7-7-xen -- KDE 4.14.3

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    living in the u.s.
    Posts
    116

    Default Re: No Power/Energy Profiles in System Settings

    curious ... i did create another user, and there the profiles are present ... so ... how can i fix this ... theo
    gateway nv53 laptop -- amd athlon II x2 m300 processor -- ati radeon hd4200 graphics -- ar928x wireless network adapter / netlink bcm5784m gigabit ethernet pci
    openSUSE 13.2 Harlequin (x86_64) -- Linux 3.16.7-7-xen -- KDE 4.14.3

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Austin - Texas
    Posts
    10,140
    Blog Entries
    48

    Smile Re: No Power/Energy Profiles in System Settings

    It appears that your power settings go into the file ~/.kde4/share/config/powerdevil2profilesrc. I guess you could start by copying this file between the two users, or just create a new user name you want to use and abandon the old one.

    Thank You,
    My Blog: https://forums.opensuse.org/blogs/jdmcdaniel3/

    Software efficiency halves every 18 months, thus compensating for Moore's Law

    Its James again from Austin, Texas

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •