Thread: Display Issue

Default Display Issue

Hello, guys. I'm new to SUSE and Linux as a whole, and I've been trying to get familiar with this over the past 24 hours or so. I assume I've been somewhat successful in what I'm attempting to do, as I can work my way around a bit now and use some terminal commands.

However, there is this display problem I seem to be encountering with certain windows which is extremely putting off. When I click options like 'File' or 'Edit' in a window, this is what I get. Here are the screenshots below.

This is what I get when I click the 'Volume' button in the Panel at the bottom of the screen.

I have no idea why this is happening. I have tried changing the Desktop Appearance Settings, Theme Settings but nothing seems to work. Although this is not a performance issue, it is hampering my vision of the various available options, and I would like to resolve it at once.

Thanks a million beforehand. And I'm sure to have millions of other doubts in days to come.

Blog Entries

Default Re: Display Issue

Typically such problems are related to either :
    • desktop software
    • desktop configuration
    • graphic hardware
    • support for the graphic hardware

I have even seen such effects when one had put in place a new graphic card and the PC did not have the power to drive the graphic card.

Please, what :
    • desktop ? KDE ?
    • graphic hardware ?
    • graphic driver ?
    • are special desktop effects disabled ?

Yes, I am running KDE.

My graphics hardware is an NVIDIA GeForce GT 540M - 1 GB.

And I am using an Intel graphics driver, though I am not aware of how to find out its exact specifications.

And yes, special desktop effects are disabled. Though, if I enable it, I see no difference.

Blog Entries

Quote Originally Posted by Sepultra View Post
    My graphics hardware is an NVIDIA GeForce GT 540M - 1 GB.

And I am using an Intel graphics driver, though I am not aware of how to find out its exact specifications.