Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: information displaying on screen

Default information displaying on screen

Hello everybody , i hope i am posting this in the right place, correct me if im wrong.

Im new to linux go easy please.

Heres my deal ,, i have about 200 machines with opensuse11.4 KDE on them,, i would like certain information to stick to the background kinda like a
    widget type of thing that can not be removed by a user (no admin rights) and it has to start on machine boot up and also these pcs are continually moving to different spots in our building but on the same network so idk if that changes anything with configuring the ip address.... the only things that need to be visible are as fallows :

Host name
    User name
    IP address
    domain

so basically widgets are useless to me, unless somebody knows how to configure these the way i need them or maybe there is something better then widgets... i came here to get the right answer from all you geniuses out there instead of trying to hop around on google and whatnot..

let me know what my options are and how i can roll this out on 200 pc efficiently.

Thanks

Blog Entries

Default Re: information displaying on screen

You could write a script that echoes the required info to a textfile, then use 'wall' (run as root) to display it on the desktop as a system message. Now this can be clicked away, but you just create a cron job to run it periodically (so that it is re-displayed)

man wall for more info

i dont really know anything about scripts so it would be difficult for me to do this and also this needs to be on there at all times

You can use conky, configure it in /etc/conky/conky.conf (system wide) and run it as root, so that users cannot kill the process. Have a look at this thread: Conky question.

hummm conky looks like a good idea, is there any other solutions that might not take so long to preform on 200 pcs