Adding repositories without internet

First of all, sorry if this is in the wrong section, I wasn’t really sure where a question like this was suppose to go.

Here’s the rundown:

I have a problem with my wireless internet, my chipset went into the kernel in 2.6.38 and my kernel is version 2.6.37. I know what I have to do, which is add the repository from Index of /repositories/driver:/wireless/openSUSE_11.4 there. Then I have to go into Yast and get the compat-wireless-kmp-desktop-2.6.38.2_k2.6.37.1_1.2-2.1.i586.rpm I do believe. From then, I can do the ‘sudo/sbin/modprobe -v rtl8192ce’ command my wireless should be availabe.

However, with no internet connection, I’m not sure how to add a repository. I’m a bit of a noob to Linux but I’m just unsure of a way. I tried just going in and downloading the compat-wireless-kmp-desktop-2.6.38.2_k2.6.37.1_1.2-2.1.i586.rpm file and putting it on my external harddrive and trying to install it that way. But it said something about there was no dependency so it couldn’t install the file.

Am I missing something here or is there another way I can do this without the use of internet in OpenSuse? Thanks.

Btw, before anyone says use wireless, it’s not possible at the moment, but I’ll make it happen if it’s a last resort. I want to fix this problem, but I’m also curious about the question at hand for knowledge and possible future use. Thanks!

I do not think that adding the repo to your repo list with YaST is the problem (you only have to enter the details in YaST > Software > Repositorty management and then the Add button lower left and then a nice name in the first line and the URL you mentioned above in the second line). The problem is that you then need access to that repo via the net to install what you want. And you can not reach that repo (or any other one on the net).

Actually I think that is exactly the problem. Is there a way to work around this?

Assuming you can’t plug in a LAN cable…