Conky question

Hello All ,

I am new here, first day, i am also new to opensuse, i would like to set up a conky setting at my work so when employees call me for questions they can just give me the info that is visually on the screen from conky that i want instead of having them look for it, i have done some conky in ubuntu , it is very easy , just install it then enter codes in the text editor, and BAM done, now on opensuse looking at this thread Conky - Hardware Monitor it looks ALOT harder, is there a easier way around this big mess of codes and what not.

Thanks in advance.

Hi
Just create the same config files as in Ub* it all depends on how you want it formatted.

well in ubuntu all i did was enter this code

sudo apt-get install conky

to install it ,then this

gedit ~/.conkyrc

to open the file so i can put conky codes in it that i got off of ubuntu forums … this exact process will work for open suse 11.4 KDE ?

Hi
Similar, but you need to add a repository, we have the 1-click method here;

Grab the version from the “server:monitoring” repository (4th one down) and to the right select the 1-click
software.opensuse.org: Search Results

This will add the repository and install conky.

Or from the command line;

sudo zypper ar http://download.opensuse.org/repositories/server:/monitoring/openSUSE_11.4/ server:monitoring
sudo zypper in conky

oh ok cool , what do i do to access the file where i imput the code, and how would i start it , just go in terminal and type conky ?

May I suggest:

[noparse]
su -l
zypper ar http://download.opensuse.org/repositories/openSUSE:/11.4:/Contrib/standard/ openSUSE:Contrib
zypper ar http://download.opensuse.org/repositories/home:/please_try_again/openSUSE_11.4/ PTA
zypper refresh
zypper in conkyconf[/noparse]

It will install conky by dependencies (but I didn’t know that it was not in the standard repo). So I might have to branch it in my repo.

Look at the options with:

conkyconf -h