Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: XTerm

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    North east England
    Posts
    41

    Default XTerm

    Is Xterm in opensuse 11.3 the only means of using the the commands such as consol in Ubuntu or dos in windows. The reason I ask is because I am unable to copy & past into Xterm.

  2. #2

    Default Re: XTerm

    What about selecting text with the mouse to copy and clicking the middle button (usually the wheel) to paste ?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    North east England
    Posts
    41

    Default Re: XTerm

    Thanks for the reply, I have a laptop and always use the buttons, but c&p wont work from file either in XTerm and if I cant use this facility its not much good.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,654

    Default Re: XTerm

    ex-para wrote:

    >
    > Is Xterm in opensuse 11.3 the only means of using the the commands such
    > as consol in Ubuntu or dos in windows. The reason I ask is because I am
    > unable to copy & past into Xterm.
    >

    Why don't you use gnome-terminal (if you are running gnome) or konsole or
    yakuake (if you are running KDE)?
    And there are plenty of other terminal emulators in addition.

    --
    PC: oS 11.3 64 bit | Intel Core2 Quad Q8300@2.50GHz | KDE 4.6.5 | GeForce
    9600 GT | 4GB Ram
    Eee PC 1201n: oS 11.4 64 bit | Intel Atom 330@1.60GHz | KDE 4.6.5 | nVidia
    ION | 3GB Ram

  5. #5

    Default Re: XTerm

    ex-para wrote:
    > Is Xterm in opensuse 11.3 the only means of using the the commands such
    > as consol in Ubuntu or dos in windows. The reason I ask is because I am
    > unable to copy & past into Xterm.


    It's possible, don't give up! But it can be complicated:

    (1) there's more than one terminal program and they don't all work the same.
    (2) there's more than one way of cutting and pasting, depending on the
    desktop

    Doh!

    First, it depends on your desktop environment, which you haven't told us.

    You can try gnome-terminal or whatever the KDE or LXDE equivalent is.

    You can try various key combinations CTRL-C & CTRL-V or CTRL-SHIFT-C &
    CTRL-SHIFT-V or don't remember & CTRL-SHIFT-INSERT. (read man pages)

    You can try dragging & dropping.

    You can try copying with the left button and pasting with the middle button.

    You can try various combinations of all of these.

    There are also various clipboards that may or may not be installed or
    installable.

    It's sometimes easiest to copy from one application into an intermediate
    and then copy from the intermediate into the target application, if
    there are problems copying directly.

    Cheers, Dave

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    North east England
    Posts
    41

    Default Re: XTerm

    Gnome-terminal works OK as I have tried it with the live disk but it is not present in my applications on my installed 11.3 but not to worry as I have just two days ago sent for the 11.4 disc to install so I will sort it out when it comes.

    Thanks again for the replies.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Berlin
    Posts
    2,061

    Default Re: XTerm

    Quote Originally Posted by ex-para
    [...] but it is not present in my applications on my installed 11.3 [...]
    Are you aware that you can install aplications after the initial install as well? Look into YaST, there is a software-management-module.

    Or just open any kind of terminal, become root and do the following command:

    Code:
    zypper in gnome-terminal

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,654

    Default Re: XTerm

    ex-para wrote:

    >
    > Gnome-terminal works OK as I have tried it with the live disk but it is
    > not present in my applications on my installed 11.3 but not to worry as
    > I have just two days ago sent for the 11.4 disc to install so I will
    > sort it out when it comes.
    >

    That exists of course in 11.3 also, you may just not have it installed.
    Open a xterm and type:
    Code:
    su -
    zypper install gnome-terminal
    --
    PC: oS 11.3 64 bit | Intel Core2 Quad Q8300@2.50GHz | KDE 4.6.5 | GeForce
    9600 GT | 4GB Ram
    Eee PC 1201n: oS 11.4 64 bit | Intel Atom 330@1.60GHz | KDE 4.6.5 | nVidia
    ION | 3GB Ram

  9. #9

    Default Re: XTerm

    gnome-terminal is a nice terminal for sure, but you didn't tell which desktop you are using. Did you? So, to not literally repeat Martin's advice in post #4, I may add that if you're using XFCE, you could use XFCE terminal (which is called "Terminal") and if you're using LXDE, you can use lxterminal. All these programs - including the ones previously mentioned - have preferences menus where you can define shortcuts to copy/paste text... except lxterminal (where the shortcuts are shift+Ctrl+C and shift+Ctrl+V but you can not change them).

  10. #10
    Taki NNTP User

    Default Re: XTerm

    On 07/18/2011 03:06 AM, ex-para wrote:
    >
    > Is Xterm in opensuse 11.3 the only means of using the the commands such
    > as consol in Ubuntu or dos in windows. The reason I ask is because I am
    > unable to copy & past into Xterm.
    >
    >

    There are other terminal emulators readily available for openSUSE, as
    others have pointed out. After trying out a few, I've settled on
    "XTerm". You should edit ~/.Xdefaults to suit your needs, though.

    You may want to try out "gpm", a standard package - meaning it's in the
    "oss" repo.

    From the description of the program:

    "The gpm (general purpose mouse) daemon tries to be a useful mouse
    server for applications running on the Linux console. It can be used by
    mc (Midnight Commander) or by w3m, the text-based Web browser. It
    provides console cut and paste operations."

    1. Install "gpm" (YaST or zypper).

    2. Installing is not enough; you must activate the service.

    2.1 Launch Yast2 > "Hardware" > "Mouse on Text Console (GPM). Pick your
    mouse in the list. In my case it is "Intelli/Wheel mouse(USB)".

    2.2 Then, while in YaST2 > "System" > "System Services" (Runlevel). You
    see many services there. Turn on "gpm".

    [While there, you may be tempted to toggle on/off other services. Be
    careful here. If you don't know what they are really for, DO NOT
    EXPERIMENT. You may screw up your system really truly badly.

    I have turned on "xfs", "ntp", "spamd", in addition to "gpm".]

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •