Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: yast2 can't access repositories? broswer sees it okay

  1. #1

    Default yast2 can't access repositories? broswer sees it okay

    Trying to use Yast2, and it gives errors: "" and this is with all the repositories that used to work fine. Not sure what it could be? I tried to use a mirror, and I got the same results.

    Does Yast2 use a port other than port 80 to connect to the repositories? I have not updated the firewall since using Yast last. Have the repository servers been updated since the release of 11.3, to make some editing of the repositories in Yast necessary?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    UTC+10
    Posts
    9,686
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default Re: yast2 can't access repositories? broswer sees it okay

    Change that to:

    http://download.opensuse.org/repositories/openSUSE:/11.3:/Contrib/standard/

    URLs are case sensitive.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Earth - Denmark
    Posts
    10,730

    Default Re: yast2 can't access repositories? broswer sees it okay

    On 07/16/2011 01:36 AM, ken yap wrote:
    >
    > URLs are case sensitive.


    but but but, i do not think that statement is true for all web content
    servers..

    i think Internet Information Services (IIS) web servers are totally
    blind to case (as blind as was MS-DOS 1.x and everything which has
    followed (as far as i know) from Redmond)

    --
    DD
    Caveat-Hardware-Software
    openSUSE®, the BMW® of operating systems!


  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    UTC+10
    Posts
    9,686
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default Re: yast2 can't access repositories? broswer sees it okay

    Quote Originally Posted by DenverD View Post
    On 07/16/2011 01:36 AM, ken yap wrote:
    >
    > URLs are case sensitive.


    but but but, i do not think that statement is true for all web content
    servers..
    No, I didn't say that all webservers are case sensitive wrt URLs. I said that URLs are case sensitive. As long as there is some web server out there that is case sensitive, and in fact there are a lot, then one must respect the case of a URL since you don't know in advance what webserver will handle it.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Earth - Denmark
    Posts
    10,730

    Default Re: yast2 can't access repositories? broswer sees it okay

    On 07/16/2011 01:06 PM, ken yap wrote:
    >
    > must respect the case of a URL since you don't know in advance what
    > webserver will handle it.


    i agree completely.

    --
    DD
    Caveat-Hardware-Software
    openSUSE®, the BMW® of operating systems!


  6. #6

    Default Re: yast2 can't access repositories? broswer sees it okay

    I can get to the URL with my web browser. Yast does not see it. Your solution did not change anything. How can I troubleshoot this? I have already verified that I can open the web page and see the contents of the repositories for 4 different URLs, and Yast gives errors for all of them.

    Cannot access installation media
    Index of /repositories/openSUSE:/11.3:/Contrib/standard
    (Medium 1).
    Check whether the server is accessible.
    Index of /repositories/openSUSE:/11.3:/Contrib/standard

    protocol:
    http
    sever name:
    download.opensuse.org
    directory on server:
    /repositories/openSUSE:/11.3:/Contrib/standard/

  7. #7

    Default Re: yast2 can't access repositories? broswer sees it okay

    Here is the zypper:
    zypper refresh
    Bad media attach point: http://download.opensuse.org/repositories/openSUSE:/11.3:/Contrib/standard/

    Abort, retry, ignore? [a/r/i/?] (a): i
    Error retrieving metadata for 'SUSE Contrib':
    Bad media attach point: http://download.opensuse.org/repositories/openSUSE:/11.3:/Contrib/standard/

    Skipping repository 'SUSE Contrib' because of the above error.
    Bad media attach point: http://download.opensuse.org/update/11.3/

    Abort, retry, ignore? [a/r/i/?] (a): i
    Error retrieving metadata for 'Updates for openSUSE 11.3 11.3-1.82':
    Bad media attach point: http://download.opensuse.org/update/11.3/

    Skipping repository 'Updates for openSUSE 11.3 11.3-1.82' because of the above error.
    Bad media attach point: http://download.opensuse.org/distribution/11.3/repo/non-oss/

    Abort, retry, ignore? [a/r/i/?] (a): i
    Error retrieving metadata for 'openSUSE-11.3-Non-Oss':
    Bad media attach point: Index of /distribution/11.3/repo/non-oss

    Skipping repository 'openSUSE-11.3-Non-Oss' because of the above error.
    Bad media attach point: Index of /distribution/11.3/repo/oss

    Abort, retry, ignore? [a/r/i/?] (a): i
    Error retrieving metadata for 'openSUSE-11.3-Oss':
    Bad media attach point: Index of /distribution/11.3/repo/oss

    Skipping repository 'openSUSE-11.3-Oss' because of the above error.
    Some of the repositories have not been refreshed because of an error.

    Note that the forum changed what I had typed from the http to "index of".

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Berlin
    Posts
    2,061

    Default Re: yast2 can't access repositories? broswer sees it okay

    I suppose this is an IPv6-issue. Read →this, edit the respective files, reboot and try again.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: yast2 can't access repositories? broswer sees it okay

    On 2011-07-17 00:06, novquest wrote:
    > Note that the forum changed what I had typed from the http to "index
    > of".


    Use code tags.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.4 x86_64 "Celadon" at Telcontar)

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    UTC+10
    Posts
    9,686
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default Re: yast2 can't access repositories? broswer sees it okay

    Quote Originally Posted by novquest View Post
    I can get to the URL with my web browser. Yast does not see it.
    The URL that you originally posted, with opensuse instead of openSUSE, did not work in my web browser. When I changed the case of SUSE I could browse to it. It may be that you are having different issues now.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •