Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: ATI Technologies Inc Radeon Xpress 1250 weird effect.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Southend on Sea, Essex, UK
    Posts
    167

    Default ATI Technologies Inc Radeon Xpress 1250 weird effect.

    I have a ATI Technologies Inc Radeon Xpress 1250 and I'm getting strange lines appearing around notification messages. Let me see if I can post a picture.



    If you look at the top right corner there are weird lines surrounding the message. Is this a driver issue? What could it be.

    Thanks in advance.
    "We are what we think.
    All that we are arises with our thoughts."

    Buddha in The Dhammapada.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Southend on Sea, Essex, UK
    Posts
    167

    Default Re: ATI Technologies Inc Radeon Xpress 1250 weird effect.

    Anyone have any idea's?
    "We are what we think.
    All that we are arises with our thoughts."

    Buddha in The Dhammapada.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    47

    Default Re: ATI Technologies Inc Radeon Xpress 1250 weird effect.

    I got the same thing... and in a matter of fact, it's getting worse and worse.
    Since openSUSE 11.3, my experience with ATI legacy is really bad.

    With KMS enabled my system freezes with kdm start. a CTRL+ALT+F10 shows me gpu lockup. only thing to do is hard shutdown/reboot.
    With KMS disabled i get this result (see screenshot included at the bottom. Radeon with swrast or radeonhd... the two show similar behaviour.

    My card is an ATI mobility radeon X1300. (M52)

    screenshot of my

    So it's either an old distro and legacy prop. ATI drivers, or gpu lockup or heavy artifacts.
    I hope the future of ATI legacy improves and not degrades.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Southend on Sea, Essex, UK
    Posts
    167

    Default Re: ATI Technologies Inc Radeon Xpress 1250 weird effect.

    Ohh that's not good. Thanks for the info by the way. Lets hope they improve the drivers.
    "We are what we think.
    All that we are arises with our thoughts."

    Buddha in The Dhammapada.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    26,604
    Blog Entries
    38

    Default Re: ATI Technologies Inc Radeon Xpress 1250 weird effect.

    There is a bug report here: https://bugzilla.novell.com/show_bug.cgi?id=678264 which has a work around for R5xx users (Radeon X1xx series) and R3xx/R4xx users (Radeon 9600/X300/Xxxx) users. Neither of you have that hardware, but I offer the solution for that hardware in case there is some benefit (ie you could try this and see if it also works for your radeon hardware:

    Workaround for R5xx users (Radeon X1xx series)
    -----------------------------------------------

    - disable KMS by adding 'nomodeset' to kernel boot options
    (/boot/grub/menu.lst).

    - add the following section to your /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/50-device.conf
    Code:
      Section "Module"
        Disable "dri"
        Disable "dri2"
      EndSection
    - use this "Device" in your /etc/X11/xorg.conf./50-device.conf
    Code:
      Section "Device"
        Identifier "Default Device"
    
        Driver "radeonhd"
        Option "AccelMethod" "xaa"
      EndSection
    and
    Workaround for R3xx/R4xx users (Radeon 9600/X300/Xxxx)
    ------------------------------------------------------

    - disabled KMS by adding 'nomodeset' to boot options.

    - add the following section to your /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/50-device.conf
    Code:
      Section "Module"
        Disable "dri"
        Disable "dri2"
      EndSection
    Again, the above is for slightly different Radeon hardware so it may not help you in this thread.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    47

    Default Re: ATI Technologies Inc Radeon Xpress 1250 weird effect.

    I've tried the xorg.conf.d trick you provided and it seems to be better now. Instead of my whole screen garbled with artifacts, i now got two vertical bars in my screen wich show this behaviour. It leaves me with about 80% of good readable text, so i'll stick with that for a while 'till there's a better solution or fix.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •