Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22

Thread: Skype cannot find my new webcam!

  1. #1

    Default Skype cannot find my new webcam!

    I just got a Logitech c210 webcam, as from what I gathered this UVC cam/microphone device works with Linux ...

    However ... skype 2.1.0.47 can't seem to see my webcam when it's connected, even though it appears to be configured when plugged in, as the following output from dmesg shows:

    Code:
    [20227.480098] usb 2-1: new high speed USB device using ehci_hcd and address 6
    [20227.741045] usb 2-1: New USB device found, idVendor=046d, idProduct=0819
    [20227.741051] usb 2-1: New USB device strings: Mfr=0, Product=0, SerialNumber=2
    [20227.741055] usb 2-1: SerialNumber: 68C623D0
    [20227.741493] uvcvideo: Found UVC 1.00 device <unnamed> (046d:0819)
    [20227.842630] input: UVC Camera (046d:0819) as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1d.7/usb2/2-1/2-1:1.0/input/input17
    Can somebody tell me what might be going wrong here, and how I might fix it?

    EDIT: webkam seems to have no trouble utilizing it, thus this is clearly an issue with skype.
    Last edited by jwesleycooper; 09-Jul-2011 at 21:25. Reason: more info

  2. #2

    Default Re: Skype cannot find my new webcam!

    Also, my webcam's mic doesn't seem to work either ... or at least isn't being utilized by any apps. Some help here, please?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,193
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Skype cannot find my new webcam!

    See if this SDB:Skype - openSUSE helps.

    Sometimes, it is necessary to load the v4l library ahead of skype like this:

    Code:
    LD_PRELOAD=/usr/lib/libv4l/v4l1compat.so skype
    For 64-bit systems

    Code:
    LD_PRELOAD=/usr/lib/libv4l/v4l1compat.so skype
    There is some advice about configuring your audio system to cope with the webcam mic as well.
    Last edited by deano_ferrari; 09-Jul-2011 at 23:50.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    26,525
    Blog Entries
    37

    Default Re: Skype cannot find my new webcam!

    Quote Originally Posted by jwesleycooper View Post
    EDIT: webkam seems to have no trouble utilizing it, thus this is clearly an issue with skype.
    Most likely a problem with Skype.

    How did you install it ?

    Is your PC a 32-bit or 64-bit PC ?

    Note the commands provided by deano_ferrai to the best of my knowledge only work with webcams that use the gspca webcams and their driver, so if you find that works with the 'uvc' webcams I would be MOST interested in learning that.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    26,525
    Blog Entries
    37

    Default Re: Skype cannot find my new webcam!

    Quote Originally Posted by jwesleycooper View Post
    Also, my webcam's mic doesn't seem to work either ... or at least isn't being utilized by any apps. Some help here, please?
    I assume you do not have your mic working in any application. Is that correct ?

    As you probably know, there are dozens and dozens of different types of audio hardware. In order to help one with their mic, one needs to know a number of things, such as openSUSE version, alsa driver version, alsa driver apps installed, one's kernel version (where kernel provides alsa drivers), one's hardware details, one's mixer configuration details, etc ....

    I created a stickie with instructions as to how to find the needed information for support and what to post in a help thread. Please look here: Welcome to multimedia sub-area and look ONLY at the quoted information in that stickie. Please post everything that the quoted section says to post.

    Also, when testing one's mic, one should use a basic application such as arecord, in order to remove application misconfiguration issues from the testing. The command I recommend for that is:

    Code:
    arecord -vv -f cd test.wav
    and then stop the recording with < ctrl> < c > and then playback test.wav with a media application.

    IMHO when troubleshooting for a mic problem, only AFTER one has their mic working with such a basic application, should one then go on to troubleshooting with Skype

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    17,044

    Default Re: Skype cannot find my new webcam!

    On Sun, 10 Jul 2011 05:06:03 +0000, jwesleycooper wrote:

    > Also, my webcam's mic doesn't seem to work either ... or at least isn't
    > being utilized by any apps. Some help here, please?


    Assuming you have the v4l libraries installed, start skype with the
    command:

    LD_PRELOAD=/usr/lib/libv4l/v4l2convert.so skype

    This is a known issue and this workaround should get the camera working
    for you.

    Jim



    --
    Jim Henderson
    openSUSE Forums Administrator
    Forum Use Terms & Conditions at http://tinyurl.com/openSUSE-T-C

  7. #7

    Default Re: Skype cannot find my new webcam!

    Though I do have the needed libraries none of the LD_PRELOAD commands change anything ... and though pulseaudio indicates the mic is indeed receiving input and is not muted, aplay test.wav produces no audio output.

    Here's the output from arecord:

    Code:
    jwesleycooper@linux-twom:~> arecord -vv -f cd test.wav
    Recording WAVE 'test.wav' : Signed 16 bit Little Endian, Rate 44100 Hz, Stereo
    Plug PCM: Rate conversion PCM (48000, sformat=S32_LE)
    Converter: libspeex (builtin)
    Protocol version: 10002
    Its setup is:
      stream       : CAPTURE
      access       : RW_INTERLEAVED
      format       : S16_LE
      subformat    : STD
      channels     : 2
      rate         : 44100
      exact rate   : 44100 (44100/1)
      msbits       : 16
      buffer_size  : 15052
      period_size  : 940
      period_time  : 21333
      tstamp_mode  : NONE
      period_step  : 1
      avail_min    : 940
      period_event : 0
      start_threshold  : 1
      stop_threshold   : 15052
      silence_threshold: 0
      silence_size : 0
      boundary     : 986447872
    Slave: Soft volume PCM
    Control: Digital Capture Volume
    min_dB: -30
    max_dB: 30
    resolution: 121
    Its setup is:
      stream       : CAPTURE
      access       : MMAP_INTERLEAVED
      format       : S32_LE
      subformat    : STD
      channels     : 2
      rate         : 48000
      exact rate   : 48000 (48000/1)
      msbits       : 32
      buffer_size  : 16384
      period_size  : 1024
      period_time  : 21333
      tstamp_mode  : NONE
      period_step  : 1
      avail_min    : 1024
      period_event : 0
      start_threshold  : 1
      stop_threshold   : 16384
      silence_threshold: 0
      silence_size : 0
      boundary     : 1073741824
    Slave: Direct Snoop PCM
    Its setup is:
      stream       : CAPTURE
      access       : MMAP_INTERLEAVED
      format       : S32_LE
      subformat    : STD
      channels     : 2
      rate         : 48000
      exact rate   : 48000 (48000/1)
      msbits       : 32
      buffer_size  : 16384
      period_size  : 1024
      period_time  : 21333
      tstamp_mode  : NONE
      period_step  : 1
      avail_min    : 1024
      period_event : 0
      start_threshold  : 1
      stop_threshold   : 16384
      silence_threshold: 0
      silence_size : 0
      boundary     : 1073741824
    Hardware PCM card 0 'HDA Intel' device 0 subdevice 0
    Its setup is:
      stream       : CAPTURE
      access       : MMAP_INTERLEAVED
      format       : S32_LE
      subformat    : STD
      channels     : 2
      rate         : 48000
      exact rate   : 48000 (48000/1)
      msbits       : 32
      buffer_size  : 16384
      period_size  : 1024
      period_time  : 21333
      tstamp_mode  : ENABLE
      period_step  : 1
      avail_min    : 1024
      period_event : 0
      start_threshold  : 1
      stop_threshold   : 1073741824
      silence_threshold: 0
      silence_size : 0
      boundary     : 1073741824
      appl_ptr     : 0
      hw_ptr       : 1025
    #+                                                 | 00%^C
    Aborted by signal Interrupt...
    Oh yes, I installed skype from the opensuse repos via yast, and I'm on a 32-bit system

    Also ... Pastebin for alsa-info.sh: upload=true&script=true&cardinfo= !!################################ !!ALSA In - Pastebin.com

    ... and the remaining output requested by oldcpu:

    Code:
    jwesleycooper@linux-twom:~> rpm -qa '*alsa*'
    alsa-plugins-pulse-1.0.24-6.1.i586
    alsa-1.0.24.1-4.7.1.i586
    alsa-utils-1.0.24.2-3.1.i586
    alsa-plugins-1.0.24-6.1.i586
    alsa-devel-1.0.24.1-4.7.1.i586
    alsa-oss-1.0.17-32.1.i586
    jwesleycooper@linux-twom:~> rpm -qa '*pulse*'
    alsa-plugins-pulse-1.0.24-6.1.i586
    pulseaudio-module-bluetooth-0.9.22-6.11.1.i586
    pulseaudio-utils-0.9.22-6.11.1.i586
    libxine1-pulse-1.1.19-4.4.i586
    libpulse-mainloop-glib0-0.9.22-6.11.1.i586
    libpulse0-0.9.22-6.11.1.i586
    pulseaudio-module-zeroconf-0.9.22-6.11.1.i586
    pulseaudio-module-x11-0.9.22-6.11.1.i586
    pulseaudio-module-lirc-0.9.22-6.11.1.i586
    libpulse-browse0-0.9.22-6.11.1.i586
    pulseaudio-module-jack-0.9.22-6.11.1.i586
    pulseaudio-0.9.22-6.11.1.i586
    jwesleycooper@linux-twom:~> rpm -q libasound2
    libasound2-1.0.24.1-4.7.1.i586
    jwesleycooper@linux-twom:~> uname -a
    Linux linux-twom.site 2.6.37.6-0.5-desktop #1 SMP PREEMPT 2011-04-25 21:48:33 +0200 i686 i686 i386 GNU/Linux
    jwesleycooper@linux-twom:~> cat /etc/modprobe.d/50-sound.conf
    
    options snd slots=snd-hda-intel
    # u1Nb.fZ+FGOqHolB:82801I (ICH9 Family) HD Audio Controller
    alias snd-card-0 snd-hda-intel

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    26,525
    Blog Entries
    37

    Default Re: Skype cannot find my new webcam!

    Quote Originally Posted by jwesleycooper View Post
    Though I do have the needed libraries none of the LD_PRELOAD commands change anything ...
    I would have been VERY surprised had that worked. As I noted above, that command is for gspca webcams which yours is NOT. Your webcam is a uvc webcam and hence that command is simply not appropriate. So don't be surprised there. If it had worked it would have been a major surprise.

    I am suspicious of your skype install. I recommend you send the following commands with your Dell connected to the internet (with root permissions) which will remove skype and then re-install it:
    Code:
    rpm -e skype
    zypper ar http://download.opensuse.org/repositories/home:/broumbroum23/openSUSE_11.4 skyperepos
    zypper in skype
    zypper rr skyperepos
    and then try skype.

    That installs a slightly older version of skype and if that can be made to work then it should be easy to update to a newer skype version.

    Reference your webcam mic, I note this from the diagnostic script that you ran for me:

    Code:
    Simple mixer control 'Digital',0
      Capabilities: cvolume penum
      Capture channels: Front Left - Front Right
      Limits: Capture 0 - 120
      Front Left: Capture 0 [0%] [-30.00dB]
      Front Right: Capture 0 [0%] [-30.00dB]
    A webcam mic can be the digital mic, and you have that muted ! So move up the digital mic capture to 80% or so, and then backoff if capture works and it is too noisy.

    I also note this from the diagnostic script that you ran for me:
    Code:
    ARECORD
     
    **** List of CAPTURE Hardware Devices ****
    card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 0: STAC92xx Analog [STAC92xx Analog]
      Subdevices: 2/2
      Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
      Subdevice #1: subdevice #1
    card 1: U0x46d0x819 [USB Device 0x46d:0x819], device 0: USB Audio [USB Audio]
      Subdevices: 1/1
      Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
    and that tells us that hw:0,0 is your motherboard mic and tells us that hw:1,0 is your webcam mic.

    So lets run the arecord command and specify EXACTLY what mic (the webcam mic in this case) that you want to record from:
    Code:
    arecord -D hw:1,0 -vv -f cd test.wav
    and you can stop that by pressing <CTRL><C> and play back test.wav with a media player.

    I also recommend you install the pulse audio volume control 'pavucontrol' and run 'pavucontrol' the first time you run any multimedia application so as to tune pulse audio for that multimedia application. It is IMPORTANT that in pavucontrol under the Input Devices TAB that you have SHOW for 'all input devices' and under the RECORDING tab you have selected under SHOW 'all streams'.

    I also note your hardware has a 92HD81B1C5 hardware audio codec. I am not familiar with that hardware. I note the HD-Audio-Models.txt file there are options for a 92HD71*, 92HD72, 92HD73*, ad 92HD83*, but no entry for a 92HD81* . Lets hope that does not matter.

  9. #9

    Default Re: Skype cannot find my new webcam!

    Quote Originally Posted by oldcpu View Post
    I would have been VERY surprised had that worked. As I noted above, that command is for gspca webcams which yours is NOT. Your webcam is a uvc webcam and hence that command is simply not appropriate. So don't be surprised there. If it had worked it would have been a major surprise.

    I am suspicious of your skype install. I recommend you send the following commands with your Dell connected to the internet (with root permissions) which will remove skype and then re-install it:
    Code:
    rpm -e skype
    zypper ar http://download.opensuse.org/repositories/home:/broumbroum23/openSUSE_11.4 skyperepos
    zypper in skype
    zypper rr skyperepos
    and then try skype.

    That installs a slightly older version of skype and if that can be made to work then it should be easy to update to a newer skype version.
    Just tried that, no joy.

    Quote Originally Posted by oldcpu View Post
    Reference your webcam mic, I note this from the diagnostic script that you ran for me:

    Code:
    Simple mixer control 'Digital',0
      Capabilities: cvolume penum
      Capture channels: Front Left - Front Right
      Limits: Capture 0 - 120
      Front Left: Capture 0 [0%] [-30.00dB]
      Front Right: Capture 0 [0%] [-30.00dB]
    A webcam mic can be the digital mic, and you have that muted ! So move up the digital mic capture to 80% or so, and then backoff if capture works and it is too noisy.
    Um, stupid question: how do I do that? Can't find an obvious entry for it in any of the mixer controls ...

    Quote Originally Posted by oldcpu View Post
    I also note this from the diagnostic script that you ran for me:
    Code:
    ARECORD
     
    **** List of CAPTURE Hardware Devices ****
    card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 0: STAC92xx Analog [STAC92xx Analog]
      Subdevices: 2/2
      Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
      Subdevice #1: subdevice #1
    card 1: U0x46d0x819 [USB Device 0x46d:0x819], device 0: USB Audio [USB Audio]
      Subdevices: 1/1
      Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
    and that tells us that hw:0,0 is your motherboard mic and tells us that hw:1,0 is your webcam mic.

    So lets run the arecord command and specify EXACTLY what mic (the webcam mic in this case) that you want to record from:
    Code:
    arecord -D hw:1,0 -vv -f cd test.wav
    and you can stop that by pressing <CTRL><C> and play back test.wav with a media player.

    I also recommend you install the pulse audio volume control 'pavucontrol' and run 'pavucontrol' the first time you run any multimedia application so as to tune pulse audio for that multimedia application. It is IMPORTANT that in pavucontrol under the Input Devices TAB that you have SHOW for 'all input devices' and under the RECORDING tab you have selected under SHOW 'all streams'.

    I also note your hardware has a 92HD81B1C5 hardware audio codec. I am not familiar with that hardware. I note the HD-Audio-Models.txt file there are options for a 92HD71*, 92HD72, 92HD73*, ad 92HD83*, but no entry for a 92HD81* . Lets hope that does not matter.
    The result of the suggested arecord command:

    Code:
    jwesleycooper@linux-twom:~> arecord -D hw:1,0 -vv -f cd test.wav
    Recording WAVE 'test.wav' : Signed 16 bit Little Endian, Rate 44100 Hz, Stereo
    arecord: set_params:1065: Channels count non available
    ... any idea why that's happening?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    26,525
    Blog Entries
    37

    Default Re: Skype cannot find my new webcam!

    Quote Originally Posted by jwesleycooper View Post
    Just tried that, no joy.
    Sorry to read of your frustation, and my apologies, but 'no joy' is not helpful when trying to help you. Did you run skype from a terminal ? And when trying to configure the webcam in the skype menu, did any messages show up in the terminal ?

    Did you try to remove any of the skype configuration files so as to start with a clean slate ... ie rename /home/yourusername/.Skype to .Skype-backup and restart and configure Skype.

    Quote Originally Posted by jwesleycooper View Post
    Um, stupid question: how do I do that? Can't find an obvious entry for it in any of the mixer controls ...
    Did you try 'pavucontrol' like I recommended ?

    Some openSUSE-11.4 KDE users install the xfce-mixer because they are unhappy with kmix. You can also use the amixer command with the appropriate arguments. Type:
    Code:
    man amixer
    for instructions on how to use amixer.


    Quote Originally Posted by jwesleycooper View Post
    The result of the suggested arecord command:

    Code:
    jwesleycooper@linux-twom:~> arecord -D hw:1,0 -vv -f cd test.wav
    Recording WAVE 'test.wav' : Signed 16 bit Little Endian, Rate 44100 Hz, Stereo
    arecord: set_params:1065: Channels count non available
    ... any idea why that's happening?
    Is this an integrated webcam ? Or is it an external webcam ?

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •