Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Kmail to many quotes

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    netherlands
    Posts
    582

    Default Kmail to many quotes

    When I want to answer a mail I see to many quotes something like this how is that possible:

    > > > >
    > > > >
    > > > > Sent: Thursday, June 16, 2011 9:38 PM
    > > > >
    > > > >
    > > > >
    > > > >
    > > > >
    > > > >
    > > > >
    > > > > Subject: align 3g
    > > > >
    > > > >
    > > > >
    > > > >
    > > > >
    > > > >
    > > > >
    > > > >
    > > > >
    > > > >
    > > > >
    > > > >
    > > > >
    > > > >
    > > > >
    > > > >

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Earth - Denmark
    Posts
    10,730

    Default Re: Kmail to many quotes

    On 06/25/2011 11:36 PM, anton wrote:

    > When I want to answer a mail I see to many quotes something like this
    > how is that possible:
    >
    > > > >
    > > > >
    > > > > Sent: Thursday, June 16, 2011 9:38 PM


    i've never used KMail, but many mail clients allow the user to set their
    desired quote mark...so, to solve this problem i'd begin by looking in
    KMail's set up to see if maybe the below is set as its way to mark
    quoted passages:


    > > >
    and, if it is: change it to


    >
    --
    DD
    -Caveat-Hardware-Software-

    25 June: Sunrise 4:38 AM, Sunset 10:12 PM

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    24,871

    Default Re: Kmail to many quotes

    And it wouldn't be bad to tell which openSUSE level, which KDE level and in this case of course which Kmail level.

    How do you think we can make any statement about an very very unknown level of a piece of software. We can then possibly only say: "I do not have that problem".
    Henk van Velden

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    netherlands
    Posts
    582

    Default Re: Kmail to many quotes

    openSUSE 11.4 x86_64
    KDE 4.4

    I thought you could find it in my profile !!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Earth - Denmark
    Posts
    10,730

    Default Re: Kmail to many quotes

    On 07/15/2011 02:06 PM, anton wrote:
    > I thought you could find it in my profile !!


    not all folks will go off looking for info that they expect to be given
    along with the question....there are about 5000 question makers here and
    less than 50 answer makers...so, provide the needed info with the
    question if you want the answer..


    in almost every email client i've seen the user could select the quote
    marker..

    apparently yours is currently set to

    Code:
    
    > > >
    so, change it to

    Code:
    
    >
    --
    DD
    Caveat-Hardware-Software
    openSUSE®, the BMW® of operating systems!


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    netherlands
    Posts
    582

    Default Re: Kmail to many quotes

    Just forget to mention it normally I always do.
    Most forums use a caption or underline.

    The quote marker change did not solve the problem.
    I still get additional lines

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    1,529

    Default Re: Kmail to many quotes

    I still get additional lines
    ... which are produced by some stupid mail clients on the other side. You can use procmail to pipe mail messages through some script to eliminate multiple blank lines.
    Technology is 'stuff that doesn't work yet.' -- Bran Ferren

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    netherlands
    Posts
    582

    Default Re: Kmail to many quotes

    Ok problem is then @home.nl

    Can I use procmail with kmail ?
    Thanks.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Earth - Denmark
    Posts
    10,730

    Default Re: Kmail to many quotes

    On 07/15/2011 04:06 PM, anton wrote:
    > Just forget to mention it normally I always do.
    > Most forums use a caption or underline.


    you can add the most often needed info to your sig..

    > The quote marker change did not solve the problem.
    > I still get additional lines


    then you need to ask yourself why yours does that and no one else is
    having that problem...

    try this:
    -use YaST to add a new test user
    -log out as yourself
    -log back in as the new test user
    -check to see if the same problem is seen as the new user
    -if also seen as the new user then you have a system wide problem
    -if it is not, then the problem is in the configs in your /home
    -using a tool like diff you might be able to find and fix the config
    -or, it may be easier to just migrate to the new user's /home
    -let us know what you find and maybe we can help more...

    --
    DD
    Caveat-Hardware-Software
    openSUSE®, the BMW® of operating systems!


  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    1,529

    Default Re: Kmail to many quotes

    Can I use procmail with kmail ?
    Where do you fetch your mail from? And how?

    Usually mail is piped through procmail before it is seen by any client.
    Technology is 'stuff that doesn't work yet.' -- Bran Ferren

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •