Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: how to get vmware player?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Tbilisi, Georgia.
    Posts
    44

    Default how to get vmware player?

    Hi everyone.

    I'm running OpenSUSE 11.4 x86 with KDE 4.6 and kernel version 2.6.37.6-0.5. I'm not advanced linux user, though I'm trying to use it occasionally for getting more experience. Now I want to check which of the virtualization software suits me better, I've already tried VirtualBox and now I want to try VMware. I know that it has a lot of products, but for just home use I guess that I need only player. So, when I try to find it through my default repositories, I just was able to find this vmware-guest-kmp-default . I don't know what is it, so I tried to search through the OpenSUSE Build Service, but there's also no player package. I've already downloaded the source from the official site and yes, I do know how to built binaries from the source, but I know also, that after installing in a such way, it would be difficult for the package manager to track the software, as it's not rpm. So I want to ask you first, if you know any other way, to get the RPM package of the VMware Player from any suse repository.

    Thanks fro helping me in advance.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,654

    Default Re: how to get vmware player?

    What you downloaded from vmware is not the source, it is the binary
    installer, it contains some parts which are built because it has to build
    kernel modules to work, but all the rest is binary and proprietary. That is
    the reason there is no package for it, it is no free open source software it
    is just gratis but not free. Virtual Box is open source and free.

    --
    PC: oS 11.3 64 bit | Intel Core2 Quad Q8300@2.50GHz | KDE 4.6.4 | GeForce
    9600 GT | 4GB Ram
    Eee PC 1201n: oS 11.4 64 bit | Intel Atom 330@1.60GHz | KDE 4.6.4 | nVidia
    ION | 3GB Ram

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Tbilisi, Georgia.
    Posts
    44

    Default Re: how to get vmware player?

    Are you sure about open source? I mean, what I've downloaded was called: "VMware workstation ACE, and Player Open source" here's a link VMware Player 3.0 and now, I've extracted the tar file and I see inside folders containing the C files (I mean a source code). And also I decided to install just only player, as I knew that it was the only free product from VMware I know that VirtualBox is a free, but it lacks some of the features (like drug and drop from host to guest), also I know that VMware has the longer experience and I also had trouble with USB port mapping with VirtualBox, I even installed the additional plugin from oracle (which is freeware only for home use and was designed for getting better USB support, but it didn't help me). Sooo, anyway, I just want to try this product also. Well, I'll will try to build this package and will see what happens. Thanks for reply buddy. I still remember your help with my video adapter issue

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,654

    Default Re: how to get vmware player?

    Yes I am sure, the download type is "Product binaries" the FAQ tells you
    more http://www.vmware.com/products/player/faqs.html
    Can I redistribute VMware Player?

    Yes, with permission. If you are interested in redistributing VMware
    Player, please apply here.
    And also have a look at the EULA
    http://www.vmware.com/download/eula/player3.html

    --
    PC: oS 11.3 64 bit | Intel Core2 Quad Q8300@2.50GHz | KDE 4.6.4 | GeForce
    9600 GT | 4GB Ram
    Eee PC 1201n: oS 11.4 64 bit | Intel Atom 330@1.60GHz | KDE 4.6.4 | nVidia
    ION | 3GB Ram

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Tbilisi, Georgia.
    Posts
    44

    Default Re: how to get vmware player?

    Yea, now I understand. I guess, the archive I've downloaded is just a package of additional tools and the player itself is not included. You see, the name made me wrong decision, as it was called "VMware workstation ACE, and Player Open source", so I thought that I was downloading both workstation and player as entirely free software. I thought that it was something like chrome project, like chrome is closed source, while chromium is open. Now it's clear for me, that I've downloaded only package of tools and nothing more and even more, while I was trying to compile it, doing ./configure it demands a lot of extra packages to install (which I installed, but it gives me an error massage that it could not find one of the packages, which I have installed for sure!). So, i can say, that my experience with VMware is not what I wanted to be O.K. I'll try to manage my issue with USB ports on my virtualbox. Thank you very much for helping.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    17,039

    Default Re: how to get vmware player?

    On Sat, 25 Jun 2011 16:35:24 +0000, martin_helm wrote:

    > Yes I am sure, the download type is "Product binaries" the FAQ tells you
    > more http://www.vmware.com/products/player/faqs.html
    > Can I redistribute VMware Player?
    >
    > Yes, with permission. If you are interested in redistributing VMware
    > Player, please apply here.
    >
    > And also have a look at the EULA
    > http://www.vmware.com/download/eula/player3.html


    The last time I heard, redistribution was pretty involved, though -
    apparently VMware doesn't (or didn't) want people redistributing old
    versions of player, so anytime they update player, you are required to
    update your product to use the latest version.

    We looked at that when I was in Novell Training, and decided instead to
    direct people to download the product from VMware's website, since every
    time they changed, we'd have to have gone through the internal product
    processes, potentially generate new SKUs, etc - way too much work for all
    the courses we were looking at using it for.

    VMware might've changed the requirements since then, though.

    Jim

    --
    Jim Henderson
    openSUSE Forums Administrator
    Forum Use Terms & Conditions at http://tinyurl.com/openSUSE-T-C

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Tbilisi, Georgia.
    Posts
    44

    Default Re: how to get vmware player?

    O.K. I understand now, that the name of that package ("VMware workstation ACE, and Player Open source") made me wrong decision. I thought that I was downloading the entire source code of both products workstation and player But now it's clear for me, that I've downloaded just some extra tools for player. Anyway, I even was unable to compile these packages, while I was doing ./configure it gave me error massage as it couldn't find one of the packages it needed and which I have installed FOR SURE! So, my experience with VMware was not so good as I wanted.

    Alright, I'll go back to VirtualBox and will try to fix the problem with USB Flash Drive. Thank you very much.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: how to get vmware player?

    On 2011-06-25 21:06, vojd wrote:
    >
    > O.K. I understand now, that the name of that package ("VMware
    > workstation ACE, and Player Open source") made me wrong decision. I
    > thought that I was downloading the entire source code of both products
    > workstation and player But now it's clear for me, that I've
    > downloaded just some extra tools for player.


    which you do not need.

    Use vmplayer, forget the above source tools - till you really have reasons
    to use them.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.4 x86_64 "Celadon" at Telcontar)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Tbilisi, Georgia.
    Posts
    44

    Default Re: how to get vmware player?

    Thanks everyone one more time for replying me. By this time I've managed to solve the issue with USB port mapping in VirtualBox. I've completely uninstalled the current version (from Suse repository), Downloded the official version from Oracle and installed it's extension also and now I'm able to see my USB Flash Drive in guest host's my Computer (in Windows XP). So, now I think I can stick with VirtualBox as I have no more issues with it.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •