Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: YaST Software Management pauses Running SuSEConfig.gtk2

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Earth - Denmark
    Posts
    10,730

    Default YaST Software Management pauses Running SuSEConfig.gtk2

    used to (before 11.4) i never noticed a slowdown or pause in that YaST
    install process _just_ before it finishes, when it updates a long list
    of config files (in /sbin/conf.d/)...before it just _ran_ through them
    all...quickly producing a list like:

    Running SuSEconfig.fonts
    Running SuSEconfig.glib2
    Running SuSEconfig.froff
    Running SuSEconfig.gtk2
    Running SuSEconfig.ispell
    Running SuSEconfig. etc etc etc


    now, when it get to SuSEconfig.gtk2 it just sits there (with the wait
    cursor running) for maybe 15 seconds (i have not timed it) and then goes
    on and _flies_ through all the others..

    i look inside that .gtk2 file and it see it is running a desktop update...

    and, i wonder why the pause _now_ ??

    i guess it might be because this is the first time i have not installed
    the 'pattern' for GNOME Desktop Environment _or_ GNOME Base System
    (along with KDE, my preferred DE)....could that be the 'problem' is it
    is looking for gtk2 desktop stuff to update, can't find any and just
    keeps looking and looking until it times out???

    anyone think of an answer? or, should i write a bug on it?

    --
    DD
    Caveat
    Hardware
    [url=http://tinyurl.com/DD-Software]Software[/ul]
    23 June: Sunrise 4:36 AM, Sunset 10:03 PM

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    12,493
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: YaST Software Management pauses Running SuSEConfig.gtk2

    I have noticed the delay, but never paid serious attention to it.

    When I install new application, they seem to immediately show up in the appropriate menu categories. I assume this step is taking care of making that work for gtk applications.

    I currently have gnome installed on one box (as well as KDE). The next time I do something in Yast on that box, I'll watch to see if the gtk step is faster there.
    openSUSE Leap 15.1; KDE Plasma 5;
    testing Leap 15.2Alpha

  3. #3

    Default Re: YaST Software Management pauses Running SuSEConfig.gtk2

    Quote Originally Posted by DenverD View Post
    now, when it get to SuSEconfig.gtk2 it just sits there (with the wait
    cursor running) for maybe 15 seconds (i have not timed it) and then goes
    on and _flies_ through all the others..
    ...while it is 'waiting', you may notice that the disk is busy...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Earth - Denmark
    Posts
    10,730

    Default Re: YaST Software Management pauses Running SuSEConfig.gtk2

    On 06/24/2011 01:36 PM, hnimmo wrote:
    >
    > ..while it is 'waiting', you may notice that the disk is busy...


    well yes, thanks for writing, it is in fact 'working' on the hard
    drive...but the question is:

    why didn't it do that so long in openSUSE 11.3 and before...always
    before there was nothing different between the gtk2 and all the others
    they just RAN (quickly), all of them..

    what is it looking for _now_ that it didn't before? (my theory is that
    since i have no gnome installed it is looking looking looking looking
    looking looking for gtk2 stuff and not finding over and over until a
    timer says: Stop looking!!)

    maybe i will add the gnome basic pattern and see if flies through again..

    --
    DD
    Caveat
    Hardware
    Software
    24 June: Sunrise 4:36 AM, Sunset 10:03 PM

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    12,493
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: YaST Software Management pauses Running SuSEConfig.gtk2

    I just ran online updates on my system that has gnome installed.

    In the following update configuration, there was a lengthy pause during SuSEConfig.gtk2 (with considerable disk activity).
    openSUSE Leap 15.1; KDE Plasma 5;
    testing Leap 15.2Alpha

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Earth - Denmark
    Posts
    10,730

    Default Re: YaST Software Management pauses Running SuSEConfig.gtk2

    On 06/24/2011 05:36 PM, nrickert wrote:
    > there was a lengthy pause during SuSEConfig.gtk2 (with considerable disk activity).


    do you recall if it was that way when using 11.3 or prior?

    --
    DD
    Caveat
    Hardware
    Software
    24 June: Sunrise 4:36 AM, Sunset 10:03 PM

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    12,493
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: YaST Software Management pauses Running SuSEConfig.gtk2

    Quote Originally Posted by DenverD View Post
    do you recall if it was that way when using 11.3 or prior?
    I no longer have an 11.3 system to check.

    To the best of my memory, there were noticeable pauses. But I never paid attention to where they occurred.
    openSUSE Leap 15.1; KDE Plasma 5;
    testing Leap 15.2Alpha

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Bay Area, California
    Posts
    343

    Default Re: YaST Software Management pauses Running SuSEConfig.gtk2

    I believe that I have gotten a pause in that same place as far back as 10.0 (my first) and with every release I've used since. I completely missed out on 11.2 and 11.3. It would really just sit there for a few seconds. It almost felt like it was hanging and I wondered what it was, but in the end just assumed it was normal .

    It may not have always done it, or at perhaps it was to varying degrees. It seems as though the more you have installed in your system the longer the pause is...?

    Maybe it's just writing a large configuration file.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Earth - Denmark
    Posts
    10,730

    Default Re: YaST Software Management pauses Running SuSEConfig.gtk2

    On 06/24/2011 07:36 PM, Scott Swinyard wrote:
    >
    > I believe that I have gotten a pause in that same place as far back as
    > 10.0


    ok, maybe i just miss-remembered that they all ran quickly..

    haha! i have a disk with 10.3 on it...i'll see if i can lash together a
    Frankenstein to boot it! (when i find a roundtoit)

    --
    DD
    Caveat
    Hardware
    Software
    24 June: Sunrise 4:36 AM, Sunset 10:03 PM

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Bay Area, California
    Posts
    343

    Default Re: YaST Software Management pauses Running SuSEConfig.gtk2

    Actually I just checked here in 11.4 and it doesn't seem to be doing it. Whoops.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •