Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: updater hiding problem

  1. #1

    Default updater hiding problem

    I just installed openSuse11.04 [gnome DE] on a VB Ubuntu 10.10 host
    I'm try to update, a list of additional dependencies comes up
    Even after moving I can't get it high enough on the screen to click OK
    Help?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Earth - Denmark
    Posts
    10,730

    Default Re: updater hiding problem

    On 06/15/2011 04:36 PM, Garthhh wrote:
    >
    > Even after moving I can't get it high enough on the screen to click OK


    -move the mouse cursor over the window
    -hold down Alt
    -press and hold down the left click
    -move 'grabbed' window in the desired direction
    -repeat until the button you need is visible..

    *or* use zypper to update

    --
    dd
    http://is.gd/bpoMD

  3. #3

    Default Re: updater hiding problem

    alt>leftclick
    doesn't let me grab

    I unchecked 43 updates so I could move the popup far enough to confirm
    & then 20
    looks like a bug to me

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    12,895
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: updater hiding problem

    Quote Originally Posted by Garthhh View Post
    I just installed openSuse11.04 [gnome DE] on a VB Ubuntu 10.10 host
    I'm try to update, a list of additional dependencies comes up
    Even after moving I can't get it high enough on the screen to click OK
    Help?
    I had that problem.

    Fortunately, I have a wide enough screen. So I went to the controls to rotate my screen 90 degrees. Then I somehow managed to click the button. Moving the mouse that way is very unnatural.

    The next time the updater came up, the list was smaller, and I could get to the button without having to rotate the screen. There was also an option "don't show this screen again". I used that, and have not been bothered with the problem since then.

    Other alternatives:

    Use online update in Yast. Unfortunately, the updater shows some packages that don't show up in online update, so that did not shorten the screen enough for me to be able to fix things on the next try.

    Or, install KDE. Run the updates with Kpackagekit which, for all of its problems, doesn't have that one that shows up in gnome. If you can get the updates done, then at a future time with few updates, you will be able to turn off that screen in the gnome updater.
    openSUSE Leap 15.1; KDE Plasma 5;
    testing Leap 15.2Alpha

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Earth - Denmark
    Posts
    10,730

    Default Re: updater hiding problem

    On 06/15/2011 07:36 PM, Garthhh wrote:
    >
    > alt>leftclick
    > doesn't let me grab


    sorry, i didn't know gnome was so deficient.



    > looks like a bug to me


    and, you should log the bug, please begin here: http://tinyurl.com/nzhq7j


    --
    dd
    http://is.gd/bpoMD

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,654

    Default Re: updater hiding problem

    DenverD wrote:

    > On 06/15/2011 07:36 PM, Garthhh wrote:
    >>
    >> alt>leftclick
    >> doesn't let me grab

    >
    > sorry, i didn't know gnome was so deficient.
    >

    it works in gnome, I checked that it works now on three machines:
    pure gnome 2.32 oS 11.4 (my wife's laptop)
    gnome 2.32 (but also kde installed) my Eee PC (see below)
    gnome 2.32 (but also kde installed) on my 11.3 PC (see below)

    and the [ALT] + left mouse press + move works on all of them in gnome, so I
    doubt this is a bug, but something is wrong in Garthhh's gnome configuration
    or installation

    --
    PC: oS 11.3 64 bit | Intel Core2 Quad Q8300@2.50GHz | KDE 4.6.3 | GeForce
    9600 GT | 4GB Ram
    Eee PC 1201n: oS 11.4 64 bit | Intel Atom 330@1.60GHz | KDE 4.6.3 | nVidia
    ION | 3GB Ram

  7. #7

    Default Re: updater hiding problem

    alt+left
    does in fact work on both my ubuntu 10.10 machines
    not working on any of the virtual machines, so it's particular to my Virtual Box configuration


    I did figure a work around on my update problem, by doing it in smaller chunks
    I'm distro & DE shopping Unity is not working for me [I don't like it]. overall as I learn more about Linux I'm less impressed with Ubuntu

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Earth - Denmark
    Posts
    10,730

    Default Re: updater hiding problem

    On 06/16/2011 01:06 AM, Garthhh wrote:
    >
    > so it's particular to my Virtual Box configuration


    so, it sounds like a VB bug, huh?
    filed it yet?

    --
    dd
    http://is.gd/bpoMD

  9. #9

    Default Re: updater hiding problem

    I don't know if it's a bug or not
    there are limitations to VB's
    I've been busy working on Osuse & a detour for a buggy ISO for gnome3 on ubun

    It's certainly less than optimal that the updater will overflow the screen for the 1st update
    so far I have not found OSuse to be very user friendly. Forcing me on to a terminal [which is buried] to install chromium, the stable chrome in the software installer [repository] is broken

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Earth - Denmark
    Posts
    10,730

    Default Re: updater hiding problem

    On 06/16/2011 09:06 AM, Garthhh wrote:
    >
    > so far I have not found OSuse to be very user friendly.


    heh! it is perfectly userfriendly to me...since i am used to it...i
    tried *buntu and found _it_ not user friendly--WAIT, no it was just
    something different that i wasn't used to.


    > Forcing me on to a terminal [which is buried]


    where do you expect to find one?
    type Alt+F2 and type xterm enter

    or, type Ctrl+Alt+Fn (where n=1 to 6) and then press Ctrl+Alt+F7 to
    return to the GUI

    or, go Menu > System > Terminal

    or, _put_ a terminal icon where you want/expect it..

    personally i prefer Yakuake which drops down from the top of the screen
    with an F12 push (and, hides with another F12), install with YaST and
    go...oh wait, that is for KDE, well if you have the kde basics
    installed, it should work....OH try guake


    > to install chromium, the stable chrome
    > in the software installer [repository] is broken


    really? i don't now find a Chrome browser in any openSUSE repos, so i
    wonder where you found a broken one..

    i'm running "google-chrome-stable 11.0.696.68-84545" which i think i
    installed by clicking on download at the Google download site and then
    specifying to use "Install/Remove Software" (which is YaST) and it works
    (no hidden terminal 'forced' on me)..

    its just a matter of learning your way around in a new system..

    anyway, we say: Have a lot of fun.

    --
    dd
    http://is.gd/bpoMD

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •