Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Display will not hold 1280 x 1024 on Boot, through primary screen

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Central Texas, in the sticks
    Posts
    148

    Default Display will not hold 1280 x 1024 on Boot, through primary screen

    Display will not hold 1280 x 1024 dpi. Smaller than normal on splash screen, then full screen at 800 x 600 for login page and primary pages. I go to the Display manager under tools "Configure Desktop" change it to 1280 x 1024. it prompts to accept I do, then hit the apply button and changes to correct screen. When I close down goes back to previous settings. Can't figure out why they are not holding. Any ideas where to look to fix?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Central Texas, in the sticks
    Posts
    148

    Default Re: Display will not hold 1280 x 1024 on Boot, through primary screen

    Quote Originally Posted by cherock1254 View Post
    Display will not hold 1280 x 1024 dpi. Smaller than normal on splash screen, then full screen at 800 x 600 for login page and primary pages. I go to the Display manager under tools "Configure Desktop" change it to 1280 x 1024. it prompts to accept I do, then hit the apply button and changes to correct screen. When I close down goes back to previous settings. Can't figure out why they are not holding. Any ideas where to look to fix?
    I also don't have VGA mode anymore. The Displays are only one for this machine. I have DVI-1-1 Disabled and DVI-1-2 which defaults to 1024 x764 instead of the 1280 x 1024 (Auto) that shows in the drop down box. I believe I still have a VGA cable to the card too. ODD, ODD, ODD.... Wondering if this might be the problem.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    23,700
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Display will not hold 1280 x 1024 on Boot, through primary screen

    I go to the Display manager under tools "Configure Desktop" change it to 1280 x 1024. it prompts to accept I do, then hit the apply button and changes to correct screen. When I close down goes back to previous settings. Can't figure out why they are not holding. Any ideas where to look to fix?
    1. Which desktop are you using?
    2. What graphics hardware (and driver) do you have?
    Code:
    /usr/sbin/hwinfo --gfxcard

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Central Texas, in the sticks
    Posts
    148

    Default Re: Display will not hold 1280 x 1024 on Boot, through primary screen

    KDE Only.

    cherock@linux-114:~> /usr/sbin/hwinfo --gfxcard
    21: PCI 100.0: 0300 VGA compatible controller (VGA)
    [Created at pci.318]
    Unique ID: VCu0.zdXkI26bQTE
    Parent ID: vSkL.iscUv9+lfHB
    SysFS ID: /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:01.0/0000:01:00.0
    SysFS BusID: 0000:01:00.0
    Hardware Class: graphics card
    Model: "nVidia GeForce 7600 GT"
    Vendor: pci 0x10de "nVidia Corporation"
    Device: pci 0x0391 "GeForce 7600 GT"
    SubVendor: pci 0x3842 "eVga.com. Corp."
    SubDevice: pci 0xc554
    Revision: 0xa1
    Driver: "nouveau"
    Driver Modules: "drm"
    Memory Range: 0xed000000-0xedffffff (rw,non-prefetchable)
    Memory Range: 0xd0000000-0xdfffffff (ro,non-prefetchable)
    Memory Range: 0xee000000-0xeeffffff (rw,non-prefetchable)
    I/O Ports: 0xdc80-0xdcff (rw)
    Memory Range: 0xefe00000-0xefe1ffff (ro,non-prefetchable,disabled)
    IRQ: 16 (4 events)
    I/O Ports: 0x3c0-0x3e7 (rw)
    Module Alias: "pci:v000010DEd00000391sv00003842sd0000C554bc03sc00i00"
    Driver Info #0:
    XFree86 v4 Server Module: nv
    Driver Info #1:
    XFree86 v4 Server Module: nvidia
    3D Support: yes
    Config Status: cfg=no, avail=yes, need=no, active=unknown
    Attached to: #8 (PCI bridge)

    Primary display adapter: #21

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    23,700
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Display will not hold 1280 x 1024 on Boot, through primary screen

    Ok, it appears you're using the open-source nouveau driver, is that correct? You may want to try installing the nvidia driver instead. (It can cope better with different display devices).

    SDB:NVIDIA drivers - openSUSE

    However, if you want to stay with the nouveau driver, then maybe a minimal config adjustment will work. First adjust /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/50-monitor.conf (by uncommenting the horizontal sync and vertical refresh timings). You'll need to be root for this.

    Code:
    Section "Monitor"
      Identifier "Default Monitor"
    
      ## If your monitor doesn't support DDC you may override the
      ## defaults here
      HorizSync 28-85
      VertRefresh 50-100
    
      ## Add your mode lines here, use e.g the cvt tool
    
    EndSection
    Then edit /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/50-screen.conf like this

    Code:
    Section "Screen"
    Identifier "Default Screen"
    Device "Default Device"
    Monitor "Default Monitor"
    DefaultDepth 24
    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 24
    Modes "1280x1024"
    EndSubSection
    EndSection
    Save the changes, and restart the X-sever when done. See if that helps.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    23,700
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Display will not hold 1280 x 1024 on Boot, through primary screen

    I wanted to bring your attention to this thread as well:

    Nouveau video driver for GForce 7300 card in OpenSUSE 11.4 w/KDE

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Central Texas, in the sticks
    Posts
    148

    Default Re: Display will not hold 1280 x 1024 on Boot, through primary screen

    herock@linux-114:~> /usr/sbin/hwinfo --gfxcard
    21: PCI 100.0: 0300 VGA compatible controller (VGA)
    [Created at pci.318]
    Unique ID: VCu0.zdXkI26bQTE
    Parent ID: vSkL.iscUv9+lfHB
    SysFS ID: /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:01.0/0000:01:00.0
    SysFS BusID: 0000:01:00.0
    Hardware Class: graphics card
    Model: "nVidia GeForce 7600 GT"
    Vendor: pci 0x10de "nVidia Corporation"
    Device: pci 0x0391 "GeForce 7600 GT"
    SubVendor: pci 0x3842 "eVga.com. Corp."
    SubDevice: pci 0xc554
    Revision: 0xa1
    Driver: "nvidia"
    Driver Modules: "nvidia"
    Memory Range: 0xed000000-0xedffffff (rw,non-prefetchable)
    Memory Range: 0xd0000000-0xdfffffff (ro,non-prefetchable)
    Memory Range: 0xee000000-0xeeffffff (rw,non-prefetchable)
    I/O Ports: 0xdc80-0xdcff (rw)
    Memory Range: 0xefe00000-0xefe1ffff (ro,non-prefetchable,disabled)
    IRQ: 16 (no events)
    I/O Ports: 0x3c0-0x3e7 (rw)
    Module Alias: "pci:v000010DEd00000391sv00003842sd0000C554bc03sc00i00"
    Driver Info #0:
    XFree86 v4 Server Module: nvidia
    Driver Info #1:
    XFree86 v4 Server Module: nvidia
    3D Support: yes
    Config Status: cfg=no, avail=yes, need=no, active=unknown
    Attached to: #8 (PCI bridge)

    nVidia Corporation
    Model: GeForce 7600 GT
    2D driver: fbdev

    Now I am showing fbdev ? What is this now.? Also, can't boot to my normal OpenSuse Graphical Window, it blanks out the screen like it is in Power Saver Mode. Have to use Failsafe to load and operate. I have the original Nvidia Drivers, but I am not sure if I should try to load or really where to start. They are Window Drivers (Original Drivers) dvd.
    Last edited by cherock1254; 15-Jun-2011 at 19:43. Reason: Add information

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    23,700
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Display will not hold 1280 x 1024 on Boot, through primary screen

    Ok, the nouveau driver is a basic open source driver that may not give you the results you'd like, and seems to have trouble coping with certain display modes. You can safely remove the configuration changes you made, or even remove the complete entries if desired. (Manual configuration is not usually required when automatic detection works).

    I would try installing the proprietary nvidia drivers from

    SDB:NVIDIA drivers - openSUSE

    The windows drivers are for exactly that: Windoze. Install the Linux drivers.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •