Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: mcelog fails: And ATI Graphics Issue after dual boot installation?

Question mcelog fails: And ATI Graphics Issue after dual boot installation?

I am totally new to the whole linux OS thing. I decided I wanted to dual boot opensuse along with my windows 7. I have a 1tb hard drive and I made a 200gb partion that I was going to use for opensuse. I then downloaded the install DVD and burned it to a disk. I booted from it just fine and went through the installer choosing the gnome desktop. When it set up the partions it automatically found my 200gb partion and I left it with the default settings, I got some error message saying I should keep it at like 128gb below or something, I ignored it. I then installed it with all the default stuff and at the end of the installation I got a blue screen that said like my graphics card is not supported or something and I had a text based installed that just went on its own. At the end my computer rebooted and then I got a black backgrund with white text poping up and it showed all these processes and all them said success or whatever in green text except one called "mcelog" failed and it gave me a log in still in the black background and white text then I logged in and it just stayed at that black background and white text. I don't know what to do, I probably did the installation wrong or something, if I did how do I uninstall and start over? I have a quad core i5 2500k with an ati raedeon hd 6870 1gb graphics card. Please help explain to me what I have to do to successfully install this as a dual boot along side my current windows 7 installation.

Blog Entries

Default re: mcelog fails: And ATI Graphics Issue after dual boot installation?

I can help you thru
    Do you have access to another computer at the same time?
    Tumbleweed_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

Yes, I do.

Blog Entries

So the install completed and it did a partial reboot?