Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: I Don't Appear To Have OpenGL Available. Why?

  1. #1

    Default I Don't Appear To Have OpenGL Available. Why?

    Hello

    I don't seem to have OpenGL available for some reason. My desktop effects are disabled due to the following technical issues, and the compositing state has the circle with a line through it. As well, I have checked some screensavers, and GL most of the GL ones won't work. How do I go about fixing this error?

    Thanks
    Harpo1

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Ardrishaig, Argyll. Scotland UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,859
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: I Don't Appear To Have OpenGL Available. Why?

    And your graphics device is...?
    Tumbleweed_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  3. #3

    Default Re: I Don't Appear To Have OpenGL Available. Why?

    Ooops sorry about that. It is an ATI HD4600.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,654

    Default Re: I Don't Appear To Have OpenGL Available. Why?

    Harpo1 wrote:

    >
    > Ooops sorry about that. It is an ATI HD4600.
    >

    Google says that this card is supported by the proprietary Catalyst 11.5
    which you can install on openSUSE. I guess you run now the radeon driver,
    you can check the following
    Code:
    glxinfo | grep OpenGL
    what does it tell you?

    --
    PC: oS 11.3 64 bit | Intel Core2 Quad Q8300@2.50GHz | KDE 4.6.3 | GeForce
    9600 GT | 4GB Ram
    Eee PC 1201n: oS 11.4 64 bit | Intel Atom 330@1.60GHz | KDE 4.6.3 | nVidia
    ION | 3GB Ram

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,654

    Default Re: I Don't Appear To Have OpenGL Available. Why?

    And look at this link
    http://en.opensuse.org/SDB:ATI_drivers

    --
    PC: oS 11.3 64 bit | Intel Core2 Quad Q8300@2.50GHz | KDE 4.6.3 | GeForce
    9600 GT | 4GB Ram
    Eee PC 1201n: oS 11.4 64 bit | Intel Atom 330@1.60GHz | KDE 4.6.3 | nVidia
    ION | 3GB Ram

  6. #6

    Default Re: I Don't Appear To Have OpenGL Available. Why?

    I ran the glxinfo | grep OpenGL and got mesa drivers. I installed proprietary ATI driver and now have ATI as driver. Also, glxgears is a lot faster now. However, desktop effects are still unable to be turned on, and GL screensavers still don't work. Any further thoughts martin. Thanks for the help so far by the way.

    Harpo1

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,654

    Default Re: I Don't Appear To Have OpenGL Available. Why?

    Harpo1 wrote:

    >
    > I ran the glxinfo | grep OpenGL and got mesa drivers. I installed
    > proprietary ATI driver and now have ATI as driver. Also, glxgears is a
    > lot faster now. However, desktop effects are still unable to be turned
    > on, and GL screensavers still don't work. Any further thoughts martin.
    > Thanks for the help so far by the way.
    >
    > Harpo1
    >

    At this point I hope for some ATI guru, since as you see from my footer I am
    a nvidia user (my time with ati ended 5 years ago, guess why).
    I would guess that you have to do some configuration with aticonfig to
    manage your default xorg settings so that the proper composite features are
    set.

    By the way what is the exact output in glxinfo now (which OpenGL version is
    shown, this is more personal interest)?

    --
    PC: oS 11.3 64 bit | Intel Core2 Quad Q8300@2.50GHz | KDE 4.6.3 | GeForce
    9600 GT | 4GB Ram
    Eee PC 1201n: oS 11.4 64 bit | Intel Atom 330@1.60GHz | KDE 4.6.0 | nVidia
    ION | 3GB Ram

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,654

    Default Re: I Don't Appear To Have OpenGL Available. Why?

    martin_helm wrote:
    > I would guess that you have to do some configuration with aticonfig to
    > manage your default xorg settings so that the proper composite features
    > are set.

    Hope this helps
    http://en.opensuse.org/SDB:ATI_troubleshooting
    (it mentions the aticonfig --initial).

    --
    PC: oS 11.3 64 bit | Intel Core2 Quad Q8300@2.50GHz | KDE 4.6.3 | GeForce
    9600 GT | 4GB Ram
    Eee PC 1201n: oS 11.4 64 bit | Intel Atom 330@1.60GHz | KDE 4.6.0 | nVidia
    ION | 3GB Ram

  9. #9

    Default Re: I Don't Appear To Have OpenGL Available. Why?

    This is the output from glxinfo

    OpenGL vendor string: ATI Technologies Inc.
    OpenGL renderer string: ATI Radeon HD 4600 Series
    OpenGL version string: 3.3.10750 Compatibility Profile Context
    OpenGL extensions:

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,654

    Default Re: I Don't Appear To Have OpenGL Available. Why?

    Harpo1 wrote:

    >
    > This is the output from glxinfo
    >
    > OpenGL vendor string: ATI Technologies Inc.
    > OpenGL renderer string: ATI Radeon HD 4600 Series
    > OpenGL version string: 3.3.10750 Compatibility Profile Context
    > OpenGL extensions:
    >

    Looks good so far, did you try to configure xorg with aticonfig and did it
    help?
    Beside that since it is clear now that the proprietary driver is installed
    you can test fglrx with the command
    Code:
    fglrxinfo
    what happens if you call it? It will only work if fglrx really works (maybe
    it does not if you did not create a xorg.conf with aticonfig --initial, you
    can also add a force like that "aticonfig --force --initial, of course you
    need to be root).

    --
    PC: oS 11.3 64 bit | Intel Core2 Quad Q8300@2.50GHz | KDE 4.6.3 | GeForce
    9600 GT | 4GB Ram
    Eee PC 1201n: oS 11.4 64 bit | Intel Atom 330@1.60GHz | KDE 4.6.0 | nVidia
    ION | 3GB Ram

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •