Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Ripping audio

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Ripping audio

    Hi,

    For several years I have been using "grip" to scan or rip my audio CDs. I
    got it for 11.4 from
    http://download.opensuse.org/reposit.../openSUSE_11.4,
    and I'm trying. The problem is that it doesn't get the names of the tracks,
    when in the past it worked.

    It is not the CD, I tried "ripit", CLI only, which obtains the names with
    no problem.

    Why doesn't grip work, anybody knows?


    Any other tool for ripping? (Gnome)


    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.4 x86_64 "Celadon" at Telcontar)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    17,317

    Default Re: Ripping audio

    On Tue, 07 Jun 2011 23:20:06 +0000, Carlos E. R. wrote:

    > Hi,
    >
    > For several years I have been using "grip" to scan or rip my audio CDs.
    > I got it for 11.4 from
    > http://download.opensuse.org/reposit...timedia:/apps/

    openSUSE_11.4,
    > and I'm trying. The problem is that it doesn't get the names of the
    > tracks, when in the past it worked.
    >
    > It is not the CD, I tried "ripit", CLI only, which obtains the names
    > with no problem.
    >
    > Why doesn't grip work, anybody knows?


    I don't know offhand, but you might check that the cddb server it's using
    is operational. It sounds like it isn't.

    Jim
    --
    Jim Henderson
    openSUSE Forums Administrator
    Forum Use Terms & Conditions at http://tinyurl.com/openSUSE-T-C

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Ripping audio

    On 2011-06-08 04:04, Jim Henderson wrote:
    > On Tue, 07 Jun 2011 23:20:06 +0000, Carlos E. R. wrote:



    > I don't know offhand, but you might check that the cddb server it's using
    > is operational. It sounds like it isn't.


    The web page http://www.freedb.org/ is up, at least.

    The other command I try, but that I don't like (too much CLI) is ripit, it
    uses the same server by default, and it works.

    I have found another ripper in another thread: asunder and goobox (caf4926).

    Asunder:

    simple, works. Nice, not many options, though, compared to grip.

    I forgot to try if I can edit the titles, I see errors in UTF encoding
    (when seen in banshee) [...] No, can not edit :-(

    Asunder is usable, but not good enough.


    Goobox:

    No cddb lookup. No good for that.
    Starts playing without questions.


    I wonder... Can banshee rip? Is it good at that?


    All this because I found behind some books a Bach CD I hadn't played in a
    long time, and instead of playing it directly I wanted to rip it first...
    Things you are used to, stop working when you least expect it.

    And finding software for ripping (or anything) in packman is not easy. How
    would I know that "asunder" is a ripper?


    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.4 x86_64 "Celadon" at Telcontar)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    17,317

    Default Re: Ripping audio

    On Wed, 08 Jun 2011 12:20:07 +0000, Carlos E. R. wrote:

    >> I don't know offhand, but you might check that the cddb server it's
    >> using is operational. It sounds like it isn't.

    >
    > The web page http://www.freedb.org/ is up, at least.


    ISTR that there's an interface port that's used for applications. Maybe
    see if you can telnet to that port (should be specified in the config).

    Jim



    --
    Jim Henderson
    openSUSE Forums Administrator
    Forum Use Terms & Conditions at http://tinyurl.com/openSUSE-T-C

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Ripping audio

    On 2011-06-08 19:15, Jim Henderson wrote:

    > ISTR that there's an interface port that's used for applications. Maybe
    > see if you can telnet to that port (should be specified in the config).


    The port is not configurable in grip, only server (freedb.freedb.org), and
    cgi path (~/mp3/cddb/cddb.cgi). The port should be 80 for http, implied.

    Ahh! got it working: freedb2.org. I got it from the manual of "ripit",
    that's the secondary server.

    So, now I have two working programs: asunder and grip.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.4 x86_64 "Celadon" at Telcontar)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    109

    Default Re: Ripping audio

    Try k3b as well, also try clementine as a player

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •