Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Virtual Machine Manager - Screen resolution

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Dublin, Ireland
    Posts
    298

    Default Virtual Machine Manager - Screen resolution

    Hi,

    This is not an OpenSuse specific question, but I thought some of the experts over here might be able to help.

    I am running Windows 7 inside Virtual Machine Manager - running on Cent OS 5.6. My problem is that the Windows 7 'Window', is only about half the size of the screen. Is there any change to change the resolution of the OS running inside Virtual Machine Manager?

    I have been looking everywhere, but can't get anything on this one..

    jlar

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Bochum, Germany
    Posts
    3,587

    Default Re: Virtual Machine Manager - Screen resolution

    * eeijlar wrote, On 06/07/2011 03:36 PM:
    >
    > Hi,
    >
    > This is not an OpenSuse specific question,


    So it's probably better asked in a forum more specific to the problem. I'd try the CetOS forums or the forums dealing with your virtualization solution.

    Uwe


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,654

    Default Re: Virtual Machine Manager - Screen resolution

    eeijlar wrote:
    > I am running Windows 7 inside Virtual Machine Manager - running on Cent
    > OS 5.6.

    Virtual machine manager is just a frontend, so your VM does not "run in"
    virtual machine manager but in the virtualization you have chosen for it
    (what is your backend? the manager supports xen, kvm, qemu).
    And more explicit do you speak about the resolution when you use the virtual
    machine graphical console (which is kind of a vncviewer)?

    --
    PC: oS 11.3 64 bit | Intel Core2 Quad Q8300@2.50GHz | KDE 4.6.3 | GeForce
    9600 GT | 4GB Ram
    Eee PC 1201n: oS 11.4 64 bit | Intel Atom 330@1.60GHz | KDE 4.6.0 | nVidia
    ION | 3GB Ram

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Dublin, Ireland
    Posts
    298

    Default Re: Virtual Machine Manager - Screen resolution

    Quote Originally Posted by martin_helm View Post
    eeijlar wrote:
    > I am running Windows 7 inside Virtual Machine Manager - running on Cent
    > OS 5.6.

    Virtual machine manager is just a frontend, so your VM does not "run in"
    virtual machine manager but in the virtualization you have chosen for it
    (what is your backend? the manager supports xen, kvm, qemu).
    And more explicit do you speak about the resolution when you use the virtual
    machine graphical console (which is kind of a vncviewer)?

    --
    PC: oS 11.3 64 bit | Intel Core2 Quad Q8300@2.50GHz | KDE 4.6.3 | GeForce
    9600 GT | 4GB Ram
    Eee PC 1201n: oS 11.4 64 bit | Intel Atom 330@1.60GHz | KDE 4.6.0 | nVidia
    ION | 3GB Ram

    Hi - thanks for your reply. I am using the qemu backend. I am talking about the size of the Windows 7, window inside the Virtual Machine Manager. I tried starting it with virt-viewer, and it was the same size also. I would just like to make the Windows 7 window bigger.

    jlar

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,654

    Default Re: Virtual Machine Manager - Screen resolution

    I am not familiar with it (running Windows guest in virtual manager), but as
    far as I remember I have seen a suggestion that if you use Windows guest you
    should use a remote desktop client to access them.
    I think rdesktop exists also on centos and the Windows 7 should
    automatically adjust its screen size to whatever resolution or the
    fullscreen switch you pass to rdesktop.
    Please take this with a grain of salt because it is only an educated guess
    (in fact I run Window VMs in VMWare and Virtual Box and use rdesktop to
    connect to them).

    --
    PC: oS 11.3 64 bit | Intel Core2 Quad Q8300@2.50GHz | KDE 4.6.3 | GeForce
    9600 GT | 4GB Ram
    Eee PC 1201n: oS 11.4 64 bit | Intel Atom 330@1.60GHz | KDE 4.6.0 | nVidia
    ION | 3GB Ram

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Dublin, Ireland
    Posts
    298

    Default Re: Virtual Machine Manager - Screen resolution

    Hi - thanks for the reply... finally figured out why I can't get a higher screen resolution. It's because Virtual Machine Manager doesn't give you access to all the KVM functionality. For example, the graphics default to 'cirrus', which allows for a maximum resolution of 1024x768, hence the reason why I couldn't get anything higher than that. There is a work around however, you could use something like the following:

    sudo /usr/libexec/qemu-kvm -hda windows7.img -cdrom /dev/cdrom -m 1024 -name "Windows7" -vga std -net nic -usb -net tap,ifname=tap0,script=no

    This allows you to specify the -vga option 'std'. Then in Windows 7, you can adjust the display to anything you want. I think there is also a full screen option. There is an extensive blog post on it here:

    KVM network scripts | Shadows of epiphany

    /jlar

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,654

    Default Re: Virtual Machine Manager - Screen resolution

    Glad you solved it and thank you very much for sharing the solution

    --
    PC: oS 11.3 64 bit | Intel Core2 Quad Q8300@2.50GHz | KDE 4.6.3 | GeForce
    9600 GT | 4GB Ram
    Eee PC 1201n: oS 11.4 64 bit | Intel Atom 330@1.60GHz | KDE 4.6.0 | nVidia
    ION | 3GB Ram

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •