Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: 64 bit or not?

  1. #1

    Default 64 bit or not?

    Hi folks,

    I'm using the Intel 64-bit processors (i3 2100) with an ATI Radeon video card. Should I use the 64-bit version of SUSE or the regular?

    Thank you

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    15,682
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: 64 bit or not?

    Your choice.

    When I got my current 64 bit computer in 2007, I tried 64 bit. Some stuff didn't work (such as the network card).

    I tried 64 bit again with opensuse 11.4, and everything seems to be working.

    In short, I don't think there is a good reason not to go with 64 bit. If you are not using anything particularly demanding on memory, then there's probably no pressing reason either way.
    openSUSE Leap 15.3; KDE Plasma 5.18.6;

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    India
    Posts
    318

    Default Re: 64 bit or not?

    Quote Originally Posted by djsjbh View Post
    Hi folks,

    I'm using the Intel 64-bit processors (i3 2100) with an ATI Radeon video card. Should I use the 64-bit version of SUSE or the regular?

    Thank you
    Processor and graphics are okay.the mainpart in taking 64bit is ram.not only in Opensuse in every os like windows.you should tell your ram size.if it is over than 4Gb you can take 64bit.because 64bit oses will take more memory than 32bits.normally windows7 32bit will work on 800mb memory of ram.but 64bit will take 1.6Gb to run on the same machine.above is an example.and one another thing you can use 64bit if you will use video editing,playing heavy games,etc.64bit oses will use memory(ram) more efficient than 32bit oses.simply it is based on your memory.

  4. #4

    Default Re: 64 bit or not?

    Thanks for the response folks. Yeah, I've got 4 gigs of RAM. I use Windows 7 64-bit on another hard drive that normally gathers dust in a drawer. I pull it out and hook it into my rig whenever I need a computer game fix.

    I've been using Ubuntu for years, but since 11.04 and the Unity GUI I started looking at other OSes. SUSE and Gentoo are on the top of my list.

    Thank you again.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: 64 bit or not?

    On 2011-06-06 03:36, vike4 wrote:
    > 64bit oses will use memory(ram)
    > more efficient than 32bit oses


    If the apps are not designed right, they will also use double the ram.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.4 x86_64 "Celadon" at Telcontar)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    27,109
    Blog Entries
    40

    Default Re: 64 bit or not?

    Quote Originally Posted by djsjbh View Post
    I'm using the Intel 64-bit processors (i3 2100) with an ATI Radeon video card. Should I use the 64-bit version of SUSE or the regular?
    In short : Use the 64-bit.

    In long: Most GNU/Linux developers and most openSUSE packagers now ONLY have 64-bit PCs. This means IMHO we have crossed the point where 64-bit support is now superior to 32-bit support.

    Yes there are a massive number of 32-bit applications, but they can almost all be made to run on 64-bit and they are ALL typically tested (by developers and packagers) to see if they run on 64-bit only. The amount of testing on 32-bit now is signficantly less than in the past. Ergo 32-bit bugs tend to be picked up less, while 64-bit are discovered and fixed.

    A classic recent case is KDE and the 32-bit proprietary nVidia driver which did not work well on openSUSE, while the 64-bit users with KDE had no such problems.

    I switched to 64-bit just over a year ago and I have not regretted the move.

    Ergo - use the 64-bit.

  7. #7

    Default Re: 64 bit or not?

    I agree with the oldman
    64b is what is all there is gonna be (until we have 128b )
    Everything is working fine here (well, not here since this lappy is 32b but in my other pcs), AND if you have 4GB of RAM and want to use them all go 64b (or use PAE kernel).
    I don't see a reason either to not use 64b these days.
    It is abhorrent the spiritual greed of those that knowing something, do not seek the transfer of such knowledge.

    Miguel de Unamuno - Writer (1864-1936)

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    1,529

    Default Re: 64 bit or not?

    Some (very few) programs will not work on 64b platforms. Example: crm114 (mostly used for mail filtering). The problem is with the program itself, not your 64b installation. If you happen to depend on one of these programs use 32b, otherwise x86_64.
    Technology is 'stuff that doesn't work yet.' -- Bran Ferren

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Belgrade, Serbia
    Posts
    719

    Default Re: 64 bit or not?

    Quote Originally Posted by JopSway View Post
    I agree with the oldman
    LOLOLOL he is not old man, he is old CPU.
    Emil Beli
    http://www.beli.ws/blog/
    openSUSE 11.4 x64 KDE, ATI 5600, i7 dell inspire laptop

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •