Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: How do I make VLC work?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    NW Kent, UK
    Posts
    196

    Default How do I make VLC work?

    I am using Suse 11.4, with the Gnome desktop.
    I have downloaded the VLC player, but cannot work out how to make it play CDs in the CD drive.
    Right clicking on the Audio Disc icon that appears on the desktop whenever I load a disc doesn't give me an option to Play using VLC.
    Is there a way to make VLC the default player for CDs?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,857
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: How do I make VLC work?

    You should have followed this
    Multimedia in One Click

    If you find you now have the VideoLan repo added, you need to remove it before running the link above.
    Yast > Software > Repositores

    You can post what repos you have for us by doing this in a terminal:

    Code:
    zypper lr -d
    Tumbleweed_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    NW Kent, UK
    Posts
    196

    Default Re: How do I make VLC work?

    This is what I get:

    # | Alias | Name | Enabled | Refresh | Priority | Type | URI | Service
    --+----------------------------------+----------------------------------+---------+---------+----------+--------+-----------------------------------------------------------------+--------
    1 | 11.4 | 11.4 | Yes | Yes | 99 | rpm-md | http://download.nvidia.com/opensuse/11.4/ |
    2 | 11.4 - VideoLan | 11.4 - VideoLan | Yes | Yes | 99 | rpm-md | Index of /pub/videolan/vlc/SuSE/11.4/ |
    3 | Updates-for-openSUSE-11.4-11.4-0 | Updates for openSUSE 11.4 11.4-0 | Yes | Yes | 99 | rpm-md | Index of /update/11.4 |
    4 | openSUSE-11.4-11.4-0 | openSUSE-11.4-11.4-0 | Yes | No | 99 | yast2 | cd:///?devices=/dev/disk/by-id/ata-ATAPI_iHAS124_A,/dev/sr0 |
    5 | repo-debug | openSUSE-11.4-Debug | No | Yes | 99 | NONE | Index of /debug/distribution/11.4/repo/oss |
    6 | repo-debug-update | openSUSE-11.4-Update-Debug | No | Yes | 99 | NONE | Index of /debug/update/11.4 |
    7 | repo-non-oss | openSUSE-11.4-Non-Oss | Yes | Yes | 99 | yast2 | Index of /distribution/11.4/repo/non-oss |
    8 | repo-oss | openSUSE-11.4-Oss | Yes | Yes | 99 | yast2 | Index of /distribution/11.4/repo/oss |
    9 | repo-source | openSUSE-11.4-Source | No | Yes | 99 | NONE | Index of /source/distribution/11.4/repo/oss |

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,857
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: How do I make VLC work?

    Please do this in a su - terminal

    Code:
    zypper rr 2
    Then do the Oneclick listed above. You may get trouble because you have Videolan packages installed but see how it goes.
    Follow the guide carefully.
    You might find it advantageous to do this:
    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/10573557/Swi...in%20gnome.png

    N.B
    You also have duplicates of the standard oss, non-oss and update repos, so don't opt in to any more!
    Tumbleweed_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    NW Kent, UK
    Posts
    196

    Default Re: How do I make VLC work?

    OK. I opened a terminal and entered the su command, then exited.
    Now, should I switch stuff to Packman first and then undertake the Oneclick option, or do the Oneclick option first and then revert to Packman?
    You also warn about opting in to more duplicates. Will I be offered any of these in the above mentioned processes?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    1,255

    Default Re: How do I make VLC work?

    Hi Crossbone,

    I think the purpose was to remove the VideoLan VLC repository and replace it with the Packman repository.

    VLC including all of the codecs you need are provided by the Packman repository.

    Follow steps 1, 2, 3 and then 4 shown by the the jpeg provided by caf.
    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    I have provided a link to a Packman repository you can add using Yast.

    http://packman.inode.at/suse/11.4/


    Remember to have fun.

    Romanator
    My Linux Box
    OS:
    openSUSE 52.2 - Plasma 5.18.9
    OS:
    Tumbleweed Plasma 5.22
    ASUS P5Q | Intel Quad 6600 @3.02 GHz | 8GB G.SKILL RAM | Nvidia GeForce 750 Ti

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,857
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: How do I make VLC work?

    Quote Originally Posted by Crossbone View Post
    OK. I opened a terminal and entered the su command, then exited.
    Now, should I switch stuff to Packman first and then undertake the Oneclick option, or do the Oneclick option first and then revert to Packman?
    You also warn about opting in to more duplicates. Will I be offered any of these in the above mentioned processes?
    Do the oneclick and use the switcher during that process if you can.
    When you get to this stage:
    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/10573557/one...me/gnome10.png

    You can click cancel, then switch to repo view as in the switcher pic I gave earlier and apply the switch
    Tumbleweed_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    NW Kent, UK
    Posts
    196

    Default Re: How do I make VLC work?

    OK. I have to confess to being totally stumped by the step that asks me to resolve conflicts manually.
    I understand that I am switching everything over to Packman, but if I put a dot in the first circle, as shown in your Photo 10, I guess I don't then put a dot in the next two circles, as also shown in Photo 10. Instead - i suppose - I go down to the next conflict and again opt for Packman, except that doesn't work, since it generates even more options that really make next to no sense.

    You suggested that it's at this point I make a repository switch from VLan to Packman, but it's not clear how I would do that.

    Sorry, this must sound very stupid to you, but I am aware that if I opt for the wrong things I might completely **** up the procedure. Worse still, I can't copy and paste the information on the pop-up box to ask what to click.

    Any further guidelines appreciated.

    What would help would be to know what would happen if I do select the wrong stuff. Would I create havoc?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,857
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: How do I make VLC work?

    This assumes you are doing the oneclick or in software management you have not yet clicked the switcher
    Forget the list, with the radio buttons.
    In the software manager go to 'Options' and select 'Allow Vendor Change'
    Now click the switcher on Packman

    FYI: Errors can be save by using the expert button in the error box to save it to file, to then paste here.

    If you really can't figure it, I can make you a video
    Tumbleweed_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,857
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: How do I make VLC work?

    OK
    Here is a video. No very good and it's in kde, but you should get the idea. It's unlikely you will get the error I did if you use gnome.
    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/10573557/packman_switch_kde.mkv
    Tumbleweed_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •