Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Wired router, want to transfer files between local computers

Default Wired router, want to transfer files between local computers

Hello List, Moderators,

Should I be able to transfer files between computers wired to the same router?

Is the router bridging function used to transfer data between wired computers?

I just got DSL and I'm new to networking. I have openSuse 11.4 on two computers plugged into a Belkin router. The internet connection to my ISP works from either computer.

If I ping $HOSTNAME from either computer, the hostnames are different, but the IP address is the same which is that of my ISP.

I only have the one router, but it has a bridging option. I don't know if it can do both bridging and routing simultaneously.

If this post fits the charter here, I would appreciate some guidance on this subject.
    Heboland

Default Re: Wired router, want to transfer files between local computers

As $HOSTAME gives you the name of the system where you execute the command, the result is that you ping to the system itself. That is on systemA you in fact say:
    Code:
    ping systemA
    which is probably not what you wat.
    On systemA you want to try if you have connection to systemB by doing
    Code:
    ping systemB
    When you want to know which IP addresses both systems have, then do
    Code:
    /sbin/ifconfig -a
    on each of the systems.

And it is normal that systems can communicate when they are on the same LAN (as your systems seem to be). File transfer can be done then in a myriad of ways.
    Henk van Velden

Blog Entries