hp mini 110-3000 mic not working

Ok, so I am complete newbie when it comes to linux. I’ve managed to install openSuse 11.4, and have also managed to get the sound working properly, but the mic doesn’t seem to be working. Could any one help me with this ?

My system is a hp mini 110 3000 netbook which came pre installed with windows 7. I’d install ubuntu on this before switching to openSuse, and in ubuntu the mic was working.

Also, I can’t get bluetooth and the sd card reader working. I’ve got the ath9k driver installed, and WLAN works perfectly on that, but bluetooth doesn’t.

I’d appreciated if some would help me solve these issues.

Cheers
hdtown

I recommend you install the application ‘pavucontrol’ and then run ‘pavucontrol’ and use it to configure your input audio device and your recording.

When testing your mic, I recommend you run as a regular user from a terminal the following command:

arecord -vv -f cd test.wav

and record for 30 seconds or so, check the pavucontrol controls for the recording (it should be known as ‘alsa’ application for recording), and abort the recording by pressing in the terminal and then play back test.wav in a media player to see if the recording was successful.

If that does not work, then I need more information (per the multimedia stickie) to understand better the hardware and software configuration on your HP Mini 110 3000 netbook: Welcome to multimedia sub-area and I’ll quote the relevant section from that:

/usr/sbin/alsa-info.sh 

and select the SHARE/UPLOAD option and after the script finishes it will give you a URL to pass to the support personnel. Please post here the output URL/website-address that gives. Just the URL/website-address. You may need to run that script twice (the first time with root permissions to update in the /usr/sbin directory, and the second time to get the URL).
Note if for some reason that gives you no website/url/address then run it with the no-upload option:

/usr/sbin/alsa-info.sh --no-upload