Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Vmware migration and testing

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Vmware migration and testing

    Hi,

    I'm in the process of testing upgrade -- yes, upgrade, no fresh
    reinstall ;-) -- of my old trusty 11.2 to the unknown 11.4.

    One of the applications I need is VMware. I'm using vmware server, and
    I'm thinking of migrating to the player version, because the server is
    not supported, it seems.

    So I have installed a small test partition with 11.4, and in it I have
    installed VMPlayer. It looks nice (I had to install a lot of development
    packages, gcc, kernel-source, etc - nothing new here). Sound in the
    guest (I'm testing my virtual Windows Me) works; it wasn't working in
    the server. Nice surprise.

    One missing feature is snapshots. The trick is to simply replicate all
    the files of the virtual machine to a backup. It is huge space wasted, 9
    GB for a small machine, but it is doable.

    One thing I do not know how to do: VMplayer gives a notice that the
    virtual machine is version "Workstation 5.xx virtual machine", and that
    this version'x CMOS is not compatible and will use a default cmos
    instead. But I have not seen anywhere how to choose or change or upgrade
    the virtual machine type.

    Is it somewhere else?

    --
    Saludos/Cheers
    Carlos E.R.
    (testing 11-4 Celadon on Lilliput)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,654

    Default Re: Vmware migration and testing

    Carlos E. R. wrote:
    > One thing I do not know how to do: VMplayer gives a notice that the
    > virtual machine is version "Workstation 5.xx virtual machine", and that
    > this version'x CMOS is not compatible and will use a default cmos
    > instead. But I have not seen anywhere how to choose or change or upgrade
    > the virtual machine type.


    VMWare Player simply does not have the feature to upgrade the hardware type
    of the virtual machine to a higher version, until now I did not find out if
    there is an external tool which can do that.

    Just as a side note: Virtual Box 4 can run VMWare machines (before one has
    of course to remove the vmware tools I run myself one machine I never
    converted but simply reused it as it was), just in case it is of interest
    for you (better snapshot features than vmware player).

    --
    PC: oS 11.3 64 bit | Intel Core2 Quad Q8300@2.50GHz | KDE 4.6.3 | GeForce
    9600 GT | 4GB Ram
    Eee PC 1201n: oS 11.4 64 bit | Intel Atom 330@1.60GHz | KDE 4.6.0 | nVidia
    ION | 3GB Ram

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,654

    Default Re: Vmware migration and testing

    There is a short thread here which mentions editing the .vmx file (but
    without feedback if that works)
    http://communities.vmware.com/thread/278581

    --
    PC: oS 11.3 64 bit | Intel Core2 Quad Q8300@2.50GHz | KDE 4.6.3 | GeForce
    9600 GT | 4GB Ram
    Eee PC 1201n: oS 11.4 64 bit | Intel Atom 330@1.60GHz | KDE 4.6.0 | nVidia
    ION | 3GB Ram

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Vmware migration and testing

    On 06/02/2011 09:21 PM, martin_helm wrote:
    > Carlos E. R. wrote:
    >> One thing I do not know how to do: VMplayer gives a notice that the
    >> virtual machine is version "Workstation 5.xx virtual machine", and that
    >> this version'x CMOS is not compatible and will use a default cmos
    >> instead. But I have not seen anywhere how to choose or change or upgrade
    >> the virtual machine type.

    >
    > VMWare Player simply does not have the feature to upgrade the hardware type
    > of the virtual machine to a higher version, until now I did not find out if
    > there is an external tool which can do that.


    I wonder if one could create a new virtual machine, and then "add" the
    hard disk. I think that the file containing the hard disk doesn't
    contain the virtual machine description.

    At worst, I could use the guest machine to replicate its "hard disk" to
    another one (usb), then create a new guest and use those tools (aka
    ghost) to reimport.

    Nuisances... :-(

    Oh, another one... the guest might not like the change of hardware, so
    it might be better to remain without upgrading the virtual machine type.

    > Just as a side note: Virtual Box 4 can run VMWare machines (before one has
    > of course to remove the vmware tools I run myself one machine I never
    > converted but simply reused it as it was), just in case it is of interest
    > for you (better snapshot features than vmware player).


    Unfortunately, VB does not support old operating systems like Windows Me
    or MsDos.

    --
    Saludos/Cheers
    Carlos E.R.
    (testing 11-4 Celadon on Lilliput)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Vmware migration and testing

    On 06/02/2011 09:40 PM, martin_helm wrote:
    > There is a short thread here which mentions editing the .vmx file (but
    > without feedback if that works)
    > http://communities.vmware.com/thread/278581
    >


    It does! Wow! :-OO


    Thanks :-)


    --
    Saludos/Cheers
    Carlos E.R.
    (testing 11-4 Celadon on Lilliput)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,654

    Default Re: Vmware migration and testing

    Carlos E. R. wrote:

    > I wonder if one could create a new virtual machine, and then "add" the
    > hard disk. I think that the file containing the hard disk doesn't
    > contain the virtual machine description.
    >

    That should work, the hard disk does really not contain the hardware info.

    > Oh, another one... the guest might not like the change of hardware, so
    > it might be better to remain without upgrading the virtual machine type.
    >

    It will result in the need to activate windows again for newer windows
    versions and change the drivers.

    > Unfortunately, VB does not support old operating systems like Windows Me
    > or MsDos.
    >

    I see the point (I have no ME running but an old DOS which runs in qemu) it
    is one nuisance about VB that it does not support "old" systems.

    --
    PC: oS 11.3 64 bit | Intel Core2 Quad Q8300@2.50GHz | KDE 4.6.3 | GeForce
    9600 GT | 4GB Ram
    Eee PC 1201n: oS 11.4 64 bit | Intel Atom 330@1.60GHz | KDE 4.6.0 | nVidia
    ION | 3GB Ram

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    17,054

    Default Re: Vmware migration and testing

    On Thu, 02 Jun 2011 19:08:13 +0000, Carlos E. R. wrote:

    > One missing feature is snapshots. The trick is to simply replicate all
    > the files of the virtual machine to a backup. It is huge space wasted, 9
    > GB for a small machine, but it is doable.
    >
    > One thing I do not know how to do: VMplayer gives a notice that the
    > virtual machine is version "Workstation 5.xx virtual machine", and that
    > this version'x CMOS is not compatible and will use a default cmos
    > instead. But I have not seen anywhere how to choose or change or upgrade
    > the virtual machine type.
    >
    > Is it somewhere else?


    Player doesn't really have the full set of functionality to do
    configuration - it's intended to be used with pre-built systems.

    For that full functionality, you either need server (which as you noted
    doesn't work well/at all on 11.4 because VMware apparently stopped
    updating it) or workstation (which I can confirm does run on 11.4).

    Jim



    --
    Jim Henderson
    openSUSE Forums Administrator
    Forum Use Terms & Conditions at http://tinyurl.com/openSUSE-T-C

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Vmware migration and testing

    On 06/02/2011 09:50 PM, martin_helm wrote:
    > Carlos E. R. wrote:


    I did the editing change on the link you posted, it worked.

    >> Oh, another one... the guest might not like the change of hardware, so
    >> it might be better to remain without upgrading the virtual machine type.
    >>

    > It will result in the need to activate windows again for newer windows
    > versions and change the drivers.


    Win-Me doesn't have that, fortunately. I wasn't sure I had all the
    drivers i would need, but it appears that the vmware people are using
    hardware easy to find support for. I had everything.

    Years ago I bought a game or two I still play now and then on that
    Win-Me :-)


    >> Unfortunately, VB does not support old operating systems like Windows Me
    >> or MsDos.
    >>

    > I see the point (I have no ME running but an old DOS which runs in qemu) it
    > is one nuisance about VB that it does not support "old" systems.


    It is a pity.

    --
    Saludos/Cheers
    Carlos E.R.

    (testing 11-4 Celadon on Lilliput)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Vmware migration and testing

    On 06/02/2011 10:20 PM, Jim Henderson wrote:
    > On Thu, 02 Jun 2011 19:08:13 +0000, Carlos E. R. wrote:


    >> Is it somewhere else?

    >
    > Player doesn't really have the full set of functionality to do
    > configuration - it's intended to be used with pre-built systems.


    But it can create virtual machines now, they added that feature. I
    haven't tested it, but so I read.

    If not, I'll keep a partition with 11.2 in order to create the machines
    there with the server version.

    > For that full functionality, you either need server (which as you noted
    > doesn't work well/at all on 11.4 because VMware apparently stopped
    > updating it) or workstation (which I can confirm does run on 11.4).


    Unfortunately, the workstation version is payware, and I don't think I
    need all the features.

    --
    Saludos/Cheers
    Carlos E.R.

    (testing 11-4 Celadon on Lilliput)

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    17,054

    Default Re: Vmware migration and testing

    On Thu, 02 Jun 2011 20:34:22 +0000, Carlos E. R. wrote:

    > On 06/02/2011 10:20 PM, Jim Henderson wrote:
    >> On Thu, 02 Jun 2011 19:08:13 +0000, Carlos E. R. wrote:

    >
    >>> Is it somewhere else?

    >>
    >> Player doesn't really have the full set of functionality to do
    >> configuration - it's intended to be used with pre-built systems.

    >
    > But it can create virtual machines now, they added that feature. I
    > haven't tested it, but so I read.


    It's not still as fully functional as the other products - that's as
    intended.

    > If not, I'll keep a partition with 11.2 in order to create the machines
    > there with the server version.
    >
    >> For that full functionality, you either need server (which as you noted
    >> doesn't work well/at all on 11.4 because VMware apparently stopped
    >> updating it) or workstation (which I can confirm does run on 11.4).

    >
    > Unfortunately, the workstation version is payware, and I don't think I
    > need all the features.


    I was glad to see they added snapshots to server, but Workstation's
    ability to do linked clones and multiple snapshots is really handy.

    Jim

    --
    Jim Henderson
    openSUSE Forums Administrator
    Forum Use Terms & Conditions at http://tinyurl.com/openSUSE-T-C

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •