Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 36

Thread: partitions are not being auto mounted on start up

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    India
    Posts
    318

    Default partitions are not being auto mounted on start up

    hi to all.i reinstalled opensuse yesterday.when i turn on my system every time i need to enter my root password to mount my partitons.please see the following image.i want to automount all partitions on startup without giving root password(before reinstalling opensuse it didn't ask root password to mount my partitions)



  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    1,926

    Default Re: partitions are not being auto mounted on start up

    Quote Originally Posted by vike4 View Post
    hi to all.i reinstalled opensuse yesterday.when i turn on my system every time i need to enter my root password to mount my partitons.please see the following image.i want to automount all partitions on startup without giving root password(before reinstalling opensuse it didn't ask root password to mount my partitions)


    Please post the output of the contents of "/etc/fstab" file and the following command :
    Code:
    /sbin/fdisk -l
    The other option is to carefully read the documentation
    Chapter 3. Advanced Disk Setup

    Best regards,
    Greg
    Best regards,
    Greg

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    19,985
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: partitions are not being auto mounted on start up

    and also:
    Code:
    cat /etc/fstab
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    https://en.opensuse.org/openSUSE:Board#Members
    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    India
    Posts
    318

    Default Re: partitions are not being auto mounted on start up

    Quote Originally Posted by glistwan View Post
    Please post the output of the contents of "/etc/fstab" file and the following command :
    Code:
    /sbin/fdisk -l
    The other option is to carefully read the documentation
    Chapter 3. Advanced Disk Setup

    Best regards,
    Greg
    my output was

    Disk /dev/sda: 320.1 GB, 320072933376 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 38913 cylinders, total 625142448 sectors
    Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0xf7db3a0a

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sda1 2048 206847 102400 7 HPFS/NTFS/exFAT
    /dev/sda2 206848 126035967 62914560 7 HPFS/NTFS/exFAT
    /dev/sda3 * 126035969 625137344 249550688 f W95 Ext'd (LBA)
    /dev/sda5 126036032 230893567 52428768 6 FAT16
    /dev/sda6 230902308 356723324 62910508+ 7 HPFS/NTFS/exFAT
    /dev/sda7 356723388 461579579 52428096 7 HPFS/NTFS/exFAT
    /dev/sda8 461579643 471909374 5164866 82 Linux swap / Solaris
    /dev/sda9 471909438 576765629 52428096 7 HPFS/NTFS/exFAT
    /dev/sda10 576765693 602068004 12651156 83 Linux
    /dev/sda11 602068068 625137344 11534638+ 83 Linux

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    India
    Posts
    318

    Default Re: partitions are not being auto mounted on start up

    Quote Originally Posted by Knurpht View Post
    and also:
    Code:
    cat /etc/fstab

    my output was

    /dev/disk/by-id/ata-ST9320423AS_5VJ657SA-part8 swap swap defaults 0 0
    /dev/disk/by-id/ata-ST9320423AS_5VJ657SA-part10 / ext4 acl,user_xattr 1 1
    /dev/disk/by-id/ata-ST9320423AS_5VJ657SA-part11 /home ext4 acl,user_xattr 1 2
    proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
    sysfs /sys sysfs noauto 0 0
    debugfs /sys/kernel/debug debugfs noauto 0 0
    usbfs /proc/bus/usb usbfs noauto 0 0
    devpts /dev/pts devpts mode=0620,gid=5 0 0

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    25,269

    Default Re: partitions are not being auto mounted on start up

    Intermission! Please @vike4, when you post computer output put it between CODE tags. Else we can not read it : Posting in Code Tags - A Guide
    Henk van Velden

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    India
    Posts
    318

    Default Re: partitions are not being auto mounted on start up

    Quote Originally Posted by hcvv View Post
    Intermission! Please @vike4, when you post computer output put it between CODE tags. Else we can not read it : Posting in Code Tags - A Guide
    oh sorry i will post outputs in code tags.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    1,926

    Default Re: partitions are not being auto mounted on start up

    Ok in order to have a partition auto mounted You need to have and fstab entry for each partition You want to mount at boot. Here's a quick tutorial on how to do that :
    FSTAB - Editing Manually

    After editing /etc/fstab You can test by issuing the following command as root :
    Code:
    mount -a
    If the partition You want to mount on boot will mount after the mount -a command it means your fstab entries are fine and from now on at each boot the partitions will be mounted.

    Best regards,
    Greg
    Best regards,
    Greg

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    25,269

    Default Re: partitions are not being auto mounted on start up

    You can also use YaST > System > Partition manager to get those fiile systems mounted. But TAKE CARE. Do double check that "Do not Format" is checked there, else you will loose your data.

    I guess that the following documentation may be of iinterest to you: SDB:Basics of partitions, filesystems, mount points - openSUSE.
    Henk van Velden

  10. #10

    Default Re: partitions are not being auto mounted on start up

    vike4 just off hand why all the fat partitions (exFAT)
    i have not seen that many since win 98 and have not seen a fat16 since ?? a long time

    You might want to have the MS windows partitions need root access to write to
    It might be possible to install a MS virus through Linux if the NORMAL account has read/write to the NTFS drives
    I do not know of a virus or malware that dose this YET
    But, better safe than sorry .

    read -- everyone
    write -- root only



Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •