Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Considering ~ ~ Arch or SUSE Tumbleweed ~ ~

Default Considering ~ ~ Arch or SUSE Tumbleweed ~ ~

Hi I've been using openSUSE for 2 years and tired to reformat my laptop every 9mths,looking for some distro that going rolling update,that everything in bleeding edge.
    Found this Tumbleweed interesting,might be the one I'm looking for,kind like Arch Linux,now thinking to switch to Arch.
    Any suggestion? Should I take SUSE Tumbleweed or Arch?
    My laptop is Dell Latitude D620~Intel Core2Duo T5500 1.66Ghz~Intel 945GM integrated graphic~2GB DDR667 RAM.
    Now with openSUSE 11.4 KDE x86-64,I got my wireless Broadcom 4311 work with b43-firmware,would it be a problem if I use Tumbleweed?
    Dell Latitude D620~Intel Core2Duo T2300 1.66GHz~Intel 945GM~DDR2 667 2GB~openSUSE 12.1 KDE x86.

Blog Entries

Default Re: Considering ~ ~ Arch or SUSE Tumbleweed ~ ~

Hi, the b43 stuff is available for Tumbleweed see below:

Code:
    john@tumbleweed114:~> zypper se -s b43
    Loading repository data...
    Reading installed packages...

S | Name               | Type       | Version              | Arch   | Repository       
    --+--------------------+------------+----------------------+--------+------------------
      | b43-firmware       | package    | 4.174.64.19-3.pm.3.1 | noarch | TumbleweedPackman
      | b43-firmware       | srcpackage | 4.174.64.19-3.pm.3.1 | noarch | TumbleweedPackman
      | b43-fwcutter       | package    | 012-9.1              | x86_64 | openSUSE-11.4-Oss
      | b43-fwcutter       | package    | 012-9.1              | i586   | openSUSE-11.4-Oss
      | b43legacy-firmware | package    | 3.130.20.0-2.pm.2.1  | noarch | TumbleweedPackman
      | b43legacy-firmware | srcpackage | 3.130.20.0-2.pm.2.1  | noarch | TumbleweedPackman
    You asked:
    Any suggestion? Should I take SUSE Tumbleweed or Arch?
    SUSE Tumbleweed
    Leap 42.3 & 15.1 &KDE
    FYIs from the days of yore

Thanks bro,I'm in.