Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Solved: Tumbleweed, K3b, DVDs and Transcode

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Oz
    Posts
    11,731
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Solved: Tumbleweed, K3b, DVDs and Transcode

    Hi

    I have a message from K3B when it starts a DVD rip job:
    K3b uses Transcode to rip video DVDs. Please make sure it is installed.
    I can't find the appropriate RPM. What shall I install, from where?

    Thanks
    Leap 42.3 & 15.1 &KDE
    FYIs from the days of yore

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,654

    Default Re: K3b, DVDs and Transcode

    transcode is in packman.

    --
    PC: oS 11.3 64 bit | Intel Core2 Quad Q8300@2.50GHz | KDE 4.6.3 | GeForce
    9600 GT | 4GB Ram
    Eee PC 1201n: oS 11.4 64 bit | Intel Atom 330@1.60GHz | KDE 4.6.0 | nVidia
    ION | 3GB Ram

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Oz
    Posts
    11,731
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default re: Solved: Tumbleweed, K3b, DVDs and Transcode

    Solved: temporarily attach Packman for openSUSE 11.4. It's in there but not in PackmanForTumbleweed
    Leap 42.3 & 15.1 &KDE
    FYIs from the days of yore

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    5,500

    Default Re: Solved: Tumbleweed, K3b, DVDs and Transcode

    Quote Originally Posted by swerdna View Post
    Hi

    I have a message from K3B when it starts a DVD rip job...
    What repo did your K3B install from?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    5,500

    Default Re: K3b, DVDs and Transcode

    You started a new thread to answer that question? Swerdna just asked that in Tumbleweed forum.

    Edit: Oh it got moved to Tumbleweed!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Oz
    Posts
    11,731
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: Solved: Tumbleweed, K3b, DVDs and Transcode

    Quote Originally Posted by consused View Post
    What repo did your K3B install from?
    From Packman 11.4 (2.0.2-8.pm.10.3) and the rip worked.

    But just now, strangely coincidental, when I run "zypper dup -D" I se that zypper wants to upgrade k3b and k3b-codecs to PackmanTumbleweed, but not transcode. I'm going to do that and see if the rip continues to work
    Leap 42.3 & 15.1 &KDE
    FYIs from the days of yore

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    27,108
    Blog Entries
    40

    Default Re: K3b, DVDs and Transcode

    Quote Originally Posted by consused View Post
    You started a new thread to answer that question? Swerdna just asked that in Tumbleweed forum.

    Edit: Oh it got moved to Tumbleweed!
    I merged the two threads (not without a bit of moderator finger trouble along the way) but hopefully it now ended up all in Tumbleweed.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Oz
    Posts
    11,731
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: K3b, DVDs and Transcode

    Bit of confusion guys? I started it in the wrong forum ---- smack!
    Thanks for the merge oldcpu.

    At least I learned one thing: Tumbleweed users have to retain their 11.4 Packman and also have to attach The Tumbleweed version of Packman, concurrently. Or did Packman packagers make a mistake and accidentally leave transcode out of Tumbleweed version of Packman? I better look into that.
    Last edited by swerdna; 23-May-2011 at 00:03.
    Leap 42.3 & 15.1 &KDE
    FYIs from the days of yore

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    5,500

    Default Re: K3b, DVDs and Transcode

    Quote Originally Posted by swerdna View Post
    Bit of confusion guys? I started it in the wrong forum ---- smack!
    Thanks for the merge oldcpu.
    My posting was in the context of seeing swerdna's moved op in Tumbleweed forum and Martin's (I assume using nntp) as an op stranded in Multimedia.

    Quote Originally Posted by swerdna View Post
    At least I learned one thing: Tumbleweed users have to retain their 11.4 Packman and also have to attach The Tumbleweed version of Packman, concurrently. Or did Packman packagers make a mistake and accidentally leave transcode out of Tumbleweed version of Packman? I better look into that.
    I suspect the latter possibility. BTW transcode isn't a package dependency for K3B in any case.

    On standard 11.4 here, K3B is in Packman-essentials but "transcode" is in Packman-multimedia. Since Packman-Tumbleweed is equivalent to Packman-essentials, transcode is missing for Tumbleweed!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Oz
    Posts
    11,731
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: K3b, DVDs and Transcode

    I can't figure out the packman policy. I'll let it slide for now.
    Leap 42.3 & 15.1 &KDE
    FYIs from the days of yore

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •