Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: set up fast apache

  1. #1

    Default set up fast apache

    Dear all,
    I would like to set-up a pretty fast a running apache. I would like to use him so to launch a pretty small web site of 10 static html pages. At this time there is no security concerns (even though I want to do it right) , because the computer has not even ethernet cable.

    I have some experience, 8 years ago I Was setting up virtual hosts in fedora, so this process is not a blackbox for me.

    Thank you very much for your help

    Best Regards
    Alex

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Ankara, Turkey
    Posts
    250

    Default Re: set up fast apache

    If you are serving static pages and want it to be fast, I would recommend using nginx server. I had written a guide about it earlier, will find the link and provide the link in here in a sec.
    The only problem with troubleshooting is that sometimes trouble shoots back.
    My blog (in Turkish): http://yasar.serveblog.net

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Ankara, Turkey
    Posts
    250

    Default Re: set up fast apache

    Here is the link: Nginx server with PHP

    You can disregard the parts related to cgi and php, since you will be using it just for static pages.
    The only problem with troubleshooting is that sometimes trouble shoots back.
    My blog (in Turkish): http://yasar.serveblog.net

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Earth - Denmark
    Posts
    10,730

    Default Re: set up fast apache

    On 05/22/2011 07:06 PM, alaios wrote:
    >
    > because the computer has not even ethernet cable.


    if the computer is not connected to any network, then you just want to
    look at these ten static pages on your machine, and from your
    machine....right?

    if so you do not need Apache...just open your browser and in the menu
    click File > Open File....navigate to the directory where your ten pages
    are and pick one to click on..

    and if internal links in the pages are correctly formed you can zing
    from one page to the others..

    --
    dd CAVEAT: http://is.gd/bpoMD
    [NNTP via openSUSE 11.4 [2.6.37.6-0.5] + KDE 4.6.0 + Thunderbird 3.1.10]
    Dual booting with Sluggish Loser7 on Acer Aspire One D255

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Oz
    Posts
    11,731
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: set up fast apache

    This might be worth a read -- there are some recipes there that work in openSUSE; e.g. those recipes run my websites OK: HowTo: Configure a Linux Apache Web Server on Suse/openSUSE
    Leap 42.3 & 15.1 &KDE
    FYIs from the days of yore

  6. #6

    Default Re: set up fast apache

    Quote Originally Posted by swerdna View Post
    This might be worth a read -- there are some recipes there that work in openSUSE; e.g. those recipes run my websites OK: HowTo: Configure a Linux Apache Web Server on Suse/openSUSE


    Thanks a lot now apache2 works fine!

    I also wanted to add authentication and make my web server accessible only through specific ip addresses
    thus I changed Directory directive to:

    <Directory /srv/www>
    AllowOverride AuthConfig
    AuthName "Add your login message here."
    AuthType Basic
    AuthUserFile /srv/testfolder/.htpasswd
    AuthGroupFile /dev/null
    require user testaccess
    Order Deny,Allow
    Deny from all
    Allow from 200.200.200
    </Directory>

    but even thou my ip does not start from 200.200.200 I can get access.. what might be the problem?

    Best Regards
    Alex

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Oz
    Posts
    11,731
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: set up fast apache

    I've never addressed that kind of access. Will watch with interest.
    Leap 42.3 & 15.1 &KDE
    FYIs from the days of yore

  8. #8

    Default Re: set up fast apache

    alaios wrote:
    > thus I changed Directory directive to:
    >
    > <Directory /srv/www>
    > AllowOverride AuthConfig
    > AuthName "Add your login message here."
    > AuthType Basic
    > AuthUserFile /srv/testfolder/.htpasswd
    > AuthGroupFile /dev/null
    > require user testaccess
    > Order Deny,Allow
    > Deny from all
    > Allow from 200.200.200
    > </Directory>
    >
    > but even thou my ip does not start from 200.200.200 I can get access..
    > what might be the problem?


    Do you have any other Allow, Deny or Order directives in this or any
    other config file? For subdirectories or in .htaccess files?

    Is there a Satisfy directive anywhere?

    Is there anything in the logs?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,654

    Default Re: set up fast apache

    Dave Howorth wrote:

    >> <Directory /srv/www>

    Normaly this should be <Directory "/srv/www">, I do not know if the "" make
    a difference here. But I have never seen it without the quotes.

    --
    PC: oS 11.3 64 bit | Intel Core2 Quad Q8300@2.50GHz | KDE 4.6.3 | GeForce
    9600 GT | 4GB Ram
    Eee PC 1201n: oS 11.4 64 bit | Intel Atom 330@1.60GHz | KDE 4.6.0 | nVidia
    ION | 3GB Ram

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,654

    Default Re: set up fast apache

    alaios wrote:
    > I also wanted to add authentication and make my web server accessible
    > only through specific ip addresses
    > thus I changed Directory directive to:
    >
    > <Directory /srv/www>

    One additional thought: In which file did you change this?
    http.conf or default-server.conf?
    The first one includes the second one and default-server.conf contains a
    directory directive for <Directory "/srv/www/htdocs"> which by default
    allows access for all and may override your setting if it is in the wrong
    place.
    But I am not a web server expert, just a random thought. I looked this up in
    my local "family" webserver.

    --
    PC: oS 11.3 64 bit | Intel Core2 Quad Q8300@2.50GHz | KDE 4.6.3 | GeForce
    9600 GT | 4GB Ram
    Eee PC 1201n: oS 11.4 64 bit | Intel Atom 330@1.60GHz | KDE 4.6.0 | nVidia
    ION | 3GB Ram

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •