Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Flash in mozilla

  1. #1

    Default Flash in mozilla

    I am trying ti instal adobe flash but I cannot find the file that the plugin folder is in. I am running open suse 11.4. Mozilla firefox beta 12. I am new to the whole linux thing so I really need someone to walk me through it.
    Travis

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Taura, Germany
    Posts
    287

    Default Re: Flash in mozilla

    Hi,

    do you want to install it from adobe´s website? If yes, I´d say that this is not the recommended way.

    First of all, why do you have firefox beta 12? Any reason for that, or did you just install opensuse 11.4 but haven´t done any updates yet? If this is true, please do a system update at first.

    After the update is done, just add the packman repository to your system. This is done by:

    open yast, type your root = admin password

    choose "software repositories" and wait until yast has loaded all necessary information. Then there will a window with all active repositories be opened. In the lower left corner there is a button "add". Click it, and there will be new window opened. Choose "community repositories. Then another window opens and there you choose/tick "Packman". Click add/ok and it will be added. Then yast asks if you want to import the key - import it.

    when you have finished this, just finish/close everything and as soon as you update the system again, or open "install/delete software", the flashplugin and some other goodies will be installed automatically. You just need to confirm the license.

    Thats it.
    Desk: HP Pavilion, Nvidia GeForce GTX460, Atheros Wlan, openSUSE 12.1 KDE 4.7.2, Win7
    Lap: Sony Vaio VPCEB3J1E, Intel GMA 3500, Intel Wlan, openSUSE 12.1 KDE 4.7.2
    Netty: HP Mini 3530, Xubuntu 11.10

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Berlin
    Posts
    2,061

    Default Re: Flash in mozilla

    steffen13, just for the record: the Flashplayer is not provided by Packman, but by the openSUSE-repos (namely non-oss and update). Your way will still work, but not because of Packman, but because of the package 'pullin-flash-player', which triggers the automatic installation when doing the very first update.

    Either way, those recomendations are good: one should update right after the initial install and Packman provides all the other important multimedia stuff.

    Here's an easy way to install all those codecs etc. via one click: →Multimedia in One Click

  4. #4

    Default Re: Flash in mozilla

    Quote Originally Posted by steffen13 View Post
    Hi,

    do you want to install it from adobe´s website? If yes, I´d say that this is not the recommended way.

    First of all, why do you have firefox beta 12? Any reason for that, or did you just install opensuse 11.4 but haven´t done any updates yet? If this is true, please do a system update at first.

    After the update is done, just add the packman repository to your system. This is done by:

    open yast, type your root = admin password

    choose "software repositories" and wait until yast has loaded all necessary information. Then there will a window with all active repositories be opened. In the lower left corner there is a button "add". Click it, and there will be new window opened. Choose "community repositories. Then another window opens and there you choose/tick "Packman". Click add/ok and it will be added. Then yast asks if you want to import the key - import it.

    when you have finished this, just finish/close everything and as soon as you update the system again, or open "install/delete software", the flashplugin and some other goodies will be installed automatically. You just need to confirm the license.

    Thats it.
    It is a fresh install and that is what installed with it. I got flash to install on the computer but still have no flash. According to Novell I need to put the flash.so in the plugins folder. I cannot find where the firefox directory is. is there a way I can detect the directory it is installed in? When I check the properties all it says it is in the desktop but there are no other folder associated with it.
    Travis

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Berlin
    Posts
    2,061

    Default Re: Flash in mozilla

    Again: just to an update an you will have the Flashplayer, no need to move any plugins yourself. Trust me. Do *not* use some package you fetched from god knows where, that's the package managers job.

  6. #6

    Default Re: Flash in mozilla

    Quote Originally Posted by gropiuskalle View Post
    Again: just to an update an you will have the Flashplayer, no need to move any plugins yourself. Trust me. Do *not* use some package you fetched from god knows where, that's the package managers job.
    I tried to update and it said it was installing flash but flash still does not work.
    I downloaded the libflashplayer.so from sun.
    Travis

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Berlin
    Posts
    2,061

    Default Re: Flash in mozilla

    From Sun? I was quite sure Flash was developed by Adobe while Sun Microsystems is dead... anyway, just forget about that. Don't use it.

    Show the output of

    Code:
    zypper se -s flash-player
    How exactly have you done that update?

  8. #8

    Default Re: Flash in mozilla

    [QUOTE=gropiuskalle;2343021]From Sun? I was quite sure Flash was developed by Adobe while Sun Microsystems is dead... anyway, just forget about that. Don't use it.

    Show the output of

    Code:
    zypper se -s flash-player
    You are right I got the update from Adobe. For some reason I got confused with Java, which was made by Sun which is now Novell. So do II enter this command fron the comand line in Gnome do I need to be in the root directory or can I run from any directory?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Taura, Germany
    Posts
    287

    Default Re: Flash in mozilla

    [QUOTE=travisg96;2343088]
    Quote Originally Posted by gropiuskalle View Post
    From Sun? I was quite sure Flash was developed by Adobe while Sun Microsystems is dead... anyway, just forget about that. Don't use it.

    Show the output of

    Code:
    zypper se -s flash-player
    You are right I got the update from Adobe. For some reason I got confused with Java, which was made by Sun which is now Novell. So do II enter this command fron the comand line in Gnome do I need to be in the root directory or can I run from any directory?
    you can run it from every directory and you don´t need to be root
    Desk: HP Pavilion, Nvidia GeForce GTX460, Atheros Wlan, openSUSE 12.1 KDE 4.7.2, Win7
    Lap: Sony Vaio VPCEB3J1E, Intel GMA 3500, Intel Wlan, openSUSE 12.1 KDE 4.7.2
    Netty: HP Mini 3530, Xubuntu 11.10

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Berlin
    Posts
    2,061

    Default Re: Flash in mozilla

    ...and Java is *not* by Novell. Just for the record. :-)

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •