Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Command Line applet does not work in 11.4 (gnome).

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Command Line applet does not work in 11.4 (gnome).


    I add a "command line" or "mini-commander" applet to the panel in gnome,
    but nothing happens.

    If I launch "/usr/lib/mini_commander_applet" on a terminal, I get a dozen
    such applets, for all the times I tried, but then I have an xterm tied up.

    If I launch the same from "alt-f2" it does not work, and gives no error.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.2 x86_64 "Emerald" at Telcontar)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    12,872
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: Command Line applet does not work in 11.4 (gnome).

    maybe it needs a terminal.

    You could try:

    xterm -e /usr/lib/mini_commander_applet
    openSUSE Leap 15.1; KDE Plasma 5;
    testing Leap 15.2Alpha

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Command Line applet does not work in 11.4 (gnome).

    On 2011-05-20 00:06, nrickert wrote:
    >
    > maybe it needs a terminal.


    It is an applet! No way it requires a terminal.

    It worked in 11.2

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.2 x86_64 "Emerald" at Telcontar)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Ankara, Turkey
    Posts
    250

    Default Re: Command Line applet does not work in 11.4 (gnome).

    I can confirm, same thing happens for me too.
    The only problem with troubleshooting is that sometimes trouble shoots back.
    My blog (in Turkish): http://yasar.serveblog.net

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Ankara, Turkey
    Posts
    250

    Default Re: Command Line applet does not work in 11.4 (gnome).

    I tried adding your command to startup applications, but then I get mini commanders all over my panels, I get like 5 of them running at the same time
    The only problem with troubleshooting is that sometimes trouble shoots back.
    My blog (in Turkish): http://yasar.serveblog.net

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Ankara, Turkey
    Posts
    250

    Default Re: Command Line applet does not work in 11.4 (gnome).

    You can try using tracker search bar by the way, it is almost the same thing. You may need to install it separately though. I am not sure.
    The only problem with troubleshooting is that sometimes trouble shoots back.
    My blog (in Turkish): http://yasar.serveblog.net

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Command Line applet does not work in 11.4 (gnome).

    On 2011-05-20 04:06, yasar11732 wrote:
    >
    > I can confirm, same thing happens for me too.


    I'll create a bugzilla, then.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.2 x86_64 "Emerald" at Telcontar)

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Command Line applet does not work in 11.4 (gnome).

    On 2011-05-20 14:20, Carlos E. R. wrote:
    > On 2011-05-20 04:06, yasar11732 wrote:
    >>
    >> I can confirm, same thing happens for me too.

    >
    > I'll create a bugzilla, then.


    Done - Bug 695113. Please add a comment there confirming that it does not
    work for you either. It is the same login as the forum.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.2 x86_64 "Emerald" at Telcontar)

  9. #9

    Default Re: Command Line applet does not work in 11.4 (gnome).

    I don't know if anyone still needs this, but I found the same issue on a Fedora forum. The work around works for OpenSUSE as well, but you have to change the path. This is how to get around it:

    1. Edit the file /usr/share/dbus-1/services/org.gnome.panel.applet.MiniCommanderAppletFactory.service
    2. Change the line that begins with 'Exec=' to the following:

    Exec=/usr/lib/mini_commander_applet

    3. Save the file
    4. Then, readd the mini commander to the task bar.

    Hopefully this helps someone.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Command Line applet does not work in 11.4 (gnome).

    On 2011-06-04 23:06, dh24 99 wrote:

    > Hopefully this helps someone.


    Indeed it works! Thanks, good find.


    It contained a very funny entry:

    Exec=/home/carlos/gnome-cvs/libexec/mini_commander_applet

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.4 x86_64 "Celadon" at Telcontar)

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •