Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Help Please: How to force KDE 4 applications to open as a new instance, not new tab?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Sydney AU
    Posts
    147

    Default Help Please: How to force KDE 4 applications to open as a new instance, not new tab?

    When a new instance of a running KDE 4 application (kwrite, konqueror, etc.) is run under opensuse 11.4 with KDE4 it seems that the default behaviour is to open a new tab in the running instance.

    This occurs when the new instance is called from the command line; the start menu; the run dialogue; or a desktop icon, even when called from a separate desktop. In konqueror the menu option <File> <new window> opens a new tab and seems redundant.

    How can a user force KDE 4 applications to run a new instance in a separate frame / window when another instance of that application is already running?

    Please excuse me if this has already been documented. I have searched this forum, the KDE Community forum and the web, so far without success.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    12,366
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: Help Please: How to force KDE 4 applications to open as a new instance, not new tab?

    I just tried that with "kwrite" and it opened a new window.

    Perhaps it depends. In the workspace settings, I have workspace configured as "Desktop". Perhaps it behaves differently if you configure for "netbook"

    For konqueror and firefox, I would expect the behavior that you are seeing. That's because of the way that the application is designed. The running browser keeps a lot of status information in its configuration directory. Because of that, you cannot have two independent instances of the application running at once. If you start a second, it checks the configuration directory, sees that the application is already running, and sends a signal to the running application. With firefox, you can still configure it to open a new window rather than a new tab, but it would be a new window for the same instance of the running application. I'm not sure about konqueror settings for that, since I don't use it often.
    openSUSE Leap 15.1; KDE Plasma 5;

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    sri mayapur, west bengal, india
    Posts
    958

    Default Re: Help Please: How to force KDE 4 applications to open as a newinstance, not new tab?

    On Wed, 18 May 2011 07:06:04 +0530, Tallowwood
    <Tallowwood@no-mx.forums.opensuse.org> wrote:

    >
    > When a new instance of a running KDE 4 application (kwrite, konqueror,
    > etc.) is run under opensuse 11.4 with KDE4 it seems that the default
    > behaviour is to open a new tab in the running instance.
    >
    > This occurs when the new instance is called from the command line; the
    > start menu; the run dialogue; or a desktop icon, even when called from a
    > separate desktop. In konqueror the menu option <File> <new window> opens
    > a new tab and seems redundant.
    >
    > How can a user force KDE 4 applications to run a new instance in a
    > separate frame / window when another instance of that application is
    > already running?
    >
    > Please excuse me if this has already been documented. I have searched
    > this forum, the KDE Community forum and the web, so far without success.
    >
    >


    depends on the application. kwrite, as far as i know, always opens a new
    window. for konqueror, you can define the behavior in it's settings (menu:
    settings -> configure konqueror). by typing <app.name> --help many app.s
    list command line arguments that allow you to modify the default behavior.
    if both, application settings & command line arguments are specified, i
    don't know which option is finally used...

    --
    phani.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    3,441

    Default Re: Help Please: How to force KDE 4 applications to open as a new instance, not new tab?

    This behaviour can be altered in Settings>Configure Konqueror>General and similar places in other applications.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    657

    Default Re: Help Please: How to force KDE 4 applications to open as a new instance, not new tab?

    The only thing that I could think of is that you are using a KDE4 feature called Window Tabbing. Go to 'Systemsettings > Window Behaviour > Window Behaviour > Advanced' and see what your settings are there.



    I bet you have "Automatically group similar windows" checked.



    ETA: A small screenshot what Window Tabbing looks like:

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Sydney AU
    Posts
    147

    Default Re: Help Please: How to force KDE 4 applications to open as a new instance, not new tab?

    Quote Originally Posted by Lord_Emsworth View Post
    The only thing that I could think of is that you are using a KDE4 feature called Window Tabbing. Go to 'Systemsettings > Window Behaviour > Window Behaviour > Advanced' and see what your settings are there. [snip] I bet you have "Automatically group similar windows" checked.
    Thank you, Lord_Emsworth, that has solved this issue for me.

    Your analysis is correct, your guidance clear and, yes, you won your bet.
    Last edited by Tallowwood; 20-May-2011 at 20:57. Reason: Solved

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •