Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Gnome 3 on Opensuse: My compliments to the chef!

Default Gnome 3 on Opensuse: My compliments to the chef!

Just wanted to post up and thank those responsible for making Gnome 3 on Opensuse such a joy. I've been using it for a while now, and in spite of how new it is, and how Opensuse is perceived as a KDE distro, I've had no bother at all with it. In fact I've thoroughly enjoyed it, so much so I've moved to Opensuse as my main OS. Thanks!

I had been using Ubuntu for some years; since 2007 in fact, and I've always enjoyed it. But sadly, in recent times it's been very buggy for me. I don't know if it's my hardware, or me, or just that they aren't fixing the more glaring bugs, but for whatever reason it's been less fun to use for about a year or so, and I knew I would have to switch somewhere. It really hit home when trying out 11.04 with Unity. I quite like the idea of Unity (though I'd tried Gnome 3 beforehand and Unity didn't match up imo), but I just couldn't use it when X seized up at every boot, or the themes kept randomly changing, or so many other simple but silly bugs ruined it. Such a shame.

Opensuse was a bit of a stab in the dark for me, as I've never really strayed too far from DEB. But it's is so fast and easy to use, it made it a complete no-brainer, especially coupled with the excellent Gnome 3 so well integrated.

So gushing over. My thanks again to those who made it so cool.

Default Re: Gnome 3 on Opensuse: My compliments to the chef!

+1

I have also percieved openSUSE to be a very KDE-heavy distro. Allthough, I am really digging the new Gnome3 desktop experience!!
    Great job everyone!

Blog Entries

I full heartedly support the title. This coming from a 10 years+ KDE user. A big hand to @malcolmlewis and the people from the openSUSE GNOME Team.
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht