Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Acer Aspire 1, error creating sda5 code 1007

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Earth - Denmark
    Posts
    10,730

    Default Acer Aspire 1, error creating sda5 code 1007

    main tower hardware, probable motherboard, fail monday about lunch..

    no alternative box, i bought a cheap to get by (and, get on the net to fine/order parts for old Tower)..

    11.4 KDE CD runs good..

    df -h showed the Acer 3 partitions (boot, OEM restore, and win7)

    dl/burn/media check DVD and began install today...all smooth, install script suggest:

    shrink win to 92 GB and place as sda2
    make extended sda 4 of 127.33GB to hold
    -grub
    -swap sda5 2GB
    -/root sda6 20GB ext4
    -/home sda7 105.3GB ext4

    looks good, i punch "Install" and go outside..

    come back to find (not a quote, but) "Error creating sda5, code 1007) and a note that parted wasn't able to do the job...and, could not be used for expanding, adding, resizing or maybe somehting else, but could be used to assign mount points ... and, did i want to install anyway (well, NO!)..

    i abort which threw to ncurses install, and it too failed..BUT, i did learn that sda4 was sized at 1 kb, ONLY!

    which i figured i could expand to the end of the disk if i could find the right tool..
    booted, and found Win7 still available (THANK YOU devs)...downloaded and burned Parted Magic 4.5 (iaw Carl's how-to install openSUSE next to Win7)..

    booted from it (followed his instructions: failsafe) but instead of something i could use, it said (something like) "media containing pmagic-4.5.sqfs not found, try to mount device manually and report to the forums . . ."

    so, the partedMagic was ín the USB cd/dvd reader/writer ..and i couldn't figure out how to manually mount it.. tried to mount /dev/sdb .. what IS its name now days???? hmmmm, /dev/usb0 maybe

    so, anyone have any ideas on why the install script's parted may have failed? or why partedMagic can't find itself?

    oh, i also tried partedMagic by launching not as failsafe, but the first choice (run in ram) with same can't find error..

    SIGH..

    [sig info is all wrong, i'm currently trapped in Internet Exploder and Perpetually Updating7 Starter ]
    DD
    Caveat: http://is.gd/bpoMD
    Posted via http.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,391

    Default Re: Acer Aspire 1, error creating sda5 code 1007

    Can you show us fdisk -l ?
    parted wasn't able to do the job...and, could not be used for expanding, adding, resizing or maybe somehting else, but could be used to assign mount points ... and, did i want to install anyway (well, NO!)..
    and just for fun, parted -l

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,391

    Default Re: Acer Aspire 1, error creating sda5 code 1007

    -swap sda5 2GB
    "Error creating sda5, code 1007)
    i did learn that sda4 was sized at 1 kb, ONLY!
    Are you having fun with us @DenverD?
    Sorry, but I have seen your sense of humour at work before!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,391

    Default Re: Acer Aspire 1, error creating sda5 code 1007

    My above post is not all that useful!
    It is based on the fact that fdisk -l output was not included (in a situation involving partitioning I would have expected that output)

    and the following is not an accurate quote (you yourself would request an accurate quote of the error message)
    (not a quote, but) "Error creating sda5, code 1007)
    And there is this!
    11.4 KDE CD runs good..
    later followed by this
    [sig info is all wrong, i'm currently trapped in Internet Exploder and Perpetually Updating7 Starter ]
    What??

    Perhaps it's late in Denmark?

    Back to the problem at hand, I think you would do well using parted from the CLI (with that 11.4 KDE liveCD) to prepare your partitions for the install, parted from the CLI is not at all bad to use, although not advisable for everyone.
    I can give tips on getting gparted working for this, put I doubt that is needed.

    It would help to see that requested output though.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,733
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Acer Aspire 1, error creating sda5 code 1007

    You know that version of Pmagic is only pushed by me because it contains grub legacy.
    You could have had a corrupt download.
    You could try the latest offering of Pmagic.
    md5 for my .iso is: a900a6f46980b4cb238fa07ab41d5305
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Earth - Denmark
    Posts
    10,730

    Default Re: Acer Aspire 1, error creating sda5 code 1007

    so, i was able to coax the 11.3 live parted to do what the 11.4 DVD
    parted said it couldn't do (manually created the extended and 3
    partitions to mount) and then the DVD script was able to do the install
    slicker'en'snot..

    i wasn't able to find the needed amount of patience to figure out how to
    get all the stars aligned to do an fdisk with the 11.3 live and then
    boot to Perpetually Updating7 (aka: Win7, which should be at the very
    least Lose7) and get it pasted into the web side (ugh!) with Internet
    Exploder9 (double ugh ugh!!)

    tell ya what: compared to Win7 on this tiny little Acer Aspire One,
    openSUSE 11.4 KDE4 absolutely FLIES!! (while "Win7" stumbles along)

    hey, it takes LESS time to install and fully update openSUSE 11.4 than
    it does to just update Lose7... i am not kidding! first day 65 updates
    took 3 hours...second day 32 updates took 2 hours, third day 13 updates
    took almost two hours...and NONE of those occurred when *i* wanted it to
    happen....it ALWAYS happened when i wanted to shut down or boot up...i
    mean, how do you plan for that!?!?

    well, once i started the DVD install to now (with ALL data copied from
    the still perfect drive in the smoked 11.3 box) is a little over 3 hours
    and LOTS of that is copying data, filling in the needed software, and
    yes even a little 'tweaking' (like a pretty big alias file i can hardly
    live without)..

    by the way, tip: copy the old ~/.thunderbird to the new drive and THEN
    install Thunderbird, and it is born with YEARS of mail, and nntp
    messages, all in the right place!!

    cool,
    dd

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,391

    Default Re: Acer Aspire 1, error creating sda5 code 1007

    It's good to see you have it working well.
    I am interested in the problem you had with the 11.4 partitioner, were you using yast, or parted at the CLI? ( I believe yast uses parted, please correct me if I am wrong )
    i was able to coax the 11.3 live parted to do what the 11.4 DVD
    parted said it couldn't do (manually created the extended and 3
    partitions to mount)
    The Acer aspire 1 is popular, if the 11.4 installer has a problem with it, any details you have may be useful, thanks

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Acer Aspire 1, error creating sda5 code 1007

    On 2011-05-15 14:45, DenverD wrote:
    > so, i was able to coax the 11.3 live parted to do what the 11.4 DVD parted
    > said it couldn't do (manually created the extended and 3 partitions to
    > mount) and then the DVD script was able to do the install slicker'en'snot..


    I was thinking that you would have to shrink windows from inside windows. I
    hate those numeric error codes, there is no way to know what they mean. I
    thought it was only windows who did that, not linux.


    > i wasn't able to find the needed amount of patience to figure out how to
    > get all the stars aligned to do an fdisk with the 11.3 live and then boot
    > to Perpetually Updating7 (aka: Win7, which should be at the very least
    > Lose7) and get it pasted into the web side (ugh!) with Internet Exploder9
    > (double ugh ugh!!)


    Install FF in the windows side - that's one of the first things I do ;-)


    > hey, it takes LESS time to install and fully update openSUSE 11.4 than it
    > does to just update Lose7... i am not kidding! first day 65 updates took 3
    > hours...second day 32 updates took 2 hours, third day 13 updates took
    > almost two hours...and NONE of those occurred when *i* wanted it to
    > happen....it ALWAYS happened when i wanted to shut down or boot up...i
    > mean, how do you plan for that!?!?


    You can. They can be programmed to be automatic or manual. Once you get the
    pop with the updates, you can accept them all, some, or reject. And you can
    launch the checker later, manually.

    And yes, they are a lot of updates; consider that W7 has been out, how
    much, 2 years? It must be a lot of updates, like installing oS 11.2 now.

    I have a laptop dual boot, and I have to boot it about once a month in W7
    to update it all. Windows, the antivirus and firewall, and Java - they do
    updates independently. I want to update the antivirus/firewall first of
    all, and that is difficult. And it involves at least a reboot, sometimes
    three (one for the antivirus, one for windows itself, sometimes two (video
    driver, I think)).

    > by the way, tip: copy the old ~/.thunderbird to the new drive and THEN
    > install Thunderbird, and it is born with YEARS of mail, and nntp messages,
    > all in the right place!!


    I know. Plus: you can get it in windows, too. :-p

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.2 x86_64 "Emerald" at Telcontar)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Earth - Denmark
    Posts
    10,730

    Default Re: Acer Aspire 1, error creating sda5 code 1007

    On 05/15/2011 04:36 PM, dvhenry wrote:
    >
    > I am interested in the problem you had with the 11.4 partitioner, were
    > you using yast, or parted at the CLI? ( I believe yast uses parted,
    > please correct me if I am wrong )


    i think i gave all most all the details i had the first time i posted:

    using a media checked 32 bit DVD, the install script proposed what i
    wrote in post one...when i clicked "Install" the install script doing
    whatever it does (i GUESS run the on disk parted) reported (back to the
    still open install screen) "Error creating sda5, code 1007" along with
    additional info already reported..

    so, to your questions:

    -i was not using yast [was using the install routine]

    -i was not using parted [was using the install routine]

    --
    dd CAVEAT: http://is.gd/bpoMD
    [NNTP via openSUSE 11.4 [2.6.37.6-0.5] + KDE 4.6.0 + Thunderbird 3.1.10]
    Dual booting with Sluggish Loser7 on Acer Aspire One D255

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •