Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: WARNING! errors 0 Skipped probes xx

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4

    Default WARNING! errors 0 Skipped probes xx

    Hello,
    I have recently moved over to opensuse 11.4 (never used any Linux before), I have installed all updates and am using the latest KDE. (I am using a laptop, not sure if this is relevant)
    I have found using the system fairly easy and found all the help I need either here, or out on the net.

    However, I cannot find much information about the above error message that I sometimes get. I have only noticed this error occasionally when I resume from sleep mode, or when I turn the computer off. I haven't seen the message anywhere else (pop up window, konsole etc)
    Sometimes the skipped probes is as high as 70, other times as low as 10.
    I don't know what it is scanning(?)
    Can anyone help identify this for me?
    Many thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: WARNING! errors 0 Skipped probes xx

    I am seeing more of these error messages (at resumption from sleep, or at shut down)

    WARNING: Errors 0 Skipped Probes 26

    I cannot find information on it, and cannot find anything on my system that may be doing this.
    Could someone please help identify this for me, it worries me.
    I'm not sure if I have posted in the wrong page, or not explained myself properly.

    Any help would be appreciated.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Earth - Denmark
    Posts
    10,730

    Default Re: WARNING! errors 0 Skipped probes xx

    On 05/13/2011 01:36 PM, BungleJones wrote:
    >
    > I haven't seen the message anywhere else (pop up window, konsole etc)


    welcome to the forum!!!


    i found this: http://sourceware.org/systemtap/wiki/TipSkippedProbes

    but don't know how to help more...hang around (there are LOTS smarter
    than me)

    --
    dd CAVEAT: http://is.gd/bpoMD
    [NNTP via openSUSE 11.4 [2.6.37.6-0.5] + KDE 4.6.0 + Thunderbird 3.1.10]
    Dual booting with Sluggish Loser7 on Acer Aspire One D255

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    405

    Default Re: WARNING! errors 0 Skipped probes xx

    I have been seeing the same message recently, and occasionally at shutdown instead of a list of processes stopping, I get a console log-in prompt before the PC shuts down.

    As a puzzled explorer penguin, TipSkippedProbes - Systemtap Wiki wasn't much help.
    Desktop: AMD Athlon(tm) II X3 455 3.3 Ghz | 4 GB RAM | GeForce GT 630

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Earth - Denmark
    Posts
    10,730

    Default Re: WARNING! errors 0 Skipped probes xx

    On 05/18/2011 04:36 AM, rafter22 wrote:
    >
    > I have been seeing the same message recently, and occasionally at
    > shutdown instead of a list of processes stopping, I get a console log-in
    > prompt before the PC shuts down.


    ok 'rafte22' and 'BungleJones' why don't both of you give us a rundown
    on your hardware and software...cause i _guess_ you two are sharing a
    bug in the shutdown (or something) script and the devs will wanna know
    where, how and under what conditions this bug skips probe handlers, so:

    1. operating system/version/bits?
    2. format install or upgrade from previous or other distro? saving home?
    3. fully updated from only oss, non-oss, update and packman?
    4. any installs from build service/community repos? which/what?
    5. _any_ downloads from factory, playground or Tumbleweed?
    6. hardware make/model?
    7. CPU maker/cores, etc
    8. amount of RAM
    9. graphics/driver?
    10. latest bios?
    11. number of drives and type, file systems...any USB drives attached?
    what file systems on those?
    12. anything else which might set your system apart from the hundreds of
    thousands of openSUSE's running *without* this problem??

    soon, i think one of you will need to visit bugzilla to begin the
    report...and, then the other will need to add their details..

    --
    dd CAVEAT: http://is.gd/bpoMD
    [NNTP via openSUSE 11.4 [2.6.37.6-0.5] + KDE 4.6.0 + Thunderbird 3.1.10]
    Dual booting with Sluggish Loser7 on Acer Aspire One D255

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: WARNING! errors 0 Skipped probes xx

    On 2011-05-18 11:15, DenverD wrote:
    > On 05/18/2011 04:36 AM, rafter22 wrote:
    >>
    >> I have been seeing the same message recently, and occasionally at
    >> shutdown instead of a list of processes stopping, I get a console log-in
    >> prompt before the PC shuts down.

    >
    > ok 'rafte22' and 'BungleJones' why don't both of you give us a rundown on
    > your hardware and software...cause i _guess_ you two are sharing a bug in
    > the shutdown (or something) script and the devs will wanna know where, how
    > and under what conditions this bug skips probe handlers, so:


    I would like to know where they are seeing those messages. Pop up, window,
    message log? Is that the full message? If it is the message log, some
    context would be interesting. Or a photo if nothing else.


    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.2 x86_64 "Emerald" at Telcontar)

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    405

    Default Re: WARNING! errors 0 Skipped probes xx

    Quote Originally Posted by robin_listas View Post
    On 2011-05-18 11:15, DenverD wrote:
    > On 05/18/2011 04:36 AM, rafter22 wrote:
    >>
    >> I have been seeing the same message recently, and occasionally at
    >> shutdown instead of a list of processes stopping, I get a console log-in
    >> prompt before the PC shuts down.

    >
    > ok 'rafte22' and 'BungleJones' why don't both of you give us a rundown on
    > your hardware and software...cause i _guess_ you two are sharing a bug in
    > the shutdown (or something) script and the devs will wanna know where, how
    > and under what conditions this bug skips probe handlers, so:


    I would like to know where they are seeing those messages. Pop up, window,
    message log? Is that the full message? If it is the message log, some
    context would be interesting. Or a photo if nothing else.


    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.2 x86_64 "Emerald" at Telcontar)
    Upon shutdown at the very end of the the process, before the power goes off for the warning! errors 0 skipped probes xx message and
    Quote Originally Posted by rafter22
    and occasionally at
    shutdown instead of a list of processes stopping, I get a console log-in
    prompt before the PC shuts down.
    If I knew how to save a screenshot when the PC is being shutdown and the power goes off, I would post one.

    Can't find it in any message logs. Is there a shutdown message?

    Did find some interesting garbage in /var/log like 41 firewall bz2 files with every other day as the date of the file. dating from 02/05/2011 until today, among other thing I wonder If I need to keep. But that's another topic.

    I'll work on the rundown of hardware and software. May be awhile. I'm trying to remember what was installed just prior to seeing the warning! message. Guess I should document every change made.
    Desktop: AMD Athlon(tm) II X3 455 3.3 Ghz | 4 GB RAM | GeForce GT 630

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: WARNING! errors 0 Skipped probes xx

    The message only is visible briefly when the laptop resumes from sleep, just before it asks for your password. Also when I shut the laptop down, it freezes and displays the message (I simply press enter then hit the power button and the shut down procedure carries on as normal). I don't think I can screenshot and of these. I have tried looking in Konsole, and there is no notification or pop up window.

    I fresh installed (after complete format) openSUSE 11.4 from .iso DVD (official website), and am using latest KDE (4.6)
    I have installed all updates available through 'yast', and all additional software through 'software management'
    I have installed Hydrogen, clamav, Klamav, google chrome, python (bits and pieces)
    I have had amor installed.
    I have no scheduled tasks.
    System was installed 3 weeks ago, so not much has changed yet.
    Other software was installed after the messages began appearing.
    I have 2GHz cpu, 2GB RAM, 3GB Swap, on board sound and graphics, using wireless, ASUS laptop.
    I can supply more detailed information. My computing knowledge isn't too bad, it's my linux knowledge that lacks.

    Thank you for your help and assistance.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Earth - Denmark
    Posts
    10,730

    Default Re: WARNING! errors 0 Skipped probes xx

    On 05/18/2011 07:06 PM, BungleJones wrote:
    > Thank you for your help and assistance.


    ok, i understand the warning appears on the screen as one line in that
    scrolling text visible during shutdown..

    both of you need to issue the following command in a terminal, and
    copy/paste it back to this thread

    Code:
    uname -a
    @Carlos, what else before they log their bug?

    --
    dd CAVEAT: http://is.gd/bpoMD
    [NNTP via openSUSE 11.4 [2.6.37.6-0.5] + KDE 4.6.0 + Thunderbird 3.1.10]
    Dual booting with Sluggish Loser7 on Acer Aspire One D255

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    405

    Default Re: WARNING! errors 0 Skipped probes xx

    Here is my requested data. What might be common since we are using different openSUSE versions? His is a laptop. Mine a desktop.

    Desktop Hardware

    Gigabyte K8N Ultra-9 Mainboard
    BIOS - Whatever version the board came with-never updated.
    AMD Athlon 64 Processor 3000+ 1.8 GHz
    Memory 2.0 GiB
    Western Digital WD600BB-00CA 60 GiB Hard Drive / (30 GiB, 5.3 GiB used) and /swap (4 GiB)
    Seagate ST31000340AS 1 TB Hard Drive /home (67 GiB used)
    LITE-ON DVDRW SHM-165H6H
    Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" Monitor

    Software
    openSUSE 11.3 64 bit - Gnome 2.30 Desktop
    Clean Install reusing /home from my opensSUSE 11.2 install

    Seamonkey 2.0.13 (repo install) and 2.1RC1 (manual install), Thunderbird 3.1.10 (repo install) and 3.3a4 (manual install), Firefox 4.0.1 (repo install) and Firefox 5.0a2 (manual install), Wine, Aptana Studio, Netbeans, KMyMoney, Vuze, Gwenview, almost forgot Chromium.

    No downloads from factory or Tumbleweed. Playground?

    Recent software updates

    Installed 04/28/2011
    kernel-desktop 2.6.34.8-0.2.1
    kernel-desktop-base 2.6.34.8-0.2.1
    preload-kmp-desktop 1.1_k2.6.34.0_0.2-19.1.19

    Installed 05/01/2011
    nvidia-gfxG02-kmp-desktop 270.41.06

    Installed 05/10/2011
    java-1_6_0-sun 1.6.0u25-0.2.1
    java-1_6_0-sun-plugin 1.6.0u25-0.2.1

    Installed 05/13/2011
    flash-player 10.3.181.14-0.2.1

    Packman updates 05/15/2011

    Code:
    wschw01@linux-up0q:~> uname -a
    Linux linux-up0q 2.6.34.8-0.2-desktop #1 SMP PREEMPT 2011-04-06 18:11:26 +0200 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux
    Last edited by rafter22; 18-May-2011 at 10:52. Reason: Results of uname -a
    Desktop: AMD Athlon(tm) II X3 455 3.3 Ghz | 4 GB RAM | GeForce GT 630

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •