Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Wireless Card Not Working?

Default Wireless Card Not Working?

I'm completely new to openSUSE and when I installed it, my wireless card isn't apparently found. The light on the keyboard doesn't turn on signaling there is a wireless card. I'm not really sure what to do to fix this so any help would be great.

Also, I'm really new to linux so be advised that if your answer, however helpful it may be, isn't dumbed down, I will struggle with it.

Thanks!

I should have also said I'm using the KDE thing, not the GNOME.

Default Re: Wireless Card Not Working?

Welcome to openSuse

Open up a terminal and post the output of
    Code:
    lspci
    inside of a CODE tags. In the advanced reply on the forums there is a CODE button.

Also install rfkill in the command line
    Code:
    sudo zypper in rfkill
    and post the output of
    Code:
    rfkill list
    Vaio F11: i7-720QM 8GB RAM Nvidia GT 330m
    Win 7 Pro 64 bit | openSuse 11.4 64 bit | Arch Linux 64 bit

So now I can't get on the internet at all. In the lower right hand corner where there was an icon showing a wired connection, I right clicked on it and accidently disabled wired connections. I will do those terminal runs tomorrow but now I can't even get online with that computer. How do I also turn on wired connections again?

Got the wired working again. Will do the terminal codes and then post them.

lspci:
    Code:
    Absolute path to 'lspci' is '/sbin/lspci', so running it may require superuser privileges (eg. root).
    Installed refkill. That seemed to go without any problem.

rfkill list:
    Code:
    Absolute path to 'rfkill' is '/usr/sbin/rfkill', so running it may require superuser privileges (eg. root).

Tried it again when I found a terminal program that said it was the super user mode so here are the outputs again:

lspci:
    Code:
    00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile 915GM/PM/GMS/910GML Express Processor to DRAM Controller (rev 03)