Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: no desktop effects

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    EU
    Posts
    32

    Default no desktop effects

    Intel Atom Dual Core D525 @ 1.80GHz, 1,0GB RAM, Intel Graphics Media Accelator 3150
    I have opensuse 11.4 KDE along with window 7 and Ubuntu installed, this graphics card runs the windows aero themes and Ubuntu's unity and compiz very well but fails to run the desktop effects on opensuse, every-time I login Kwin displays a message desktop effects are temporally disabled.
    is this a bug?
    I haven't installed the updates yet, I cant right now due to slow internet, will updates fix the problem?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Belgrade, Serbia
    Posts
    719

    Default Re: no desktop effects

    I dont have intel card, but this smells like a driver problem. Try fix driver by updating it, or compiling it from source.
    Emil Beli
    http://www.beli.ws/blog/
    openSUSE 11.4 x64 KDE, ATI 5600, i7 dell inspire laptop

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    EU
    Posts
    32

    Default Re: no desktop effects

    what command can I use to check which Intel graphic driver is in use?
    lshw doesn't work on opensuse.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    EU
    Posts
    32

    Default Re: no desktop effects

    Vendor: Intel Corporation
    Model: Pineview Integrated Graphics Controller
    2D driver: intel
    3D driver: Unknown classic (7.10)
    driver=i915, same driver ubuntu is using but 3D not working in opensuse

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Aveiro, Portugal
    Posts
    313

    Default Re: no desktop effects

    Output of ~/.xsession-errors please.

  6. #6

    Default Re: no desktop effects

    Hi. I have the same problem (I don't see any message when logging in but it says desktop effects are temporary disabled in Configure Desktop). I use opensuse 11.4 64bit and updated it to kde 4.6.2.
    I have a Dell XPS laptop, with Intel GPU (which linux sees) and nVidia GPU. Linux can see the intel gpu because my laptop has nvidia optimus technology that linux has no driver for. but I have installed nvidia drivers because I hat to use CUDA, but specified not to change x config (in that case i would see no display because of optimus). by looking at that file I guess opengl has some problems with my configuration. here's xsession-errors, I removed many of it's line because of space limitation. other lines look similar to these or are from other applications.

    /etc/X11/xim: Checking whether an input method should be started.
    sourcing /etc/sysconfig/language to get the value of INPUT_METHOD
    INPUT_METHOD is not set or empty (no user selected input method).
    Trying to start a default input method for the locale en_US.UTF-8 ...
    There is no default input method for the current locale.
    Dummy input method "none" (do not use any fancy input method by default)
    startkde: Starting up...
    Connecting to deprecated signal QDBusConnectionInterface::serviceOwnerChanged(QString,QString,QString)
    kbuildsycoca4 running...
    Object::connect: No such signal QDBusAbstractInterface:eviceAdded(const QString&)
    Object::connect: No such signal QDBusAbstractInterface:eviceRemoved(const QString&)
    kded(1901): dbus error: "org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.ServiceUnknown" : "The name org.freedesktop.Hal was not provided by any .service files"
    kded(1901): dbus error: "org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.ServiceUnknown" : "The name org.freedesktop.Hal was not provided by any .service files"
    QDBusObjectPath: invalid path ""
    X Error: BadValue (integer parameter out of range for operation) 2
    Major opcode: 102 (X_ChangeKeyboardControl)
    Resource id: 0xffffffd0
    Xlib: extension "GLX" missing on display ":0".
    Xlib: extension "GLX" missing on display ":0".
    kwin(1934): ""fsrestore1" - conversion of "0,0,0,0" to QRect failed"
    kwin(1934): ""restore2" - conversion of "0,0,0,0" to QRect failed"
    kwin(1934): ""fsrestore2" - conversion of "0,0,0,0" to QRect failed"
    Xlib: extension "GLX" missing on display ":0".
    Xlib: extension "GLX" missing on display ":0".
    Object::connect: No such signal QDBusAbstractInterface::Changed()
    Invalid D-BUS member name 'idle-hint' found in interface 'org.freedesktop.ConsoleKit.Session' while parsing introspection
    Invalid D-BUS member name 'is-local' found in interface 'org.freedesktop.ConsoleKit.Session' while parsing introspection
    Invalid D-BUS member name 'x11-display-device' found in interface 'org.freedesktop.ConsoleKit.Session' while parsing introspection
    Invalid D-BUS member name 'x11-display' found in interface 'org.freedesktop.ConsoleKit.Session' while parsing introspection
    Invalid D-BUS member name 'display-device' found in interface 'org.freedesktop.ConsoleKit.Session' while parsing introspection
    Invalid D-BUS member name 'remote-host-name' found in interface 'org.freedesktop.ConsoleKit.Session' while parsing introspection
    Invalid D-BUS member name 'session-type' found in interface 'org.freedesktop.ConsoleKit.Session' while parsing introspection
    Invalid D-BUS member name 'unix-user' found in interface 'org.freedesktop.ConsoleKit.Session' while parsing introspection
    QDBusConnection: name 'org.kde.kglobalaccel' had owner '' but we thought it was ':1.5'
    kwin(1934): Failed to initialize compositing, compositing disabled
    kwin(1934): Consult Projects/KWin/4.0-release-notes - KDE TechBase
    QDBusObjectPath: invalid path ""
    QObject::connect: Cannot connect (null)::deviceCreated(Device*) to Monolithic::deviceCreated(Device*)
    QObject::connect: Cannot connect (null)::deviceDisappeared(Device*) to Monolithic::regenerateDeviceEntries()
    QObject::connect: Cannot connect (null)::deviceRemoved(Device*) to Monolithic::regenerateDeviceEntries()
    Object::disconnect: Unexpected null parameter
    Object::disconnect: Unexpected null parameter
    Object::disconnect: Unexpected null parameter
    klauncher(1899) KConfigGroup::readXdgListEntry: List entry OnlyShowIn in "/etc/xdg/autostart/ksmolt-autostart.desktop" is not compliant with XDG standard (missing trailing semicolon).
    QDBusObjectPath: invalid path ""
    plasma-desktop(1972)/libplasma Plasma::FrameSvg::resizeFrame: Invalid size QSizeF(0, 0)
    plasma-desktop(1972)/libplasma Plasma::FrameSvg::resizeFrame: Invalid size QSizeF(0, 0)
    plasma-desktop(1972)/libplasma Plasma::FrameSvg::resizeFrame: Invalid size QSizeF(0, 0)
    plasma-desktop(1972)/libplasma Plasma::FrameSvg::resizeFrame: Invalid size QSizeF(0, 0)
    plasma-desktop(1972)/libplasma Plasma::FrameSvg::resizeFrame: Invalid size QSizeF(0, 0)
    plasma-desktop(1972)/libplasma Plasma::FrameSvg::resizeFrame: Invalid size QSizeF(0, 0)
    plasma-desktop(1972)/libplasma Plasma::FrameSvg::resizeFrame: Invalid size QSizeF(0, 0)
    plasma-desktop(1972)/libplasma Plasma::FrameSvg::resizeFrame: Invalid size QSizeF(0, 0)
    plasma-desktop(1972)/libplasma Plasma::FrameSvg::resizeFrame: Invalid size QSizeF(0, 0)
    plasma-desktop(1972)/libplasma Plasma::FrameSvg::resizeFrame: Invalid size QSizeF(0, 0)
    plasma-desktop(1972)/libplasma Plasma::FrameSvg::resizeFrame: Invalid size QSizeF(0, 0)
    plasma-desktop(1972)/libplasma Plasma::FrameSvg::resizeFrame: Invalid size QSizeF(0, 0)
    Object::connect: No such signal KWindowSystem::windowChanged(WId,unsigned long*)
    plasma-desktop(1972)/libplasma Plasma::FrameSvg::resizeFrame: Invalid size QSizeF(-5, -3)
    plasma-desktop(1972)/libplasma Plasma::FrameSvg::resizeFrame: Invalid size QSizeF(-5, -3)
    plasma-desktop(1972)/libplasma Plasma::FrameSvg::resizeFrame: Invalid size QSizeF(-5, -3)
    plasma-desktop(1972)/libplasma Plasma::FrameSvg::resizeFrame: Invalid size QSizeF(0, 0)
    link XMLID_34_ hasn't been detected!
    link XMLID_34_ hasn't been detected!
    link XMLID_36_ hasn't been detected!
    plasma-desktop(1972)/libplasma Plasma::FrameSvg::resizeFrame: Invalid size QSizeF(0, 0)
    plasma-desktop(1972)/libplasma Plasma::FrameSvg::resizeFrame: Invalid size QSizeF(0, 0)
    Object::connect: No such signal QDBusAbstractInterface::Changed()
    plasma-desktop(1972)/libplasma Plasma::FrameSvg::resizeFrame: Invalid size QSizeF(0, 0)
    plasma-desktop(1972)/kdecore (services) KServicePrivate::init: The desktop entry file "/usr/share/kde4/services/sysinfo.protocol" has Type= "Application" but no Exec line

    Xlib: extension "GLX" missing on display ":0".
    Xlib: extension "GLX" missing on display ":0".
    Xlib: extension "GLX" missing on display ":0".
    Application asked to unregister timer 0x59000008 which is not registered in this thread. Fix application.
    Xlib: extension "GLX" missing on display ":0".
    kwin(1934): Failed to initialize compositing, compositing disabled
    kwin(1934): Consult Projects/KWin/4.0-release-notes - KDE TechBase
    Xlib: extension "GLX" missing on display ":0".
    kwin(1934): Failed to initialize compositing, compositing disabled
    kwin(1934): Consult Projects/KWin/4.0-release-notes - KDE TechBase
    Xlib: extension "GLX" missing on display ":0".
    kwin(1934): Failed to initialize compositing, compositing disabled
    kwin(1934): Consult Projects/KWin/4.0-release-notes - KDE TechBase
    Application asked to unregister timer 0x5b000050 which is not registered in this thread. Fix application.
    plasma-desktop(1972)/plasma StatusNotifierItemSource::refreshCallback: DBusMenu disabled for this application
    klauncher(1899)/kio (KLauncher): SlavePool: No communication with slave.

    klauncher(1899)/kio (KLauncher): SlavePool: No communication with slave.

    klauncher(1899)/kio (KLauncher): SlavePool: No communication with slave.

    klauncher(1899)/kio (KLauncher): SlavePool: No communication with slave.

    plasma-desktop(1972)/plasma StatusNotifierItemSource::refreshCallback: DBusMenu disabled for this application
    klauncher(1899)/kio (KLauncher): SlavePool: No communication with slave.

    klauncher(1899)/kio (KLauncher): SlavePool: No communication with slave.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Delhi, INdia
    Posts
    108

    Default Re: no desktop effects

    try to disable the blur effect, solved my problem, all other effects are working fine...

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    EU
    Posts
    32

    Default Re: no desktop effects

    Quote Originally Posted by pawanyadav View Post
    try to disable the blur effect, solved my problem, all other effects are working fine...
    had to disable blur and another two effects so it's partly working now
    thanks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •