Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: So no gui configuration for displays/video exists anymore?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Taft, Republic of California. UTC -8
    Posts
    1,474

    Default So no gui configuration for displays/video exists anymore?

    I have been trying to configure dual monitors of different resolutions on 11.4 the Nvidia configuration utility does not know where or what to save anything anymore and goes wonky. Trying to use it is a dead end for me.

    X11 is a mess. What happened to SAX and things like this that were part of openSUSE and just worked? Supposedly we X11 got better. I think it's got over complicated and much worse. Sorry to rant. This stuff just worked in 11.1 and KDE 3.
    Tumbleweed

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Taft, Republic of California. UTC -8
    Posts
    1,474

    Default Re: So no gui configuration for displays/video exists anymore?

    Tumbleweed

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA, USA
    Posts
    148

    Default Re: So no gui configuration for displays/video exists anymore?

    Just like FlameBait showed you (assuming you use KDE), that's where you configure your screen and multiple monitors. I have Nvidia graphics card and i use the Nouveau drivers over the Nvidia ones.It's smooth and fast and i also configured two displays where one is on the right of the other, not duplicate view. They are not the same monitors so the resolution is different per monitor.

    it is very easy to setup.
    WE ARE LINUX... RESISTANCE IS FUTILE !!
    openSUSE 13.1, KDE
    2 daughters, 1 Dog, lots of passion for Linux

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: So no gui configuration for displays/video exists anymore?

    On 2011-05-05 02:06, FlameBait wrote:
    > What happened to SAX and things like this that were


    Disappeared in 11.3, nobody volunteered to maintain it. There is a project
    to create a new sax, I think part of the google summer of code or another
    similar project.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.2 x86_64 "Emerald" at Telcontar)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Taft, Republic of California. UTC -8
    Posts
    1,474

    Default Re: So no gui configuration for displays/video exists anymore?

    Quote Originally Posted by Argoson View Post
    Just like FlameBait showed you (assuming you use KDE), that's where you configure your screen and multiple monitors. I have Nvidia graphics card and i use the Nouveau drivers over the Nvidia ones.It's smooth and fast and i also configured two displays where one is on the right of the other, not duplicate view. They are not the same monitors so the resolution is different per monitor.

    it is very easy to setup.
    That is what KDE shows, only one monitor, the Nvidia configuration app shows both monitors and the correct resolutions for them but there is no way to save the configuration. It doesn't know where to save the configuration file. The progam goes wonky and doesn't do anything.

    It's broken this is a MAJOR failure. Things that once just worked should not be broken just so the Devs and do something new. FAIL to the maximum.
    Tumbleweed

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA, USA
    Posts
    148

    Default Re: So no gui configuration for displays/video exists anymore?

    Quote Originally Posted by FlameBait View Post
    That is what KDE shows, only one monitor, the Nvidia configuration app shows both monitors and the correct resolutions for them but there is no way to save the configuration. It doesn't know where to save the configuration file. The progam goes wonky and doesn't do anything.

    It's broken this is a MAJOR failure. Things that once just worked should not be broken just so the Devs and do something new. FAIL to the maximum.
    What version of KDE are you using ? 4.4 had a not saving the configuration. 4.6 workes .
    WE ARE LINUX... RESISTANCE IS FUTILE !!
    openSUSE 13.1, KDE
    2 daughters, 1 Dog, lots of passion for Linux

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Taft, Republic of California. UTC -8
    Posts
    1,474

    Default Re: So no gui configuration for displays/video exists anymore?

    Whatever openSUSE 11.4 ships with.
    4.6.0.0 is what the KDE "Personal Settings" says
    Tumbleweed

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA, USA
    Posts
    148

    Default Re: So no gui configuration for displays/video exists anymore?

    can you update to 4.6.2 ? later tonight i'll be in front of my KDE computer and i'll try to go over the steps for you
    WE ARE LINUX... RESISTANCE IS FUTILE !!
    openSUSE 13.1, KDE
    2 daughters, 1 Dog, lots of passion for Linux

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Taft, Republic of California. UTC -8
    Posts
    1,474

    Default Re: So no gui configuration for displays/video exists anymore?

    Quote Originally Posted by Argoson View Post
    can you update to 4.6.2 ? later tonight i'll be in front of my KDE computer and i'll try to go over the steps for you
    Thanks for the offer but I want to keep the KDE 11.4 shipped with.
    Tumbleweed

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Taft, Republic of California. UTC -8
    Posts
    1,474

    Default Re: So no gui configuration for displays/video exists anymore?

    Well I have gone through YAST and all the configuration items and can't see where you obtain the god like powers to enable two displays.
    It's pretty much the same in Ubuntu 11.04 though which I installed yesterday on a spare drive. It was totally clueless about the second monitor as well.

    This is what I have one monitor ( the main monitor ) 1920 x 1080 at 60 Hz and (the second montior) one at 1366X768 at 60 Hz.
    I want them set at different resolutions not both at 1366X768.

    KDE "Personal Settings"> "Display and Monitor"> "Mutiple Monitors" shows only the 1920X1080 monitor and tells me I have no more monitors.
    "Configure Nvidia X Settings"> "X Server Display Configuration" Shows the second monitor as disabled but detects it.
    It will not detect where and what filename it's supposed to change and even if it did it would not be able to change anything in etc/X11/ as it's not got those rights and I see no way to obtain them even if I knew the proper directory and filename.
    YAST has no dual monitor configuration tool.

    I need an answer besides X11 and KDE 4 is broken.
    Tumbleweed

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •