Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 34

Thread: No display after online update

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    26,522
    Blog Entries
    37

    Default Re: No display after online update

    Quote Originally Posted by rossff View Post
    Thanks.

    I either do not have ssh running on the desktop or it is blocked by the firewall - in either case, I cannot remote login to the machine from the laptop.

    I cannot check the boot logs because these will be different when booting from the DVD, correct? Or is there some way I can read the boot logs on the hard drive after booting the rescue system?
    Hmmm ... there should be a boot.omsg that might have the pre-requisite information. Don't you have a liveCD anywhere? A liveCD won't write to the drive (unless one forces it to do so). I always have a few liveCDs kicking around (and carry one when I travel) just so that I have it handy for emergencies.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: No display after online update

    On 2011-04-30 23:06, rossff wrote:
    >
    > Thanks.
    >
    > I either do not have ssh running on the desktop or it is blocked by the
    > firewall - in either case, I cannot remote login to the machine from the
    > laptop.


    Too bad. That's the first thing I change in an install.

    > I cannot check the boot logs because these will be different when
    > booting from the DVD, correct?


    No.

    There will be the logs of the DVD, and the logs of the HD.

    > Or is there some way I can read the boot
    > logs on the hard drive after booting the rescue system?


    Yes, of course. You mount the harddisk somewhere, and read it :-)

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.2 x86_64 "Emerald" at Telcontar)

  3. #13

    Default Re: No display after online update

    Well, I reverted back to the previous Kernel and state using the install DVD, so I'm back up again. I'll start by enabling SSH :-) and do some other poking around and see if I can change a driver setting before the update such that it works after? Anyway, we'll see...

    Thanks for the help Carlos!

    Cheers,
    Frank

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: No display after online update

    On 2011-05-01 02:06, rossff wrote:
    > Well, I reverted back to the previous Kernel and state using the install
    > DVD, so I'm back up again. I'll start by enabling SSH :-) and do some
    > other poking around and see if I can change a driver setting before the
    > update such that it works after? Anyway, we'll see...


    Another trick: enable multiversion for the kernel. That way if a kernel
    fails, you can still boot with the previous one.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.2 x86_64 "Emerald" at Telcontar)

  5. #15

    Default Re: No display after online update

    Thanks Carlos, that I will figure out how to do next. That should make it much easier.

    I found the following in /var/log/messages: Apr 30 19:01:22 linux-emqk kernel: [ 33.546713] [drm:drm_mode_getfb] *ERROR* invalid framebuffer id
    which does not seem to appear when booting the old kernel. However, I can't be completely sure, yet...

    -Frank

  6. #16

    Default Re: No display after online update

    Okay, multisession enabled (whew, much better), and loaded the new kernel, no other updates, and confirmed same problem. So, at least I know it is the kernel update that is the issue. As soon as I can get back on the laptop I'll make sure I can ssh through the firewall and then I might be able to boot the new kernel and compare the boot messages to the old kernel boot messages.

    Let me know if you have any other ideas or suggestions.

    -Frank

  7. #17

    Default Re: No display after online update

    Okay, found something when comparing boot.msg to boot.omsg. There is definitely a difference in the initialization of the video card such that the DVI connector does note get detected with the old kernel:

    OLD:
    <6>[ 6.819094] [drm] register mmio base: 0xFE9E0000
    <6>[ 6.819097] [drm] register mmio size: 65536
    <6>[ 6.819995] agpgart-intel 0000:00:00.0: AGP 3.0 bridge
    <6>[ 6.820063] agpgart-intel 0000:00:00.0: putting AGP V3 device into 8x mode
    <6>[ 6.820100] radeon 0000:01:00.0: putting AGP V3 device into 8x mode
    <6>[ 6.820143] radeon 0000:01:00.0: GTT: 128M 0xE0000000 - 0xE7FFFFFF
    <6>[ 6.820148] [drm] Generation 1 PCI interface in multifunction mode
    <6>[ 6.820150] [drm] Limiting VRAM to one aperture
    <6>[ 6.820155] radeon 0000:01:00.0: VRAM: 128M 0x00000000F0000000 - 0x00000000F7FFFFFF (128M used)
    <6>[ 6.820195] [drm] radeon: irq initialized.
    <6>[ 6.820291] [drm] Detected VRAM RAM=128M, BAR=128M
    <6>[ 6.820296] [drm] RAM width 256bits DDR
    <6>[ 6.821828] [TTM] Zone kernel: Available graphics memory: 433124 kiB.
    <6>[ 6.821833] [TTM] Zone highmem: Available graphics memory: 1288912 kiB.
    <6>[ 6.821835] [TTM] Initializing pool allocator.
    <6>[ 6.821860] [drm] radeon: 128M of VRAM memory ready
    <6>[ 6.821864] [drm] radeon: 128M of GTT memory ready.
    <6>[ 6.821900] [drm] radeon: 2 quad pipes, 1 Z pipes initialized.
    <6>[ 6.822976] radeon 0000:01:00.0: WB disabled
    <6>[ 6.823062] [drm] Loading R300 Microcode
    <6>[ 6.827428] [drm] radeon: ring at 0x00000000E0001000
    <6>[ 6.827451] [drm] ring test succeeded in 1 usecs
    <6>[ 6.827767] [drm] radeon: ib pool ready.
    <6>[ 6.827842] [drm] ib test succeeded in 0 usecs
    <4>[ 6.827881] Radeon i2c bit bus DVI_DDC: bus seems to be busy
    <3>[ 6.828262] [drm:radeon_i2c_create] *ERROR* Failed to register bit i2c DVI_DDC
    <4>[ 6.828279] Radeon i2c bit bus VGA_DDC: bus seems to be busy
    <3>[ 6.828318] [drm:radeon_i2c_create] *ERROR* Failed to register bit i2c VGA_DDC
    <4>[ 6.828382] Radeon i2c bit bus MONID: bus seems to be busy
    <3>[ 6.840039] [drm:radeon_i2c_create] *ERROR* Failed to register bit i2c MONID
    <6>[ 6.840145] [drm] Radeon Display Connectors
    <6>[ 6.840148] [drm] Connector 0:
    <6>[ 6.840150] [drm] S-video
    <6>[ 6.840151] [drm] Encoders:
    <6>[ 6.840153] [drm] TV1: INTERNAL_DAC2
    <6>[ 6.850111] No connectors reported connected with modes
    <6>[ 6.850116] [drm] Cannot find any crtc or sizes - going 1024x768
    <6>[ 6.864604] [drm] fb mappable at 0xF0040000
    <6>[ 6.864606] [drm] vram apper at 0xF0000000
    <6>[ 6.864608] [drm] size 3145728
    <6>[ 6.864610] [drm] fb depth is 24
    <6>[ 6.864612] [drm] pitch is 4096

    NEW
    <6>[ 6.781154] radeon 0000:01:00.0: PCI INT A -> GSI 16 (level, low) -> IRQ 16
    <6>[ 6.783685] [drm] initializing kernel modesetting (R350 0x1002:0x4E48).
    <6>[ 6.785217] [drm] register mmio base: 0xFE9E0000
    <6>[ 6.785221] [drm] register mmio size: 65536
    <6>[ 6.786152] agpgart-intel 0000:00:00.0: AGP 3.0 bridge
    <6>[ 6.786170] agpgart-intel 0000:00:00.0: putting AGP V3 device into 8x mode
    <6>[ 6.786204] radeon 0000:01:00.0: putting AGP V3 device into 8x mode
    <6>[ 6.786246] radeon 0000:01:00.0: GTT: 128M 0xE0000000 - 0xE7FFFFFF
    <6>[ 6.786251] [drm] Generation 1 PCI interface in multifunction mode
    <6>[ 6.786253] [drm] Limiting VRAM to one aperture
    <6>[ 6.786258] radeon 0000:01:00.0: VRAM: 128M 0x00000000F0000000 - 0x00000000F7FFFFFF (128M used)
    <6>[ 6.786303] [drm] radeon: irq initialized.
    <6>[ 6.786390] [drm] Detected VRAM RAM=128M, BAR=128M
    <6>[ 6.786395] [drm] RAM width 256bits DDR
    <6>[ 6.786598] [TTM] Zone kernel: Available graphics memory: 433128 kiB.
    <6>[ 6.786601] [TTM] Zone highmem: Available graphics memory: 1288916 kiB.
    <6>[ 6.786604] [TTM] Initializing pool allocator.
    <6>[ 6.786625] [drm] radeon: 128M of VRAM memory ready
    <6>[ 6.786628] [drm] radeon: 128M of GTT memory ready.
    <6>[ 6.786666] [drm] radeon: 2 quad pipes, 1 Z pipes initialized.
    <6>[ 6.787788] radeon 0000:01:00.0: WB disabled
    <6>[ 6.787867] [drm] Loading R300 Microcode
    <6>[ 6.789234] usbcore: registered new device driver usb
    <6>[ 6.793873] ehci_hcd: USB 2.0 'Enhanced' Host Controller (EHCI) Driver
    <6>[ 6.793919] ehci_hcd 0000:00:1d.7: PCI INT D -> GSI 23 (level, low) -> IRQ 23
    <7>[ 6.793940] ehci_hcd 0000:00:1d.7: setting latency timer to 64
    <6>[ 6.793945] ehci_hcd 0000:00:1d.7: EHCI Host Controller
    <6>[ 6.793981] ehci_hcd 0000:00:1d.7: new USB bus registered, assigned bus number 1
    <6>[ 6.794023] ehci_hcd 0000:00:1d.7: debug port 1
    <7>[ 6.797915] ehci_hcd 0000:00:1d.7: cache line size of 64 is not supported
    <6>[ 6.797936] ehci_hcd 0000:00:1d.7: irq 23, io mem 0xffa80800
    <6>[ 6.806667] [drm] radeon: ring at 0x00000000E0001000
    <6>[ 6.806688] [drm] ring test succeeded in 1 usecs
    <6>[ 6.807037] [drm] radeon: ib pool ready.
    <6>[ 6.807115] [drm] ib test succeeded in 0 usecs
    <6>[ 6.807205] Radeon i2c bit bus DVI_DDC: Test OK
    <6>[ 6.807313] Radeon i2c bit bus VGA_DDC: Test OK
    <4>[ 6.807372] Radeon i2c bit bus MONID: bus seems to be busy
    <6>[ 6.812132] ehci_hcd 0000:00:1d.7: USB 2.0 started, EHCI 1.00
    <6>[ 6.812186] usb usb1: New USB device found, idVendor=1d6b, idProduct=0002
    <6>[ 6.812190] usb usb1: New USB device strings: Mfr=3, Product=2, SerialNumber=1
    <6>[ 6.812193] usb usb1: Product: EHCI Host Controller
    <6>[ 6.812196] usb usb1: Manufacturer: Linux 2.6.37.1-1.2-default ehci_hcd
    <6>[ 6.812198] usb usb1: SerialNumber: 0000:00:1d.7
    <6>[ 6.812407] hub 1-0:1.0: USB hub found
    <6>[ 6.812413] hub 1-0:1.0: 8 ports detected
    <3>[ 6.816299] [drm:radeon_i2c_create] *ERROR* Failed to register bit i2c MONID
    <6>[ 6.816507] [drm] Radeon Display Connectors
    <6>[ 6.816510] [drm] Connector 0:
    <6>[ 6.816512] [drm] VGA
    <6>[ 6.816515] [drm] DDC: 0x60 0x60 0x60 0x60 0x60 0x60 0x60 0x60
    <6>[ 6.816517] [drm] Encoders:
    <6>[ 6.816519] [drm] CRT1: INTERNAL_DAC1
    <6>[ 6.816520] [drm] Connector 1:
    <6>[ 6.816522] [drm] DVI-I
    <6>[ 6.816524] [drm] HPD1
    <6>[ 6.816526] [drm] DDC: 0x64 0x64 0x64 0x64 0x64 0x64 0x64 0x64
    <6>[ 6.816528] [drm] Encoders:
    <6>[ 6.816529] [drm] CRT2: INTERNAL_DAC2
    <6>[ 6.816531] [drm] DFP1: INTERNAL_TMDS1
    <6>[ 6.816533] [drm] Connector 2:
    <6>[ 6.816535] [drm] S-video
    <6>[ 6.816536] [drm] Encoders:
    <6>[ 6.816538] [drm] TV1: INTERNAL_DAC2

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: No display after online update

    On 2011-05-01 04:36, rossff wrote:
    >
    > Thanks Carlos, that I will figure out how to do next. That should make
    > it much easier.


    It's easy, nce you know, if you don't find out, ask :-)
    (zypper conf file)


    > I found the following in /var/log/messages: Apr 30 19:01:22 linux-emqk
    > kernel: [ 33.546713] [drm:drm_mode_getfb] *ERROR* invalid framebuffer
    > id
    > which does not seem to appear when booting the old kernel. However, I
    > can't be completely sure, yet...


    I'm seeing several reports about that kernel. One about a radeon card only
    finds s-video output.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.2 x86_64 "Emerald" at Telcontar)

  9. #19

    Default Re: No display after online update

    Are you able to type this command now:
    Code:
    hwinfo --gfxcard | grep -i -e model -e driver
    ?

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: No display after online update

    On 2011-05-01 05:06, rossff wrote:

    > Let me know if you have any other ideas or suggestions.


    You are doing good - Radeon, too! I haven't examined the text you posted,
    but consider a Bugzilla on that.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.2 x86_64 "Emerald" at Telcontar)

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •