Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Config Problem - ATI v4800 running Quad Monitors on OpenSuSE 11.4

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Columbus, Ohio
    Posts
    4

    Question Config Problem - ATI v4800 running Quad Monitors on OpenSuSE 11.4

    I am currently having a problem configuring quad monitors on openSuSE 11.4. When the XServer starts, monitors 1&2 are showing vt7 (the GUI) and monitors 3&4 are showing vt8. When I hit ctrl+alt+f5 monitors 3&4 display the console and I can login and work in the console. When I hit ctrl+alt+f7 I return control to monitors 1&2 and can work there.

    My goal - When I login to X, I can drag windows, start applications, etc. across all four monitors. When I hit Ctrl+Alt+F4 it switches all four monitors to the console.

    I used to be able to do this using SaX2... However, since that is not an option anymore I am reaching the end of my ability to configure this. I'm pretty sure this is a simple mistake on my part and I'm lacking the experience to figure it out.

    Does anyone have any ideas on how I could proceed in getting this configured?

    -JW


    Included hardware information below:

    Current SuSE-release:
    Code:
    openSUSE 11.4 (x86_64)
    VERSION = 11.4
    uname -r:
    Code:
    2.6.37.1-1.2-desktop
    lspci | grep ATI:
    Code:
    0f:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc FirePro V4800
    0f:00.1 Audio device: ATI Technologies Inc Redwood HDMI Audio [Radeon HD 5600 Series]
    28:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc FirePro V4800
    28:00.1 Audio device: ATI Technologies Inc Redwood HDMI Audio [Radeon HD 5600 Series]
    xrandr -q:
    Code:
    Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 3360 x 1050, maximum 8192 x 8192
    DisplayPort-2 connected 1680x1050+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 473mm x 296mm
       1680x1050      60.0*+
       1600x1200      60.0  
       1280x1024      60.0  
       1440x900       59.9  
       1280x960       60.0  
       1024x768       60.0  
       800x600        60.3  
       640x480        60.0  
       720x400        70.1  
    DisplayPort-3 connected 1680x1050+1680+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 473mm x 296mm
       1680x1050      60.0*+
       1600x1200      60.0  
       1280x1024      60.0  
       1440x900       59.9  
       1280x960       60.0  
       1024x768       60.0  
       800x600        60.3  
       640x480        60.0  
       720x400        70.1  
    DVI-1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    23,700
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Config Problem - ATI v4800 running Quad Monitors on OpenSuSE 11.4

    Hi JWMerrow. Welcome to the forums. Good info supplied, but what might also be useful is to know what driver you're using. I'm assuming its the default open source radeon driver (unless you've taken steps to install the proprietary fglrx driver).

    Code:
    /sbin/lspci -nnk
    Are you using KDE4 or Gnome?

    For KDE (with the open source driver), you can try configuring via

    System Settings >> Display and Monitor

    It should be possible to set both display ports devices side by side if desired.

    Nice graphics setup BTW

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    27,108
    Blog Entries
    40

    Default Re: Config Problem - ATI v4800 running Quad Monitors on OpenSuSE 11.4

    This sort of configuring multiple monitors is well beyond anything I have attempted. Still since the issue is being discussed in this thread, here is a link to a post by a user who successfully configured their PC for 3 monitors and claim it will work for 4: RandR / Xinerama - how to make work in OSE 11.2 ... I note however that was done on openSUSE-11.2, where the graphic configuration architecture on 11.4 is quite different from that on 11.2 so this link may not, unfortunately, be helpful.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Columbus, Ohio
    Posts
    4

    Lightbulb Re: Config Problem - ATI v4800 running Quad Monitors on OpenSuSE 11.4

    Quote Originally Posted by deano_ferrari View Post
    Hi JWMerrow. Welcome to the forums.
    Thank you!

    Quote Originally Posted by deano_ferrari View Post
    Good info supplied, but what might also be useful is to know what driver you're using. I'm assuming its the default open source radeon driver (unless you've taken steps to install the proprietary fglrx driver).
    Code:
    /sbin/lspci -nnk
    I'm using the default radeon driver for both cards. I tried to install the ATI/AMD Drivers but they only support up to OpenSuSE 11.3 (according to the --listpkgs command on the installer)!

    lspci -nnk output (I shortened this to just the section on the video cards):
    Code:
    0f:00.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: ATI Technologies Inc FirePro V4800 [1002:68c8]
            Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Device [103c:2306]
            Kernel driver in use: radeon
    0f:00.1 Audio device [0403]: ATI Technologies Inc Redwood HDMI Audio [Radeon HD 5600 Series] [1002:aa60]
            Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Device [103c:aa60]
            Kernel driver in use: HDA Intel
    28:00.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: ATI Technologies Inc FirePro V4800 [1002:68c8]
            Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Device [103c:2306]
            Kernel driver in use: radeon
    28:00.1 Audio device [0403]: ATI Technologies Inc Redwood HDMI Audio [Radeon HD 5600 Series] [1002:aa60]
            Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Device [103c:aa60]
            Kernel driver in use: HDA Intel

    Quote Originally Posted by deano_ferrari View Post
    Are you using KDE4 or Gnome?
    Enlightenment; I can access the apps from both KDE & Gnome though.

    Quote Originally Posted by deano_ferrari View Post
    For KDE (with the open source driver), you can try configuring via

    System Settings >> Display and Monitor

    It should be possible to set both display ports devices side by side if desired.
    Sadly, neither Gnome or KDE monitor configuration shows the other two monitors.

    Quote Originally Posted by deano_ferrari View Post
    Nice graphics setup BTW
    Thanks!


    Quote Originally Posted by oldcpu
    This sort of configuring multiple monitors is well beyond anything I have attempted. Still since the issue is being discussed in this thread, here is a link to a post by a user who successfully configured their PC for 3 monitors and claim it will work for 4: RandR / Xinerama - how to make work in OSE 11.2 ... I note however that was done on openSUSE-11.2, where the graphic configuration architecture on 11.4 is quite different from that on 11.2 so this link may not, unfortunately, be helpful.
    Hmmmm, this looks nifty! I will give this a shot and modify the files under /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d and see if I can manually get this to work.

    -JW

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    63

    Default Re: Config Problem - ATI v4800 running Quad Monitors on OpenSuSE 11.4

    Hi JW,

    Well... you have a problem. because multi-screen desktop does not work very well with Opensuse. Two screens work perfectly... but more than two is a problem. I have been using 4 screens on opensuse 11.2 using nvidia 9800GT and nvidia drivers. It was working fine... but after I updated to Opensuse 11.3 and later to 11.4 it does not work. 11.3 had issue with jumping cursor between screens connected to two different cards and 11.4 has performance issue, especially with Flash and Browsers. FYI, with two screens I cannot see any problem in 11.4.

    Before I decided to add two more screens to my computer I did some research and I found that the best cards for that for Linux systems are nvidia cards. however it was long time ago... maybe ATI or AMD cards have much better drivers right now for Linux.

    My recommendation is to use drivers provided by chip manufacture. If you have radeon - use radeon drivers. Nvidia has special GUI for the dreviers, that makes setup very easy... i do not know anything about Radeon... but I believe they also have GUI that can help you.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    27,108
    Blog Entries
    40

    Default Re: Config Problem - ATI v4800 running Quad Monitors on OpenSuSE 11.4

    Quote Originally Posted by JWMerrow View Post
    I'm using the default radeon driver for both cards. I tried to install the ATI/AMD Drivers but they only support up to OpenSuSE 11.3 (according to the --listpkgs command on the installer)!

    lspci -nnk output (I shortened this to just the section on the video cards):
    Code:
    0f:00.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: ATI Technologies Inc FirePro V4800 [1002:68c8]
    Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Device [103c:2306]
    Kernel driver in use: radeon
    0f:00.1 Audio device [0403]: ATI Technologies Inc Redwood HDMI Audio [Radeon HD 5600 Series] [1002:aa60]
    Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Device [103c:aa60]
    Kernel driver in use: HDA Intel
    28:00.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: ATI Technologies Inc FirePro V4800 [1002:68c8]
    Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Device [103c:2306]
    Kernel driver in use: radeon
    28:00.1 Audio device [0403]: ATI Technologies Inc Redwood HDMI Audio [Radeon HD 5600 Series] [1002:aa60]
    Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Device [103c:aa60]
    Kernel driver in use: HDA Intel
    I have run the Catalyst drivers on openSUSE-11.4 (single laptop monitor). So they do run on that hardware.

    The latest Catalyst version is (also) 11.4 (ie Catalyst 11.4) : http://support.amd.com/us/gpudownload/Pages/index.aspx

    But whether or not it will work better with 4 monitors than the radeon driver is something I have no experience with.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Columbus, Ohio
    Posts
    4

    Thumbs up Re: Config Problem - ATI v4800 running Quad Monitors on OpenSuSE 11.4

    Quote Originally Posted by oldcpu View Post
    I have run the Catalyst drivers on openSUSE-11.4 (single laptop monitor). So they do run on that hardware.

    The latest Catalyst version is (also) 11.4 (ie Catalyst 11.4) : AMD Graphics Drivers & Software

    But whether or not it will work better with 4 monitors than the radeon driver is something I have no experience with.
    I went to the FirePro Beta Drivers and it was able to install. However, after I did that, the box would not run xdm/kdm anymore (post reboot). In X.Org.log.0 it showed that fglrx would always throw errors and crash.

    Thank you for the earlier link oldcpu, I was able to get my xorg.conf.d files squared away and am now running four monitors with Xinerama enabled.

    Files I modified under xorg.conf.d:

    50-screen.conf:
    Code:
    Section "Screen"
      Identifier "Default Screen"
    
      Device "Default Device"
    
      ## Doesn't help for radeon/radeonhd drivers; use magic in
      ## 50-device.conf instead
      Monitor "Default Monitor"
    
    EndSection
    
    Section "ServerLayout"
            Identifier "Layout[all]"
            Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 1050
            Screen 1 "Screen1" 1680 1050
            Screen 2 "Screen2" 0 0
            Screen 3 "Screen3" 1680 0
            Option  "Clone" "off"
            Option  "Xinerama" "1"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
            Identifier "Screen0"
            Device     "Card0"
            Monitor    "Monitor0"
            DefaultDepth 24
            SubSection "Display"
                    Viewport  0 0
                    Depth     24
                    modes     "1680x1050"
            EndSubSection
            Option     "CursorShadow"     "On"
            Option     "RenderAccel"      "True"
            Option     "TripleBuffer"     "False"
            Option     "RandRRotation"    "True"
            Option     "OnDemandVBlankInterrupts" "On"  # Experimental
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
            Identifier "Screen1"
            Device     "Card1"
            Monitor    "Monitor1"
            DefaultDepth 24
            SubSection "Display"
                    Viewport  0 0
                    Depth     24
                    modes     "1680x1050"
            EndSubSection
            Option     "CursorShadow"     "On"
            Option     "RenderAccel"      "True"
            Option     "TripleBuffer"     "False"
            Option     "RandRRotation"    "True"
            Option     "OnDemandVBlankInterrupts" "On"  # Experimental
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
            Identifier "Screen2"
            Device     "Card2"
            Monitor    "Monitor2"
            DefaultDepth 24
            SubSection "Display"
                    Viewport  0 0
                    Depth     24
                    modes     "1680x1050"
            EndSubSection
            Option     "CursorShadow"     "On"
            Option     "RenderAccel"      "True"
            Option     "TripleBuffer"     "False"
            Option     "RandRRotation"    "True"
            Option     "OnDemandVBlankInterrupts" "On"  # Experimental
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
            Identifier "Screen3"
            Device     "Card3"
            Monitor    "Monitor3"
            DefaultDepth 24
            SubSection "Display"
                    Viewport  0 0
                    Depth     24
                    modes     "1680x1050"
            EndSubSection
            Option     "CursorShadow"     "On"
            Option     "RenderAccel"      "True"
            Option     "TripleBuffer"     "False"
            Option     "RandRRotation"    "True"
            Option     "OnDemandVBlankInterrupts" "On"  # Experimental
    EndSection
    50-monitor.conf
    Code:
    #Section "Monitor"
     # Identifier "Default Monitor"
    
      ## If your monitor doesn't support DDC you may override the
      ## defaults here
      #HorizSync 28-85
      #VertRefresh 50-100
    
      ## Add your mode lines here, use e.g the cvt tool
    
    #EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
            Identifier   "Monitor0"
            VendorName   "HP"
            ModelName    "HP LA2205"
            UseModes     "Modes0"
            DisplaySize  478 299
            HorizSync    24.0 - 83.0
            VertRefresh  50 - 76                                                              
            Option       "DPMS"
            Option       "PreferredMode" "1680x1050"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
            Identifier   "Monitor1"
            VendorName   "HP"
            ModelName    "HP LA2205"
            UseModes     "Modes0"
            DisplaySize  478 299
            HorizSync    24.0 - 83.0
            VertRefresh  50 - 76                                                            
            Option       "DPMS"
            Option       "PreferredMode" "1680x1050"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
            Identifier   "Monitor2"
            VendorName   "HP"
            ModelName    "HP LA2205"
            UseModes     "Modes0"
            DisplaySize  478 299
            HorizSync    24.0 - 83.0
            VertRefresh  50 - 76                                                            
            Option       "DPMS"
            Option       "PreferredMode" "1680x1050"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
            Identifier   "Monitor3"
            VendorName   "HP"
            ModelName    "HP LA2205"
            UseModes     "Modes0"
            DisplaySize  478 299
            HorizSync    24.0 - 83.0
            VertRefresh  50 - 76                                                            
            Option       "DPMS"
            Option       "PreferredMode" "1680x1050"
    EndSection

    50-device.conf
    Code:
    Section "Device"
      Identifier "Default Device"
    
      Driver "radeon"
    
      ## Required magic for radeon/radeonhd drivers; output name
      ## (here: "DVI-0") can be figured out via 'xrandr -q'
      #Option "monitor-DVI-0" "Default Monitor"
    
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
            Identifier  "Card0"
            Driver      "radeon"
            BoardName   "ATI FirePro V4800"
            VendorName  "ATI"
            BusID       "PCI:15:00:0"
            Screen      0
            #Option     "CoolBits"         "On"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
            Identifier  "Card1"
            Driver      "radeon"
            BoardName   "ATI FirePro V4800"
            VendorName  "ATI"
            BusID       "PCI:15:00:0"
            Screen      1
            #Option     "CoolBits"         "On"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
            Identifier  "Card2"
            Driver      "radeon"
            BoardName   "ATI FirePro V4800"
            VendorName  "ATI"
            BusID       "PCI:40:00:0"
            Screen      0
            #Option     "CoolBits"         "On"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
            Identifier  "Card3"
            Driver      "radeon"
            BoardName   "ATI FirePro V4800"
            VendorName  "ATI"
            BusID       "PCI:40:00:0"
            Screen      1
            #Option     "CoolBits"         "On"
    EndSection
    90-keytable.conf
    Code:
    Section "InputClass"
            Identifier "LocalKeyboard"
            MatchIsKeyboard "on"
            Option  "XkbLayout"     "us"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Modes"
            Identifier "Modes0"
    EndSection
    Now if only I could figure out how to get this working without using Xinerama... Moving windows is much less responsive with Xinerama enabled (ie. Firefox).

    My only remaining problem is that it seems like XRandR just has problems working with multiple graphics cards... Or perhaps it's something I've done (or not done). Any ideas if this can work using XRandR, or should I stick with Xinerama and call it a day?


    -JW

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    23,700
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Config Problem - ATI v4800 running Quad Monitors on OpenSuSE 11.4

    My only remaining problem is that it seems like XRandR just has problems working with multiple graphics cards... Or perhaps it's something I've done (or not done). Any ideas if this can work using XRandR, or should I stick with Xinerama and call it a day?
    Yes, I would stick with the Xinerama approach for now. The multi-monitor support via XRandR is not as well developed. BTW, I note that your 50-device.conf file is still referencing the open source radeon driver. Do you have a /etc/X11/xorg.conf file as well?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Columbus, Ohio
    Posts
    4

    Thumbs up Re: Config Problem - ATI v4800 running Quad Monitors on OpenSuSE 11.4

    Quote Originally Posted by deano_ferrari View Post
    Yes, I would stick with the Xinerama approach for now. The multi-monitor support via XRandR is not as well developed. BTW, I note that your 50-device.conf file is still referencing the open source radeon driver. Do you have a /etc/X11/xorg.conf file as well?
    Nope, I tried that approach and scrapped the idea in favor of modifying the files under /etc/xorg.conf.d/ instead. It seems to be working quite well (minus the lag time on dragging windows). Just some other minor modifications (ex. ginormous white mouse by default, haha) and I should be good to go.

    Thank you oldcpu, deano_ferrari, and mr_lukes.


    -JW

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •