Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: k3b + dvd-rw

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    221

    Default k3b + dvd-rw

    Hello,

    This is on an 11.3 system.

    For the first time, I have tried to burn an image to a dvd-rw using k3b but am experiencing some puzzling results.

    My dvd drive is ATAP DVD A DH20A3P and googling indicates that it does support dvd-rw and dvd+rw.

    k3b allows me to format the disc and will even go through the motions of burning an image to it but I see the following in "messages" and nothing can subsequently read the disc.
    Code:
    Apr 25 17:32:15 OGGI kernel: [10685.955755] sr 0:0:0:0: [sr0] Result: hostbyte=DID_OK driverbyte=DRIVER_SENSE
    Apr 25 17:32:15 OGGI kernel: [10685.955762] sr 0:0:0:0: [sr0] Sense Key : Illegal Request [current] 
    Apr 25 17:32:15 OGGI kernel: [10685.955768] sr 0:0:0:0: [sr0] Add. Sense: Logical block address out of range
    Apr 25 17:32:15 OGGI kernel: [10685.955775] sr 0:0:0:0: [sr0] CDB: Read(10): 28 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 01 00
    Apr 25 17:32:15 OGGI kernel: [10685.955788] end_request: I/O error, dev sr0, sector 0
    Apr 25 17:32:15 OGGI kernel: [10685.955793] Buffer I/O error on device sr0, logical block 0
    At the moment, I have k3b running and I am trying to burn an image to the dvd-rw. In the main source dialogue (left hand frame) I see that the drive has an empty disc in. k3b will also show me info about that disc. However, when I try to burn, it (k3b) is asking me to insert a blank disc.

    Is the info ex-google wrong and there is a problem with the drive and dvd-rw or is there a driver issue?

    Cheers

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Montreal, Québec
    Posts
    833

    Default Re : k3b + dvd-rw

    Did you try with another media ? There is I/O error, so maybe the DVD you are using is damaged in some way...

  3. #3
    Richard (MQ) NNTP User

    Default Re: k3b + dvd-rw

    On 25/04/11 16:06, antttikutoja wrote:

    > Apr 25 17:32:15 OGGI kernel: [10685.955755] sr 0:0:0:0: [sr0] Result: hostbyte=DID_OK driverbyte=DRIVER_SENSE
    > Apr 25 17:32:15 OGGI kernel: [10685.955762] sr 0:0:0:0: [sr0] Sense Key : Illegal Request [current]
    > Apr 25 17:32:15 OGGI kernel: [10685.955768] sr 0:0:0:0: [sr0] Add. Sense: Logical block address out of range
    > Apr 25 17:32:15 OGGI kernel: [10685.955775] sr 0:0:0:0: [sr0] CDB: Read(10): 28 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 01 00
    > Apr 25 17:32:15 OGGI kernel: [10685.955788] end_request: I/O error, dev sr0, sector 0
    > Apr 25 17:32:15 OGGI kernel: [10685.955793] Buffer I/O error on device sr0, logical block 0


    I had similar problems a while back and it turned out to be the DVD
    writer failing, I had to replace it.

    But as Daax says - try another disc first!

    --
    Richard (MQ)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    221

    Default Re: k3b + dvd-rw

    Moi guys,

    Yeps, tried a couple of alternate discs but same issue. It writes DVD-R fine but not DVD-RW.

    However, a twist. It, seems that not all you read on google is gospel. I was in the process of removing the drive to try another and I noticed a tiny, tiny lable saying, among other things, "DVD+RW DL.

    I thought DVD+RW was a later format than DVD-RW and would have expected the drive to handle it but maybe not. The DL is "Dual Layer" and I know you need a DL Disc for that to be effective in terms of increased capacity etc.

    Will have to get hold of a DVD+RW disc to try and will report back.

    Cheers for now - AK

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    27,108
    Blog Entries
    40

    Default Re: k3b + dvd-rw

    Quote Originally Posted by antttikutoja View Post
    However, a twist. It, seems that not all you read on google is gospel. I was in the process of removing the drive to try another and I noticed a tiny, tiny lable saying, among other things, "DVD+RW DL.

    I thought DVD+RW was a later format than DVD-RW and would have expected the drive to handle it but maybe not. The DL is "Dual Layer" and I know you need a DL Disc for that to be effective in terms of increased capacity etc.

    Will have to get hold of a DVD+RW disc to try and will report back.
    I confess I have never seen a DVD +RW Dual Layer. Is there such a beast?

    The wiki on RW DVDs has this: DVD+RW - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
    A dual-layer DVD+RW specification was approved in March 2006 with a capacity of 8.5 GB. However, manufacturing support for rewritable dual-layer discs did not materialize due to costs and expected competition from newer formats like Blu-ray and HD DVD, which boasted up to 25 GB on a single layer
    which suggests there is no such thing as a DVD RW Dual Layer (or suggests the wiki needs updating ! ).

    I took a look here at this liteon site:
    Lite-On IT Corporation Global - DH-20A3P: Features : Features which refers to a DH-20A3P . Is that your device?


    If so, it notes support for
    • Support Double Layer DVD+/- R9 Recording Function.
    • DVD read compliant: DVD single/dual layer (PTP/OTP), DVD-R(3.9GB/4.7GB), DVD-R multi-borders, DVD-RAM, DVD+R, DVD+R multi-sessions, DVD-RW, and DVD+RW.
    • CD read compliant: CD-DA, CD-ROM, CD-ROM/XA, Photo-CD, Multi-session, Karaoke-CD, Video-CD, CD-I FMV, CD Extra, CD Plus, CD-R, and CD-RW.

    But makes no mention specific to a DVD RW Dual layer.

    Are you certain there is such a beast ?

    If it is an openSUSE image file you are trying to burn, I confess I go on record as recommending such a burn only be done to +R or a -R , as my experience with RW is after a while they degrade, and trying to debug a problem on an openSUSE DVD (which may or may not have degraded) is incredibly time consuming. For the time saved with no such uncertainty with a +R/-R, I'll pay the extra cost of a throw away +R/-R .

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    27,108
    Blog Entries
    40

    Default Re: k3b + dvd-rw

    Quote Originally Posted by antttikutoja View Post
    At the moment, I have k3b running and I am trying to burn an image to the dvd-rw.
    Did you try reformatting the RW in k3b (prior to your image burning attempt) ?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    221

    Default Re: k3b + dvd-rw

    Hi oldcpu,

    The DVD-RW I was trying to burn was a normal single layer jobbie. I have burned dual layer DVDs but can't recall if they were -R or +R.

    Yes, the googling indicated that the DH-20A3P (yeps, that's it) supports DVD-RW. I see from your notes no mention of dual layer but it is.

    Re the formatting. Yes, I tried to get k3b to format the disc and it seemed happy with it until the end of the process when the errors started showing up in the log. I still haven't found a DVD+RW yet but more when I do.

    Cheers - AK

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    27,108
    Blog Entries
    40

    Default Re: k3b + dvd-rw

    Quote Originally Posted by antttikutoja View Post
    The DVD-RW I was trying to burn was a normal single layer jobbie. I have burned dual layer DVDs but can't recall if they were -R or +R.

    Yes, the googling indicated that the DH-20A3P (yeps, that's it) supports DVD-RW. I see from your notes no mention of dual layer but it is.

    Re the formatting. Yes, I tried to get k3b to format the disc and it seemed happy with it until the end of the process when the errors started showing up in the log. I still haven't found a DVD+RW yet but more when I do.
    Sorry to read about this difficulty. Sometimes these can be difficult to solve.

    Last month I took my 1 year and 11-month old Samsung DVD burner (with 1 month left in warranty) back to the store where I purchased it from. It could burn CD's ok, but not reliably burn DVDs. In my case, typically 5 to 15 minutes into the burn process,the DVD burn would fail.

    Your problem reads to be different, but there is always the possibility of a hardware failure. Are you able to burn DVD RW with another Operating System on this drive?

    Can you burn CD RW ?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    221

    Default Re: k3b + dvd-rw

    Hi oldcpu,

    I haven't had the chance to try a DVD+RW yet and, at the moment, I have no access to anything other than the SuSE stuff that I have.

    I agree re the DVD+/-RW Dual Layer - never seen one myself. The drive does CD+/-R and DVD+/-R with no problems. In fact, I replaced the DVD-RW that I was trying to use with DVD-R and gort the image fine.

    The drive is 5 years old plus so it might be at fault. Will get back asap.

    Cheers - AK

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •