Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: GNOME 3

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Finland, European Union
    Posts
    1,879

    Default GNOME 3

    I tried it, I really tried to like it. I really, really tried to but no, just no.

    That's all.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    15,676
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: GNOME 3

    I have the same reaction.

    If you have it installed, then go to system settings, then to "system information" and then select "graphics". There's a setting there to force fallback mode, which I presume is basically gnome 2 though perhaps with different applications installed than the typical gnome install. I preferred that. On my test system, I set up a second user so that one user gets gnome 3 and the other gets fallback mode.
    openSUSE Leap 15.3; KDE Plasma 5.18.6;

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    32,337
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: GNOME 3

    Quote Originally Posted by Chrysantine View Post
    I tried it, I really tried to like it. I really, really tried to but no, just no.

    That's all.
    Hey
    Press ctrl+alt+shift+R to start and stop screencast (must get onto recordmydesktop....)

    It's certainly a mindset change...
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Michigan USA
    Posts
    102

    Default Re: GNOME 3

    @malcolmlewis Are you saying that recordmydesktop is included with Gnome 3? or do you have to add that in?
    Laptop: openSUSE 13.1 | Gnome 3.2.1 | i3 350m 2.27 GHz | HP Pavilion dv6 | 4GB RAM | Intel HD Integrated Graphics

    Installed openSUSE, never going back!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    32,337
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: GNOME 3

    Quote Originally Posted by newtosuse View Post
    @malcolmlewis Are you saying that recordmydesktop is included with Gnome 3? or do you have to add that in?
    Hi
    Gnome 3.0 has it all built in, similar but produces a webm file. See here GnomeShell/CheatSheet - GNOME Live!
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Michigan USA
    Posts
    102

    Default Re: GNOME 3

    Sweet! I need that!
    Laptop: openSUSE 13.1 | Gnome 3.2.1 | i3 350m 2.27 GHz | HP Pavilion dv6 | 4GB RAM | Intel HD Integrated Graphics

    Installed openSUSE, never going back!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Nutley, NJ USA
    Posts
    354

    Default Re: GNOME 3

    I just upgraded to GNOME 3. It certainly is different! So far, I like it. It will take me some time to get used to the changes.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    India
    Posts
    303

    Default Re: GNOME 3

    Gnome 3 Rocks !!!

    But I must say that I miss those compiz effects.

    One of my friends is huge fan of compiz. I introduced him to Linux but initially I had a tough time to convince him to use it but all that changed as soon as he saw the rotating cube effect. (winkey+tab).

    AFAIK there is no way to use compiz with Gnome 3 or is there a way?
    openSUSE Leap 15
    You aren't rich until you have something that money can't buy.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    32,337
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: GNOME 3

    Quote Originally Posted by suse_kid View Post
    AFAIK there is no way to use compiz with Gnome 3 or is there a way?
    Hi
    Nope...
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    India
    Posts
    303

    Default Re: GNOME 3

    Quote Originally Posted by malcolmlewis View Post
    Hi
    Nope...
    Thats bad new for compiz fans. Atleast the Gnome 3 team should have tried to provide similar effects. I understand there's no point in discussing this after all you & I can't change the policy of the Gnome team.
    openSUSE Leap 15
    You aren't rich until you have something that money can't buy.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •