Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Yes or No for 64bit on a home computer.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    146

    Default Yes or No for 64bit on a home computer.

    Hi Everyone,

    I recently upgraded my processor to a Core 2 Quad 2.4. I want to format my current system which is running openSUSE 11.3 32 bit. Then I want to installe openSUSE 11.4 afresh. Would it be a good idea to have the 64bit version of openSUSE running on my home system? I use my home system for general use, watching DVD's, some office work and listening to music and rip a DVD every now and then. I install the software that I need from Packman.

    So will it be a good idea to switch over to 64bit?

    Your advice would be much appreciated.

    Kind regards.

    henkasdf
    Those who never try never fly!
    Box: openSUSE 11.4 x64 | KDE 4.6 | Intel DG41RQ | Intel Core 2 Quad 2.4 | nVIDIA 8400GS | 4GB RAM
    Note: Windows 7 | SP-1 | Intel Centrino Duo 1.7 | Intel 945GM | LG-F1 | 2GB RAM

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Ελλάδα(Αθήνα)-Россия (г. Красноярск)
    Posts
    1,711

    Default Απ: Yes or No for 64bit on a home computer.

    Quote Originally Posted by henkasdf View Post
    Hi Everyone,

    I recently upgraded my processor to a Core 2 Quad 2.4. I want to format my current system which is running openSUSE 11.3 32 bit. Then I want to installe openSUSE 11.4 afresh. Would it be a good idea to have the 64bit version of openSUSE running on my home system? I use my home system for general use, watching DVD's, some office work and listening to music and rip a DVD every now and then. I install the software that I need from Packman.

    So will it be a good idea to switch over to 64bit?

    Your advice would be much appreciated.

    Kind regards.

    henkasdf
    Operating system based on CPU's architecture. I do not know if this processor is 32bit or 64bit, because I use only AMD processors.
    Could you open your terminal and write this?
    Code:
    arch
    Post the output here.
    Πάντα Φιλικά, Στάμος.
    Desktop: openSUSE Leap 15.3||x86_64||Gnome 3.14 & KDE 5||AMD Ryzen 7 8 core||Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti Gaming Edition
    Γλώσσες Προγραμματισμού: C++, Qt developing.
    http://bit.ly/fT8Hfi

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    UTC+10
    Posts
    9,683
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default Re: Απ: Yes or No for 64bit on a home computer.

    Most recent Intel and AMD processors are 64-bit capable. This is the way to find out:

    grep -w lm /proc/cpuinfo

    If there is any output, it's 64-bit capable. I have been running 64-bit for many releases myself.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Ελλάδα(Αθήνα)-Россия (г. Красноярск)
    Posts
    1,711

    Default Απ: Re: Απ: Yes or No for 64bit on a home computer.

    Quote Originally Posted by ken_yap View Post
    Most recent Intel and AMD processors are 64-bit capable. This is the way to find out:

    grep -w lm /proc/cpuinfo

    I have been running 64-bit for many releases myself.
    About AMD I know many things because I use them, but about intel not so many.
    Πάντα Φιλικά, Στάμος.
    Desktop: openSUSE Leap 15.3||x86_64||Gnome 3.14 & KDE 5||AMD Ryzen 7 8 core||Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti Gaming Edition
    Γλώσσες Προγραμματισμού: C++, Qt developing.
    http://bit.ly/fT8Hfi

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    UTC+10
    Posts
    9,683
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default Re: Απ: Re: Απ: Yes or No for 64bit on a home computer.

    Pity, otherwise you would know that Intel licensed the 64-bit instructions from AMD, which is why their processors have them.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    27,108
    Blog Entries
    40

    Default Re: Yes or No for 64bit on a home computer.

    Quote Originally Posted by henkasdf View Post
    Would it be a good idea to have the 64bit version of openSUSE running on my home system? I use my home system for general use, watching DVD's, some office work and listening to music and rip a DVD every now and then. I install the software that I need from Packman.

    So will it be a good idea to switch over to 64bit?

    Definitely 64-bit.

    IMHO we have reached the state where 64-bit is supported the same as 32-bit, and where there are differences in support, most (not all) of the time 64-bit has superior support to 32-bit.

    For video rendering, 64-bit is superior (faster).

    Most of the developers and packagers of Linux software only have 64-bit PCs, so the support for 32-bit is less and less all the time. Recently there was a problem with the openSUSE/KDE/nVidia-proprietary driver that ONLY impacted 32-bit users and not 64-bit users.

    The cases where I know that 32-bit has marginally better support is 'flash video' (although with the appropriate accompanying apps one can run the 32-bit on a 64-bit system), "wine" (where again one can run the 32-bit on a 64-bit system), and 'skype' (again WITH the correct libraries one can run the 32-bit on a 64-bit system).

    I switched to 64-bit (on my PCs capable of 64-bit: Dell Studio 1537 laptop with Core2Duo (P8400 CPU); Intel Core i7 920 (quad core), My wife's Intel Core i7 875 (quad core), My mother's HP desktop (quad core - I can't remember CPU). I have no complaints wrt 64-bit on openSUSE-11.3 (which is installed on all of these PCs). It works well.

    My experience with openSUSE-11.4 in test partitions it also works equally well as 11.3 (on the hardware in which I have installed 11.4).

    In summary : DEFINITELY 64-bit.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Ελλάδα(Αθήνα)-Россия (г. Красноярск)
    Posts
    1,711

    Default Απ: Re: Απ: Re: Απ: Yes or No for 64bit on a home computer.

    Quote Originally Posted by ken_yap View Post
    Pity, otherwise you would know that Intel licensed the 64-bit instructions from AMD, which is why their processors have them.
    I know about that. I have AMD since 1996.
    But this is not our theme. Because I have AMD I suggest 64bit processor, so 64bit operating system.
    Πάντα Φιλικά, Στάμος.
    Desktop: openSUSE Leap 15.3||x86_64||Gnome 3.14 & KDE 5||AMD Ryzen 7 8 core||Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti Gaming Edition
    Γλώσσες Προγραμματισμού: C++, Qt developing.
    http://bit.ly/fT8Hfi

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    UTC+10
    Posts
    9,683
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default Re: Απ: Re: Απ: Re: Απ: Yes or No for 64bit on a home computer.

    Quote Originally Posted by stamostolias View Post
    I know about that. I have AMD since 1996.
    You should complain to your mother that you were not born earlier, then you could have had AMD since 1982 when they became the second source of the 8086 family of CPUs.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Yes or No for 64bit on a home computer.

    On 2011-04-21 13:06, oldcpu wrote:
    > IMHO we have reached the state where 64-bit is supported the same as
    > 32-bit, and where there are differences in support, most (not all) of
    > the time 64-bit has superior support to 32-bit.


    Except proprietary software. Flash, acrobat, some video codecs, etc, are 32
    bit only.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.2 x86_64 "Emerald" at Telcontar)

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Yes or No for 64bit on a home computer.

    On 2011-04-21 12:36, henkasdf wrote:
    >
    > Hi Everyone,
    >
    > I recently upgraded my processor to a Core 2 Quad 2.4. I want to
    > format my current system which is running openSUSE 11.3 32 bit. Then I
    > want to installe openSUSE 11.4 afresh. Would it be a good idea to have
    > the 64bit version of openSUSE running on my home system?


    Why not? :-)

    Unless your memory is scarce, 64 bit software can use way more ram, unless
    well developed⁽¹⁾


    > So will it be a good idea to switch over to 64bit?


    Try it :-)

    If you have the disk space, don't format your old system, but install
    another partition with 11.4 64 bit. Have both. Then find out how your
    typical apps behave.



    (1) If you don't believe me, there was a thread in the programming forum
    about a program that was twice as slow when compiled for 64 bits. The real
    reason was not found out.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.2 x86_64 "Emerald" at Telcontar)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •