Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Repository Priority Question

  1. #1

    Post Repository Priority Question

    I searched the manual/web, but cannot find an answer to this. I think I know the answer, but want to be sure!

    If there are e.g. multiple repositories with the same prio, which contain different versions of an RPM. What happens if an install is made and a particular package has a dependency, where no version is specified?

    Would all repositories of the same pri be searched and the newest RPM version be installed.
    OR
    Would simply once the RPM is found in one of those pri's simply be taken and no further searching made.

    So summarized when all repositories are the same priority, is the first found RPM taken or the RPM with the latest version?

    Thanks in advance,

    Noob.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,857
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Repository Priority Question

    Lets take as an example mozilla-firefox

    It's on the OSS repo by default along with it's dependencies.

    If you add the mozilla repo from the build service - you would typically do this:
    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/10573557/Swi...lla-switch.png

    Once that is done, it should hold to that switch in the course of normal updates.

    But lets imagine we have the mozilla repo and decide to install Thunderbird (which isn't installed yet). If we just checked it to install, we would need to use the radio button to select the version we want.
    This just an example of what I mean: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/10573557/Swi...-button-QT.png

    So typically we at least need to know what we are doing if we plan to add repos
    Tumbleweed_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  3. #3

    Default Re: Repository Priority Question

    Thanks, but what is not clear is for me e.g. if an RPM is required in the install script and there are two repositories present:

    repositoryA has eg.rpm with version 0.01 with priority 99
    repositoryB has eg.rpm with version 0.02 with priority 99

    Which would be taken?

    The first found, or would the latest version of eg.rpm. i.e. how are mulitple repositories handled with the same priority?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,857
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Repository Priority Question

    If repo A is OSS, then I'm fairly sure that will install, even though it's a older package

    If repo A and B were both external repos (OBS). I'm not too sure without testing it.

    If I get a minute I will, but I am busy ATM
    Tumbleweed_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  5. #5

    Default Re: Repository Priority Question

    Quote Originally Posted by an_open_suse_noob View Post
    Thanks, but what is not clear is for me e.g. if an RPM is required in the install script and there are two repositories present:

    repositoryA has eg.rpm with version 0.01 with priority 99
    repositoryB has eg.rpm with version 0.02 with priority 99

    Which would be taken?

    The first found, or would the latest version of eg.rpm. i.e. how are mulitple repositories handled with the same priority?
    IMHO, it would take the latest version in equal repos, which can be a problem. For instance, some users code every repo for a release (11.4) as prio 99, which means a developer's repo might be selected over a stable repos causing dependency issues.

    I set priorities for the repos I use. I wan to use the openSUSE stable repos 99% of the time so I set the priority for the openSUSE update repo as 96, OSS and Non-OSS 98, Packman multimedia and essential at 99, multiples of 10 from 100 for others like VLC at 100, Mozilla 100, nVidia 110, etc. I change priorities when I need to install from other repos as needed, Packman multimedia prio 94.

    Most of the time I use zypper instead of YaST2 and to check my repo priority order, zypper repos -pP.
    Box 1: OpenSuse 11.1/Win7 | Linux 2.6.27 Gnome | AMD 64 X2 6000+ | nVidia 8600GT | 2GB RAM
    Box 2: OpenSuse 11.2 | Linux 2.6.31 Gnome | AMD 64 3000+ | ATI X800 Pro | 1GB RAM
    Box 3: Win7 Premium Home | Intel P4 3.0Gz | ATI AIW 2006 | 2GB RAM

  6. #6

    Question Re: Repository Priority Question

    hi tararpharazon/caf4926,

    I was also thinking it would take the latest if they are all equal, but of course it is my question if it is really like that i.e. i cannot find it written anywhere. another theory is that it takes the first found and there is no version checking.

    I am pretty new to linux and maybe the only way is to test and find it out. i was thinking the answer would be well known and was perhaps just a dumb question due to my lack of experience.

    thanks,

    noob

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Austin - Texas
    Posts
    10,140
    Blog Entries
    48

    Smile Re: Repository Priority Question

    hi tararpharazon/caf4926,

    I was also thinking it would take the latest if they are all equal, but of course it is my question if it is really like that i.e. i cannot find it written anywhere. another theory is that it takes the first found and there is no version checking.

    I am pretty new to linux and maybe the only way is to test and find it out. i was thinking the answer would be well known and was perhaps just a dumb question due to my lack of experience.

    thanks,

    noob
    Let me add that without regard to anything else said, that if you give a repo a lower number, which is a higher priority, the highest priority repo shows up at the top of the list on the versions tab when looking at different packages you have or could have installed. I normally make Packman the lowest number. So, for any installed packages, if I select the versions tab, Packman is the top, but if the bullet is set for a lower priority repo, it is easy to see and most often, at least with packman, you can just select the top bullet for Packman and know you will be using files from them. So, the priority setting makes it easier to determine when you have loaded packages from what you think is the preferred repository by setting its priority number lower anytime a package can be obtained from more than one repository. I normally make Packman the lowest and the update repo the next lowest for instance. Just some added thoughts on this matter.

    Thank You,
    My Blog: https://forums.opensuse.org/blogs/jdmcdaniel3/

    Software efficiency halves every 18 months, thus compensating for Moore's Law

    Its James again from Austin, Texas

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    1,970

    Default Re: Repository Priority Question

    Quote Originally Posted by tararpharazon View Post
    IMHO, it would take the latest version in equal repos, which can be a problem. For instance, some users code every repo for a release (11.4) as prio 99, which means a developer's repo might be selected over a stable repos causing dependency issues.

    I set priorities for the repos I use. I wan to use the openSUSE stable repos 99% of the time so I set the priority for the openSUSE update repo as 96, OSS and Non-OSS 98, Packman multimedia and essential at 99, multiples of 10 from 100 for others like VLC at 100, Mozilla 100, nVidia 110, etc. I change priorities when I need to install from other repos as needed, Packman multimedia prio 94.

    Most of the time I use zypper instead of YaST2 and to check my repo priority order, zypper repos -pP.
    IMHO this changes nothing if You're using "zypper up". When using zypper up the vendor takes precedence over priorities and zypper does everything not to switch the package vendor. The priorities play a role when using "zypper dup" and in that case the vendor is changed to the one having lowest priority.

    Best regards,
    Greg
    Best regards,
    Greg

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,857
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Repository Priority Question

    "zypper dup" and in that case the vendor is changed to the one having lowest priority.
    Actually I think you mean the highest priority (It's just that the highest priority is the one with the lowest number)
    Tumbleweed_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    1,970

    Default Re: Repository Priority Question

    Quote Originally Posted by caf4926 View Post
    Actually I think you mean the highest priority (It's just that the highest priority is the one with the lowest number)
    Yes that's exactly what I mean. Thanks for the correction.

    Best regards,
    Greg
    Best regards,
    Greg

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •